We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aswan Sculpture Park

Aswan Sculpture Park
Old Quarry Near Aswan, Aswan, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 19 Attractions in Aswan
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Really worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this
Yes it was hit. Yes it was a little dusty but definitely worth a visit as it is quite unusual
To be honest, we loved most things in Aswan

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Set in one of the Aswan granite quarries, this is an extensive site, full of large and interesting sculptures, overlooking the lake. Some of them have changed since last year, so it repays a return visit, and the diversity of the sculptures, some dynamic, some humorous and some bizarre, makes an interesting outing.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome new outdoor museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a must see if you appreciate modern art. It's just down the road from the Philae dock, less than a mile. Stay straight when the road forks. No one I talked to in Aswan knew what I was talking about when I said sculpture park/garden; they called it the Symposium Museum, since it's art from the sculpture symposium. Give yourself at least an hour. It's currently free, since it's not open yet. They are building walkways and an office, etc. but you can walk around and see probably 100-200 sculptures in a fantastic active quarry overlooking the Nile, the old dam, and Philae.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very interesting sculptures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

When I visited, I was with a group of 5 people. We did not see anyone else. It is a big area with the most fantstic sculptures, from all kind of international artists. Many different years are represented. You must at least take 3 to 4 hours to see it al. Besides that you have beautiful views over the Nile and surrounding area deep below ones place. From the tpo there are two main stair cases down.bthose with fertigo I would advice to take the road back to came on. Those very fit and well and who are in a hurry can take the straight steps places more to the left down. All others take the stairs going first to the right and go down more slowly with resting places to get ones breath and enjoy the views. Those with mobilityproblems keep to the road, do not attemp any of the stairs, but you can view them from the top!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Loved the new Sculpture Park. Stunning location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

For years we have visited the International Sculpture Symposium annual exhibits on display just under the Basma Hotel. We were thrilled to learn that a Sculpture Park had opened to feature work from past years. The site is spectacular with stunning views. Finding it was difficult but we persevered. There were no signs and no one on site but us. Later, we discovered that was because it hadn't opened when we were there! We spent the afternoon exploring the site. It was great fun.

There is a link to an article about the park here:

http://weekly.ahram.org.eg/2012/1088/feature.htm

The Aswan forum has more details. Take strong shoes as there is lots of stony ground. The taxi there and back was £4, per car and entry was free as the site hadn't opened officially. There are a lot of steps to climb but it is worth a little effort.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aswan Sculpture Park also viewed

Aswan, Aswan Governorate
Aswan, Aswan Governorate
 
Aswan, Aswan Governorate
Aswan, Aswan Governorate
 

Been to Aswan Sculpture Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aswan Sculpture Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.