We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in Luxor!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mara House to your Saves list
Mara House
Salah Al Din Al Ayoubi | Luxor, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Luxor
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“THE place to stay in Luxor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

For a very relaxing and most enjoyable stay in Luxor, Mara's place is great. It is in what seems at first sight an un-prepossessing neighbourhood, 10 minutes walk from the rail station, but in our experience it is quite safe and more pleasant to be greeted by small kids playing football in the street than to be harassed by cars and trucks in the busy commercial areas the other side of the railway tracks. We were greeted warmly and shown to a three bed-room suite, with a separate living/dining room AND a kitchen (which we didn't use). All this for about a quarter of the price we paid for the other places we stayed in during this holiday. I particularly liked that the "mini"-bar had four bottles of wine and 6 (or was it 8?) bottles of beer - at prices which were not very much more than those in the shops and a heck of a lot lower than in some other places we stayed. The roof garden is lovely and a great place to relax after a trip to the shops in town. Breakfasts were excellent and the trip that Mara organised for us on our last day (to Abydos and Dendara) followed by a specially cooked "feast" in our room (no worries about arranging a "late-check-out") crowned a very memorable experience. We will be back, one day, and hope to bring our daughters with us.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    49
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
82
144
44
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

This is my first accommodation review on Tripadvisor and I'm writing because Mara House totally deserves it.

Mara House is everything I can expect and more for the price I paid. The hospitality and service I'd receive from my 3 nights stay was excellent. The super bonus was that Mara knows Egypt and its history so well.
Also Mara's tours were very professional and totally insightful.

Whatever Mara House had promised from its website and from all the reviews I'd got from Tripadvisor prior to my booking, it all came true.

Thank you Mara and team!

Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Recently visited Luxor, Egypt and stayed at the Mara House. Decided to stay at Mara House after reading the positive reviews. Mara is the reason Mara House is such a wonderful place to stay.
At first I thought we may have made a mistake because of the location of Mara House. It's tucked away from the main areas of Luxor, but it's a wonderful place to stay! Mara greeted us warmly the first night and made sure that all of our needs were met. We received a wonderful breakfast the next morning in our rooms.
We took a day tour to Abydos and Mara packed a great lunch for us to have while on the trip. She was a great resource of information the entire time we were in Luxor.
While in Egypt we stayed in several luxurious hotels (Mara House is not luxurius, but is very clean and well taken care of), but none of the hotels had the charm of that of Mara House.
Thank you, Mara. We will always remember our stay with you.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

My son and I took the sleeper train from Cairo to Luxor and we had only one night to spend in Luxor. Thank goodness we followed TripAdvisor's advice and spent it at the Mara House.

Mara gave us great advice via email on what to see before we arrived. I followed her advice on seeing Abydos and Dendura and was not disapointed. Although it took over 2 hours by car to get to Abydos, it was worth it. I think she even held the tour when our train was delayed (which seems to be routine).

We really appreciated that the Mara House is located on the east side of the tracks, which gave us the opportunity to see some of the real Luxor as we walked to and from the Nile and historic attractions. We were able to walk by the bakery, the carpenter shop and the shoe repair shop that real people use.

The room was delightful, and even more so was the rooftop garden which Mara graciously allowed us to rest while we waited for our train's departure time. The ice cold Stella beer didn't hurt either.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Mara and her team were extremely helpful with our trip and we enjoyed staying at her hotel. She arranged a driver to pick us up from the train station, called good taxi drivers, recommended good restaurants, and was an all-around excellent resource. We went on 2 of her tours - West Bank and Abydos/Dendara, then did Luxor/Karnak on our own (go early to Karnak and walk to Luxor). Ali was an ok guide at West Bank, but stronger at Abydos/Dendara. GO TO ABYDOS AND DENDARA if it is the only thing you do - seriously.
The hotel location and the hotel itself are both great. her guys bring a simple yet delicious breakfast every morning in the enormous suite (huge bedroom and great living room with french doors to a small balcony). Spotless accommodations. She has a nice selection of guidebooks in the lobby if you forget yours. Also, there is a beautiful roof deck where you can enjoy the twilight (beers and wine in the room are reasonably priced and you can bring a drink to the roof). Bring earplugs unless you'd like to be LOUDLY woken by the 4am morning prayer - the speakers are on the adjacent building.
Thank you Mara for a terrifc time!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

As one arrives by taxi, the locale isn't promising, but it's a real Egyptian neighborhood, not the tourist strip (and it is walking distance to the center of Luxor).
Once inside the hotel, you'll be greeted by decor with a touch of local inspiration and of course the staff, who were always there providing friendly service. Mara will provide great support and advice in advance and whilst in residence. Amenities are basic, but the accommodation we had was great - a large suite, more of an apartment. Breakfast was always served in our room as standard- a most civilized way to start the day.
In summary a great place for the more adventurous tourists to base themselves i.e. those that want to avoid the homogenized hotel chains.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

Mara is a great host with lots of stories to tell, her hotel apartment is exceptionally clean and well run and we were particularly impressed with the service she and her 'boys' give. Mara was able to offer the children a variety of games and books to keep them amused and we enjoyed the tranquil roof terrace. She very kindly allowed us to go back to the room on the last day to shower and rest before our departure.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara House

Address: Salah Al Din Al Ayoubi | Luxor, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#5 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara House is a newly refurbished hotel 10 mins. walk from the train station and Luxor Temple. Three course Salahadeen Egyptian feast on request. Fully licensed bar downstairs and roof terrace. Special offers available on accommodation/tours packages. Irish owned and run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mara House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara House Hotel Luxor
Mara Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.