We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Everest Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Everest Hotel to your Saves list
New Everest Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New Everest Hotel
Train Station St | Mahat St, Luxor 1456, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 35 Specialty lodging in Luxor
Poland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Location of the hotel is very good, close to the city center and Karnak, few steps from train station, close to the market. Staff was very efficient and friendly. Room was somewhat small, and without windows, but very clean according to egyptian standards. No bedbugs or other bugs. It's very vise choice if you look for cheap accomodation in Luxor, I'd stay there once again without any doubt.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
2
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed here for three nights. By budget Egypt standards it was OK, nothing particularly nice or grim about the place. Staff were OK once they gave up on the hassling trying to sell tours. Most remarkable thing was that I saw a weasel in the ally outside the front door.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

this place gives u the best value for money. very nice people. very interactive, cheap internet free tv and nice breakfast, clean rooms and v v friendly staff or shud i say friends! i wud recomend it to anyone travelling on a tight budget. dont look anywhere else. head straight for this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

I am a single parent (mom) traveller. I spent a month backpacking around the Middle East with my 9 year old daughter. We just got back a week and a half ago.

For our time in Luxor, which was short, we stayed at this hostel. the owner, gaber, corresponded with us before we arrived, and arranged an inexpensive taxi to pick us up at the airport. As it turns out, he came with the taxi, helped with bags, and was so accomodating in helping us feel welcome. He pointed places out along the way, and made sure we knew where the key places were for when we settled in.

Upon arrival, he sent his younger brother out to get us a complimentary cold drink, and showed us to our room. We booked a private double with A/C. Sooo glad we had the A/C in the intense summer temperatures. The beds were fine, and there was lots of room to store our stuff.

Gaber was very helpful in helping me arrange the early morning hot Air Balloon trip and a day trip to the valley of the Kings & Queens, etc. since we only had 48 hours to pack aa lot of stuff in. He also arranged a sunset felucca for the first night for us, and helped us get to Karnak by horse after we arrived...all of the arrangements and prices were very reasonable compared to what i had found ahead of time and read on previous reports.

There was a nice breakfast available each morning..eggs cooked to order, bread, cheese, coffee/tea, etc. Wake up calls (actually a knock on the door) were available for our super early start on the second day for our balloon ride (we had to leave the hostel at 4 a.m.).

Anything we asked about, the staff were available to answer. Really great hostel, and I felt absolutely safe being there with my young daughter.

I know we will visit again to see the rest of Luxor that we missed!!

FYI - there is free WIFI available in the common area, and also a computer if you don't have your own wifi device.

Lastly, there is a really great rooftop to chillax on, albeit, too hot during the day, and better at night!!

Thanks to you Gaber for making our time in Luxor so great!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

It is nothing particularly special, the rooms are average but it is in a very good location 2 minutes next to the Luxor train station, as well as a 10 minute walk to the Luxor temple. The staff were very friendly and were very helpful. The most exceptional thing is its price, it is so cheap that if you are just looking for a place to crash without any extras then stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Stayed here back in April 2010. After a 16hr coach journey from Sharm we were met with a very friendly greeting from the manager, he made us coffee, introduced Luxor then informed us that he was a tour guide (in training) and wanted us to pay him 400 EGP (per person) and he’d take us to all of the sites in Luxor. We told him that it felt a bit a bit steep and either way we’d rather wander around and get lost in Luxor at our own pace. This didn’t go down too well and we were given the cold shoulder from this point forward.

The accommodation was very basic but at this price you wouldn’t expect much more. No air con but all the rooms come with a slightly wobbly ceiling fan. Location is great, literally two to three mins from the station and about five to the Nile. Is quite tricky to find the place however, keep you eye out for a sign at the first floor level next to a fairly dark alley, can’t miss it...

Whilst we were in Luxor we nipped across the river to the valley of the kings, had a nose around Karnack temple and took a felucca trip along the Nile. Keep your eyes out for a felucca captain called Nubi (photo enclosed), he was hands down the friendliest and most honest Egyptian that we met on our two and a half week trip.

All in all, absolutely recommend this hostel to anyone heading over to Luxor who wants to pay less than three English pounds per night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Met at the Train Station and walked to hostel, which is only a 10 minute walk but thats where the good points end. Located down some dirty & dusty back alley, which you probably never be able to find on you own. A/C requested on booking but only fan. Room basic but looked clean. Then the hard sell for trips came. Relentless in trying to sell trips including balloon rides and didn't seem to take to hint that I wasn't interested. He requested my Hostel World booking paperwork, which no other hostel wanted and then insisted I pay for 6 nights up front. No way I was going to pay in advance after only being there for less than 15 minutes. Didn't seem to understand that it's usual to pay on leaving. More insistance for my money, at which point I collected my bags and left. Avoid, much better places to stay (except Luxor Hotel).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Everest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Everest Hotel

Address: Train Station St | Mahat St, Luxor 1456, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 Specialty lodging in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Everest Hostel is located on Station Street, a minute's walk from the train station and a two minute walk to the ancient and famous Luxor temple. The New Everest Hostel has clean rooms, most with ensuite bathrooms and balconies. most rooms have air-conditioning but all fans. Our rooftop terrace offers a dazzling view of Luxor's skyline, perfect for a soda or beer and chilling out. High-speed internet available. (Free) Very friendly and knowledgeable staff will greet you and make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your New Everest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Everest Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.