We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luxor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara House
Save
You added Mara House to your Saves list
Salah Al Din Al Ayoubi | Luxor, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Luxor
england
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at mara house about three years ago if not longer and we will return without a doubt. Mara house is clean beautiful relaxed and charming and the owner more helpful than many i have seen before. One of my most beautiful memories of this place was sitting on the roof top terrace with a drink listning to the whistle of the old trains. What perfect nights those were looking up at the moon. Luxor itself is a must so please do go to this hidden gem
In the heart of luxor

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    52
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
84
146
54
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My family of six stayed at Mara House for four nights. I am glad we took the tour package because other tour operators charge more or less the same, and they take you shopping and you probably get suckered into buying some thing or the other. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean with an included sitting area. The breakfast was simple and adequate.
There is an informational booklet in the room that gives you valuable advice and has a price list of items found in the fridge which we found fair and reasonable.
Mara and her crew - Amr the manager, Mohammed the excellent Egyptologist guide, Mahmood our taxi driver (his car can accommodate 6 pax) made us feel at home. Mahmood would change his music from Arabic to Celine Dion all four nights we took his cab to keep us entertained - which was nice of him :) Cost of taxi was about LE 25 per trip. Mara and her team can arrange and take care of anything that you need and this is what sets Mara House apart from the rest. Overall we had a great, great, great time!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Mara House is ideal when exploring the Luxor area. Large, clean suites which allows room to rest with a cold beer after a day of touring. Mara will organise tours of all the attractions, with Mohammed, an English speaking Egyptologist if required - we would recomend him, he's very good. She also arranged Ramadan, the calesh driver (a horse & carriage), who will take you anywhwere in Luxor (including the Temple at Karnak). The cost is no more than a taxi, and you will see so much more on the way. Ramadan arranged a feluca trip for us.Mara will also arrange collection and return to the airport. All in all, a great one-stop Luxor experience

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

On arriving in Luxor, Mara had arranged a taxi which took us directly the Mara House; a hidden gem in a residential part of city. My boyfriend and I were warmly greeted by Mara and her staff and the hotel offered an exceedingly large and clean room (living, bedroom, bathroom and balcony area). Mara offered countless advice over our 3 days stay from being streetwise to the kind of temples we HAD to visit, (this is all organised as part of our payment) and she wasn't wrong! The temples were breath-taking and we found the people across luxor to be friendly and happy to help regardless of the unfair negative media press in the west.

All in all, i can't recommend Mara House enough, her generosity and personality exceeded our expectations. I genuinely felt touched and honoured to have spent time with her in her oasis enjoying and listening to story upon story.

I can only hope we will see each other again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We arrived at Mara House after travelling throughout the Middle East for over two months. During that time our accommodation had included top hotels, guest houses and serviced apartments. None came close to the treat that awaited us at Mara House in Luxor. Words could never convey the warm personal welcome and generosity that Mara and her staff bestowed on us (and all their guests for that matter). This is one of Luxor’s greatest gems tucked away in a typical yet unremarkable residential street. The décor of the hotel is rich, eclectic and breathtakingly beautiful. The rooms are spotlessly clean and generous. The food in general is absolutely delicious and the friendly service is unsurpassed. The feast hosted in the Salahadeen Restaurant on the premises is legendary. The food is scrumptious, authentic, exciting and filling. The restaurant itself is a real treat for all the senses over and above the gastronomical. Nothing is ever too much trouble for Mara or the charming and shy Amr. Mara is amazing and intuitively seems to know and precisely understand what to offer her guests at any time, how to keep a perpetual smile on her guests’ lips and how and when to dispense her awesome Irish wit, humour and wisdom. All you have to is ask and Mara and her staff bend over backwards in a timely manner to ensure all is taken care of. Mara’s tour guides, taxi and calesh drivers are so friendly, fun and genuine they make getting around easy and enjoyable. She definitely is the ultimate ‘conscious hostess’. We will never forget the wonderful nine days we spent with Mara and we truly feel we have made a lifelong friend in her. We cannot recommend Mara House in Luxor highly enough!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This place was for me.
Arriving late at night I was greeted by Mara and I felt right at home. The room was LARGE and superclean, the air conditioner was on, the minibar had great chips and Coke, the bed was huge and comfy… I was happy.

Staying at Mara House you'll experience Luxor for real, pretty far from the plastic tourist version. Well, not that far, it's only a ten minute walk from the railway station, and walking home in the evening is an experience in itself. It's beautiful, it's dirty, it's Luxor. You will see some cool things that you will never forget. That's why I travel.

Mara's got her own taxi drivers and guides, all of whom are superb in every way (the guide, when going on the Westbank tour and the Abydos/Dendera tour, was especially amazing).

The rooftop terrace is a great place to just hang out, read a book and relax. If you haven't got any books, Mara's got a bunch of them for you to enjoy in the lobby. If you need your clothes washed, just leave them in a bag outside your door in the morning and you'll have them back all clean in the evening. And also, when you come back in the evening after a day in Luxor there will be tea or coffee for you to enjoy, free of charge.
And the room is always superclean.

For a special meal, make sure to try out the Salahadeen restaurant, also run by Mara and her friendly staff, located in the same house.

There's so much positive things to say, I could go on forever. But you must be aware of some things: the breakfast is simple, the shower might not have the best water pressure or the warmest water (depending on when you shower, you'll get the hang of it after a while), there will be power cuts, there might be an Arab wedding which will be LOUD, the guys in the mosques will start their chanting of prayers VERY early, the streets and the money are VERY dirty, the vendors might be tough to deal with, people drive like crazy…

However, if you adapt and take it easy, things will be perfectly fine. Mara will provide you with loads of useful info all collected in a binder. Read that and you will love Luxor, just like I did.

I totally enjoyed my stay at Mara House, I really can't find anything to complain about. Everything that happened was a part of the experience. I even learned to appreciate the early morning prayers from the mosque that woke me up at 05:30 every morning. No problem at all. It was almost like a dreamlike surreal experience after a while.

I loved it. I love Luxor. I will come back and I will stay at Mara House, for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

When my mother and brother visited from America, I wanted to provide them with a smaller, more "Egyptian" experience than they could get by staying a big hotel chain. Mara House fit the bill perfectly, and we all had a wonderful stay.

Mara and her staff are attentive and always smiling. They were able to arrange everything we needed -- transfers from/to the airport, taxi to dinner, etc. We really enjoyed the full dinner one evening, and when we asked for a local restaurant for dinner or cafe for shisha, Mara's recommendations were spot-on.

The entire hotel is beautifully appointed, comfortable, and VERY clean. While it is off the beaten track in a neighborhood under construction

I will absolutely stay here when I am in Luxor again, and have already recommended it to friends. If you're looking for a big, generic, American-style hotel -- this isn't the place. However, if you want to feel like you are actually experiencing Egypt -- this IS the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.8 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#6 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 655 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amon Hotel Luxor
Amon Hotel Luxor
#7 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#3 of 58 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
1.3 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara House

Address: Salah Al Din Al Ayoubi | Luxor, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Luxor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara House is an Irish owned boutique hotel catering to the tastes of independent travellers who want to be sure they experience the best of Egypt. Mara House can only be booked directly via email to Mara. We help with sightseeing and itinerary planning for all of Egypt and steer our guests clear of tourist traps and pitfalls. Holidays are so important to us all and great holiday memories make such a difference to our lives - Mara ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara House Hotel Luxor
Mara Hotel Luxor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.