We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest in Aswan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Philae Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Philae Hotel to your Saves list
Philae Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Cornich el Nile, Aswan, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Aswan
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Friendliest in Aswan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

First, let me be clear and honest: we did not stay in the Philae. What we did do was have lunch here and start talking with the hotel manager. She helped us book a tour to Abu Simbel and later a felucca toward Luxor. She made sure that we were satisfied and happy. Really above and beyond the efforts of our actual hotel. Made us wished we had stayed here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    93
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
88
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Aswan is one of my favorite place in Egypt. My visit to Aswan i prefer to stay in Philae, and was very satisfied. The Staff is so accommodating, and helpful. The hotel is situated in the best view of Nile, where in the afternoon you will enjoy its tranquility and the horizon colors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel was in a good location, had a very helpful staff, and a good breakfast. The air conditioning worked very well. The room had a lovely view overlooking the Nile. The touts in the area (throughout Egypt really) are very bothersome though you can't fault the hotel for that. Keep an eye on your money. Husband almost got pickpocketed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you were in a hostel or traveling and dealing with street noise and hustle, this little place is a great escape. Rooms are small but very very clean. It offers everything that a 5 star would offer (in the room that is). The owner was present and was a very very friendly and warm lady! We were offered a free lunch since they treat their customers (every 10th reservation) to one.
The restaurant area is a bit worn out but the chef did his best and we were very pleased with the over all care and environment. The location is great: quiet and right on the river with a beautiful view of it.

Room Tip: Get a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Facing the Nile along the corniche is a row of what must have been very fashionable hotels in time past. Today newer and more luxurious hotels have sprung up at the ends of the corniche and on the island opposite. The older hotels now show outward signs of age, and cater more to budget minded travelers. In the middle of this row, perfectly situated for a visit to Aswan and a view of the Nile, sits the Philae.

The Philai is a really excellent budget hotel -- perhaps the best such hotel I have ever stayed in. The lobby area and rooms have been tastefully renovated. My room with a balcony overlooking the Nile was comfortable. Double pane windows kept out traffic noise. Air conditioning worked perfectly. There was a new flat screen TV. Free wi fi was available in the room, with a fast and reliable connection. The bed was comfortable. There was a kettle with complimentary coffee and tea. The bathroom was well equipped with plenty of hot water and nice touches like complimentary toothbrush and toothpaste.

I thought the included breakfast was terrific. It's not a buffet, but rather a sit down, served meal consisting of a procession of breads, jam, honey, cheeses, fresh fruit, yoghurt, fruit juice, tea or coffee, boiled egg, omelette, felafel, salad. When management noticed I would be leaving too early in the morning for breakfast, they prepared a free one for me the previous night for consumption before I left. In fact, after I had stayed for three days I was offered a complimentary lunch or dinner (which was a lot better than I had eaten in any of the Nile front restaurants opposite). You won't get service like that from Hilton or Sofitel.

Actually the service at this hotel is second to none and may be the best part of staying here. From the manager to the receptionists to the room cleaners, everybody was cheerful, courteous, helpful, and considerate. Staying here was a most pleasant experience and I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Situated on the Nile and a quick walk to the local markets the Philae is an excellent friendly value for money hotel.
The rooms we stayed in were large (we got an upgrade to a suite) and clean, with a fridge, TV, comfortable chairs and lots of storage space.
Breakfast was not a traditional European one but it was adequate. The manager was very helpful getting us organised for the Abu Simbel cavalcade and giving us tips about getting around the town. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

It's a great hotel, perfectly situated. Just behind the hotel are blocks of outdoor market to stroll through. Some older posts pan the breakfast but I think the hotel read their posts and improved it. We stayed a couple of nights before our river cruise on a dahabiya (in fact, my husband left his iPad in the room - dumb of him - and the hotel found it immediately and delivered it to our boat). Get a river-view room and bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Wifi wasn't great in the rooms but usually worked in the lobby (We had Wifi problems throughout Egypt so it may be more the country's problem than the hotel.) I'll stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Philae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philae Hotel

Address: 79 Cornich el Nile, Aswan, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
#4 Family Hotel in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Philae Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Philae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philae Hotel Aswan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philae Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.