We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel - Do not stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Resort Aswan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Resort Aswan to your Saves list
Moevenpick Resort Aswan
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Elephantine Island | PO Box 62, Aswan, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Aswan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Terrible Hotel - Do not stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Hotel is located on island. In order to get to/from hotel and Aswan city you must take a boat shuttle. This is terribly inconvenient and felucca boat men harass you to sell rides on their boats while you wait for the hotel shuttle. We are very uncomfortable each time we had to wait for the shuttle to take us to/from the mainland. The hotel lobby is nice - however don't be fooled by this. The rooms are old, dated, and dirty. The bathrooms are very dirty and gross. The cleaning people are children (in their teens and younger). It was scary. The room service was good however and we enjoyed the quality of the food. The staff at the front desk were very rude to us when we were checking out. There was an issue with our bill and they argued with us and told us we were wrong. The manager was called and she also continued to argue with us. Then they put us on the phone with their vendor that provided the service and he also argued with us. It was terrible! And all over a small amount of money. They would speak to each other in Arabic so we could not understand what they were saying about us. We ended up paying the additional monies so we could leave. It was not even about the money but was how we, as customers, were treated. We left feeling very disrespected. We will never stay at a Movenpick hotel again. I do not recommend this hotel to tourists as they do not care about customers - only profits.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiman Z, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear our Valued-Guest,

Please let us thank you for posting your review based on your recent stay at Moevenpick Aswan in February.2013 via trip advisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the room service Therefore, allow me to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that may you witnessed as per your said comments meanwhile; we took note of all that comments in order to take the necessary steps to constantly improve our services and facilities for future guests. As our aim is “To always offer the highest standard of service in friendly & professional way”

Yet, we wish you did not have a sour taste or negative impact on us and we do hope that we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back again at our resort or at any of our properties worldwide.


With best regards,

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    208
    66
    20
    15
See reviews for
145
318
47
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed for 4 days in movenpick resort Aswan. The hotel is located in the elphantine island surrounded by the river nile. The view from the terrace was awsome looking over the nile & botanical garden.
Staff of the hotel are friendly with high level of customer service.
Food was ok. Shops inside the hotel offered good quality souvenirs with affordable prices.
You can take a ferry boat to get to the city, every 10mins. You can also enjoy a falouka ride in the nile.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiman Z, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear our Beloved-guest, Mr. Haitham Khattab,

Please let me thank you for having shared your impressions through Trip Advisor site during your recent stay at Moevenpick Resort Aswan .

We are delighted to know that enjoyed your 4days stay with us, and we wish to express our sincerest admiration for the lovely comments favor of our property; It is always a pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay.

We have passed on all your comments to our team and they all joining me and hope that it will not be too long before we can welcome you back again soon for your next visit to Moevenpick Aswan or at any of our properties worldwide for long stay.


Warmly,


Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night in January 2013 with my family. We would have liked our rooms to be next door but settled for them to just be nearby on the same floor. We idiotically left the door to our (beautiful and relaxing) balcony for an hour or so, and when we woke up the next morning, we found everything covered with the bugs that must have gotten in during that hour--really an alarming amount of little bugs that grossed me out. Bathroom was quite nice and beds were comfortable enough. Rooms were quite large and clean and we were provided with a plate of sweets upon arrival (after a relatively long check-in process). Pool was gorgeous and very relaxing but the flies really ruined the experience (nothing the hotel can do about that). We had lunch at the pool bar which was nothing great although our waitress was quite wonderful. Breakfast provided a huge selection of food from the buffet with omelets made to order, crepes, fruit, etc., etc. No real table service, though. I liked staying on the island location (where you can walk to the Nubian Villages if you're up to it), and Moevenpick provides a free ferry to the mainland. They also arranged a very cheap cab for us to the airport (with a stop at the High Dam) when we had been quoted by other companies with ridiculous prices. A pretty average stay with some peaks.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiman Z, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear our Valued-Guest,

I would like to thank you for posting your valuable review about your recent stay in January.2013 at Moevenpick resort Aswan on trip advisor.

We took note of your comments and We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and we really delighted to have you as one of our loyal guests in January 2013 and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon to Moevenpick Resort Aswan or to any of our properties worldwide.


With best regards

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel looks impressive because of its huge tower which had little to do with our stay. Rooms were of a good size, airy and well-decorated. The bed was comfortable but the air conditioning seemed not to get below chill level. The view from the balcony was excellent, looking up the Nile and out into the desert. Food was excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We took a trip on the hotel's faluccas (sailing vessels) which was great! Our crew were happy and it was a big joke as we drifted backwards down current (no wind). No problem! the friendly staff motor launch took us in tow so that we could then drift down the Nile. Excellent!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiman Z, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Beloved Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for posting your precious review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Moevenpick Resort Aswan, based on high scores and wonderful praise on the quality of service .

We are delighted to know that you've a comfortable stay with us and we hope you will keep Moevenpick Aswan in your good memory.

Really words are not enough to express how much your recommendation is motivating all the team, and how it helps us a lot to continue offering best professional services to our future guests especially when we find a good comment from a loyal guest like you.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your beautiful crew back again soon to our resort or to any of our properties worldwide.


We remain.


Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent location in the middle of the Nile. Lovely view. I used the pool and pool restaurant and were great. The breakfast was very good too.

We took a very good rate as well, The staff was very helpful and always willing to help. The only comment would be that the hotel's furniture is outdated but very comfortable.

A perfect gateway from the hectic everyday life.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiman Z, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear our Beloved-Guest,

Please let us thank you for posting your precious review for Moevenpick Resort Aswan on Trip Advisor, Our team is motivated to continue offering best personalized services .

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay and to know that you found our staff very courteous and helpful.

We took note of your comment and we hope you will keep us in your good memory.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon at our resort or at any of our properties worldwide and we remain


Warmly ,

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotel was older , but for a vacation stay, this was good as you don't spend time in your hotel room except to sleep. Hotel employee service was very good. Boat shuttle service to and from the hotel was excellent, every 15 minutes all day and night.. The hotel is in the middle of the river. Look for the Movenpick sign on the boat, but everyone speaks English and will help you no worries. The breakfast box for the 3AM Abu Simbel trip was a great feature. The restaurant food could have been better , but I shouldn't expect American cooking in Egypt. After you got off the boat shuttle, the city shopping bazaar was within walking distance. Always felt safe my entire stay in Aswan
The view outside my room on the balcony was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiman Z, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear our valued-guest,

Please let me thank you for having shared your review through Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Moevenpick Resort Aswan.

We wish to express our sincerest admiration for the lovely comment in favor of our property. And team. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay.

Last but not least, we do hope that it will not be too long before we can welcome you and your friends back again to our resort or to any of our properties worldwide for long stay.


With best regards

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Arrived tired, a blissfully simple check-in, taken to our room, spacious and well appointed, with a knockout view of Kitchener island and the nobles tombs' site.

The view from the panoramic tower bar and restaurant was fabulous.

An Excellent base for exploring the delights of Aswan, sited on Elephantine island, in the middle of the Nile. Don't be put off, the ferry connections with the town could not be quicker/ easier.

Special mention for the reception staff for whom no request was too much trouble and who always had warm genuine smiles.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiman Z, General Manager at Moevenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear our beloved guest,

I would like to thank you very much for posting your precious review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Moevenpick Resort Aswan, based on high scores and wonderful praise on the high quality of service and hospitality.

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay and we hope you will keep Aswan and Moevenpick Hotels & Resorts in your good memory.

We have passed on your comments to the reception team, who is sharing us and hop that it will not be too long to welcome you back again very soon,

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon to our resort or to any of our properties worldwide.


Cordially ,

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Resort Aswan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Resort Aswan

Address: Elephantine Island | PO Box 62, Aswan, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aswan
#2 Family Hotel in Aswan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Resort Aswan 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nile. The Elephantine Island Resort Aswan stands out by Virtue of its secluded setting amid tropical gardens set on an island in the Nile. The perfect hotel for relaxing and enjoying the luxury amenities during an exciting stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moevenpick Resort Aswan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Aswan Hotel Aswan
Moevenpick Hotel Aswan
Aswan Moevenpick Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Resort Aswan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.