We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“best service in Egypt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Philae Hotel

Save Saved
You added Philae Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Philae Hotel
79 Cornich el Nile, Aswan, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 hotels in Aswan
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best service in Egypt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had to be accommodated last minute into Philae hotel as the overnight sleeper was cancelled.
We had a family room for 4 which was good. What was impressive was the lady owner, all the other ladies in the reception, kitchen etc, they were all so helpful. Best falafel we'd eaten anywhere in the world and the cakes at breakfast were so yummy!
They created such a wonderful memory through that one night for my children that just saying thanks to the team is not enough. I am sure if we are back in Aswan, we will come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    68
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
66
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

First, let me be clear and honest: we did not stay in the Philae. What we did do was have lunch here and start talking with the hotel manager. She helped us book a tour to Abu Simbel and later a felucca toward Luxor. She made sure that we were satisfied and happy. Really above and beyond the efforts of our actual hotel. Made us wished we had stayed here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Aswan is one of my favorite place in Egypt. My visit to Aswan i prefer to stay in Philae, and was very satisfied. The Staff is so accommodating, and helpful. The hotel is situated in the best view of Nile, where in the afternoon you will enjoy its tranquility and the horizon colors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel was in a good location, had a very helpful staff, and a good breakfast. The air conditioning worked very well. The room had a lovely view overlooking the Nile. The touts in the area (throughout Egypt really) are very bothersome though you can't fault the hotel for that. Keep an eye on your money. Husband almost got pickpocketed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you were in a hostel or traveling and dealing with street noise and hustle, this little place is a great escape. Rooms are small but very very clean. It offers everything that a 5 star would offer (in the room that is). The owner was present and was a very very friendly and warm lady! We were offered a free lunch since they treat their customers (every 10th reservation) to one.
The restaurant area is a bit worn out but the chef did his best and we were very pleased with the over all care and environment. The location is great: quiet and right on the river with a beautiful view of it.

Room Tip: Get a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Facing the Nile along the corniche is a row of what must have been very fashionable hotels in time past. Today newer and more luxurious hotels have sprung up at the ends of the corniche and on the island opposite. The older hotels now show outward signs of age, and cater more to budget minded travelers. In the middle of this row, perfectly situated for a visit to Aswan and a view of the Nile, sits the Philae.

The Philai is a really excellent budget hotel -- perhaps the best such hotel I have ever stayed in. The lobby area and rooms have been tastefully renovated. My room with a balcony overlooking the Nile was comfortable. Double pane windows kept out traffic noise. Air conditioning worked perfectly. There was a new flat screen TV. Free wi fi was available in the room, with a fast and reliable connection. The bed was comfortable. There was a kettle with complimentary coffee and tea. The bathroom was well equipped with plenty of hot water and nice touches like complimentary toothbrush and toothpaste.

I thought the included breakfast was terrific. It's not a buffet, but rather a sit down, served meal consisting of a procession of breads, jam, honey, cheeses, fresh fruit, yoghurt, fruit juice, tea or coffee, boiled egg, omelette, felafel, salad. When management noticed I would be leaving too early in the morning for breakfast, they prepared a free one for me the previous night for consumption before I left. In fact, after I had stayed for three days I was offered a complimentary lunch or dinner (which was a lot better than I had eaten in any of the Nile front restaurants opposite). You won't get service like that from Hilton or Sofitel.

Actually the service at this hotel is second to none and may be the best part of staying here. From the manager to the receptionists to the room cleaners, everybody was cheerful, courteous, helpful, and considerate. Staying here was a most pleasant experience and I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Situated on the Nile and a quick walk to the local markets the Philae is an excellent friendly value for money hotel.
The rooms we stayed in were large (we got an upgrade to a suite) and clean, with a fridge, TV, comfortable chairs and lots of storage space.
Breakfast was not a traditional European one but it was adequate. The manager was very helpful getting us organised for the Abu Simbel cavalcade and giving us tips about getting around the town. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Philae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philae Hotel

Also Known As:
Philae Hotel Aswan
Address: 79 Cornich el Nile, Aswan, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Aswan
#2 Family Hotel in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Philae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philae Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.