We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Overlanding/Camping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rezeiky Camp

Rezeiky Camp
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rezeiky Camp to your Saves list
Rezeiky Camp
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Karnak Temple Street, Luxor, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Luxor
luxor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Overlanding/Camping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

First: the food. It is excellent: brilliant flavours, the best cooking we've had in Egypt yet, and shockingly good value.

A large, secure courtyard and camping ground with locked and guarded gates 24 hours. Camping at 45LE/night/head. Offered a room at a competitive 150LE for two, but not our thing. Showers and toilet block functional but a little tired-looking

Staff very friendly and helpful with trying to find bike spares/tools. The only downside to this spot is the fact that it's virtually devoid of guests since the revolution. Oh, and the cockerel and neighbouring muezzin who compete to wake you up in the morning.

Recommended, particularly for overlanders.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Disgusting. The sheets were dirty, the shower curtains were mouldy, the room was filthy, and a few people in our group got food poisoning at lunch from food they admitted was left over from the day before. To top it off they turned the water off early in the morning so we couldn't shower or clean our teeth. The reason given was that they hardly get any tourists anymore. No wonder!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luxor hotels

south africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Probably the best place to stay in Egypt for overlander 4x4's ,trucks or bikers. Tony, Mr Rezeiky and his staff are really the best we have had in Egypt.

Rooms are very well priced, and garden has many shade trees for campers. One big advantage is the swimming pool and it is centrally locate. Beers and their food must be some of the best we have had in Egypt!

They helped us with repairs and parts for our bikes.

Only negative is the beers are a bit expensive, beers are more important than petrol so it need be cheap! ;)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

A nice little camp site and hotel with ample facilities. One night camping £85E for two people and vehicle, .Evening meal £45E, Beer £16E, Wine £18E. The showers are hot and functional but in need of a bit of TLC. The attached hotel looks OK so if you fancy a night in a room you can park right outside your window. They have onsite security and one of the reputable overland companies use it for their trips here. There are sink washing facilities for clothes and a washing machine at an overpriced £25E. You be better served taking your clothes into town and getting a service wash. The area where you camp is grassed and suitable for tents. There is ample space for roof tents and also a hard standing for BIG trucks. The area is shaded and out of direct sunlight but still remains sunny in parts. There's hanging space for drying clothes and all in all its a pretty good site. If we had to pull them up on one thing its the toilet facilities needing a bit of a spruce up but after all this is still Africa. The site is a little noisy as its right next to a Mosque. Its also has a Large pool, (drained when we visited) so may not be suitable for the very young as it is not fenced.
**We have not seen any of the rooms so they have been given an average rating.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tweetyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Central, safe and secure. Shower facilities not the greatest but overall this is a great spot if you are camping with your overland truck!

Although central it is tricky to find so when you are in the area ask somebody for help.

Finally, if you are staying for a while then ask for a better rate - if you don't ask you dont get!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Puffet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We are driving to South Africa on our way to Aswan, Egypt to catch a ferry to Sudan. We have had some difficulty finding full service camp sites like those in Europe. We stayed here with our truck and found the place to be very secure (walled and with it's own armed policeman), good facilities including a restaurant, cold drinks and a pool. While not up to European standards of cleanliness the flexibility of the staff and owner make this well placed facility an excellent option for camping in Luxor.

They do a reasonable deal on high speed WiFi too!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Pavillon Winter Luxor
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.2 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#8 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.7 mi away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#23 of 59 in Luxor
4.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#6 of 59 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rezeiky Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rezeiky Camp

Address: Karnak Temple Street, Luxor, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Rezeiky Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rezeiky Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing