We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean rooms but very noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal House Hotel to your Saves list
Royal House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Mahed El Deni St, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice clean rooms but very noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed here for a night during our Intrepid Egypt adventure tour. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfy and the bathrooms were clean too. We had a balcony in our room. There is a swimming pool on the top floor which is the size of a paddling pool, there is no deck chair or bar on the roof. The major issue at this hotel was noise. The hotel is located next to an amusement park which does not close till midnight. Even with all the windows and doors closed the noise was too loud (sound travels through the aircon vents). We struggled to sleep even with earplugs. There are few very nice restaurants next to the hotel which we loved.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
8
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed in this hotel as part of a group tour. It was a decent hotel and it met the minimum requirements of a hotel (place to sleep and shower). The hot water did not work in our room upon arrival and someone fixed it almost immediately. The door to our balcony didn't close (or lock) all the way and that was a bit concerning to me and it made the street noises a bit more noticeable at night. It is located on a fairly quiet street though and a mini-market is right down the street. There are also quite a few restaurants very close.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

The staff here were very welcoming. First thing we wanted was a hot shower to freshen up. Each room has its own hot water system in the bathroom which really doesn’t hold enough for two people to each have a decent shower which we found out the hard way.

Each room also has its own heater/air conditioner but unfortunately the heat didn’t work in one of our rooms (we had two rooms for a family of four).

Both of our rooms looked out to the road where there was a fun park across the road which was quite noisy at night but there were lots of street noises that made up the sounds of Luxor which I felt made it more interesting.

There are restaurants right near the hotel and also a supermarket and mini-mart. It’s not too far from anything and taxis are inexpensive.

We did an early morning balloon flight so didn’t eat at the hotel but did get a breakfast box to take with us. It was your standard Egyptian hotel type breakfast of breads, jam, honey, meat, tomato, cheese, fruit and pastries.

We were on a tour so this wasn’t our hotel choice and the one thing that would put me off returning here (in winter) is the hot water. Summer visitors might not find that an issue though.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the city sounds ask for rooms overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxor, Egypt
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Sometimes I read reviews on T A and while I appreciate everyone is entitled to their opinion I can't believe we have stayed/eaten/visited the same places. This hotel is NOT 5 * and I believe you get what you pay for. I found this hotel for a very fussy friend, she visits Luxor 2 or 3 times every year and has done for many years, since I introduced her to this hotel she has never stayed anywhere else. The rooms are clean, the staff helpful and the owner Mr Adel would never let anything bad happen in this hotel any complaint would be dealt with immediately. There is a pool on the roof and I have visited many times, the only people I have every seen on the roof is a waiter asking if you need drinks/food or the bouseboy who brings towels for guests who want to swim and he doesnt stay, delivers the towels and disapears again. My only complaint, and yes I have also stayed there several times, is the breakfast is the same every day for years now... no choices, you get breakfast and that is that.. however if you want 5 * breakfast them pay for 5* service in the big hotels, you actually get 5* service from the staff. I have no complaints about this hotel at all, some people are not happy unless they complain and if they that unhappy let them go and complain about another hotel next time.....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed there two days , the entrance was great . staff was helpful a friendly , internet it were slow , but this was the case in all egypt and it good for surf , the swimming pool on the roof is wonderful , the roof getting to look over Luxor ,nice breakfast , which consist of tea or cafe ,honey, cake and delicious omelet eggs , Etc.... , my room was clean . the service wasn't at the same level on five stars hotels , but in any case it was enough . realy i had enjoyed here . be careful from taxi drivers , carriage and people who offering the services in street , Without any guarantee

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

The Royal House is well located, my room was clean and i enjoyed a dip in the pool on the roof. For the price, I could not be disappointed, but the computers in the lobby (5LE per half hour) were quite slow and the advertised WiFi was not working. The advertised Visa was also not working so I had to pay cash on checkout, which required a trip to the bank, and then as so often happens in Egypt they did not have change and this delayed me quite a bit and almost made me miss my bus, which certainly put a damper on me recollections of the place.

The wait staff were very nice, but sadly they do not bring beer because the hotel doesn't sell alcohol. The manager was also quite helpful but the desk staff were not. The front desk will arrange 1/2 day trips but at prices that are quite exorbitant relative to what you can easily obtain for yourself (although by 'easily' I mean after fighting through a swarm of guides, taxi drivers, and caleche drivers and negotiating remorselessly).

The breakfast consisted of instant coffee or tea, bread and jam, and eggs; I did not bother to show up after the first morning. There are several cute cafes and restaurants nearby, and it is about 10 minutes walk north to Luxor Temple.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed 2 nights with a tour group. Staff are very helpful and polite, and very keen to ensure guests are happy. Facilities are tired - older model AC which worked but was noisy, with no remote control - difficult to reach to adjust. Fridge in room was good. The bathroom was fine - not new but clean. No WIFI which would have been good. Internet on ground floor. Swimming pool on the roof was great - a nice way to cool down. Breakfast boxes uninspiring, but this has been the case across Egypt in our experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal House Hotel

Address: Al Mahed El Deni St, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're a tourist or traveling on business, Royal House Hotel is a great choice for accommodation when visiting Luxor. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. No less exceptional is the hotel's easy access to the city's myriad attractions and landmarks, such as Legend of the Nile, Passport Office, Magic Horizons. Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Royal House Hotel is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. Guests of the hotel can enjoy on-site features like elevator, 24-hour front desk, smoking area, Wi-Fi in public areas, business center. Royal House Hotel is home to 30 bedrooms, all tastefully furnished to provide comforts such as separate shower and tub, Internet access - LAN (charges apply), non smoking rooms, mini bar, air conditioning. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Luxor, make Royal House Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.