We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abtal El Tahrir Street, Aswan, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
save up to 35%
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Aswan
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dream place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have been really impressed by this hotel and its staff. We were upgraded for free to a prestige Nile view suite which was simply wonderful. The pool was beautiful and great atmosphere too. We had dinner at the 1902 restaurant, marvelous interior. The restaurant staff was exceptional. I wish we stayed longer there. Agatha Christie would still like it although the interior looks a bit more modern now. Good value for money. If you travel to Aswan this is the place to be!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed Z, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for your feedback and taking time to post your comments.

We are delighted to hear that you had been “impressed” by our hotel and that you found restaurant staff “exceptional”
All our Ambassadors work hard to assist our guests and make sure that every guest feels special.

We hope to see you in a near future.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    83
    18
    17
    11
See reviews for
87
226
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband, nine year old daughter and I stayed for just one night at The Cataract at the end of our Egyptian adventure! We actually left our cruise boat a day early because we wanted to spend a night here. Having booked a room in the new wing, we were delighted to arrive and be told that we had actually been allocated a suite in the old palace wing, overlooking the Nile - wow! The suite was beautifully presented with gorgeous furnishings and crisp white linen. The bathroom was large with a separate toilet and a fabulous shower. However, the best part was the huge sun deck complete with sun beds, chairs and a table. Watching the sunset over this most beautiful stretch of the Nile was something to remember forever. All of the staff were amazingly friendly and a special mention must go to Ahmed the pool attendant who was so wonderful with our daughter. Being Brits, we asked if we could see the suites where Agatha Christie and Winston Churchill stayed and we were given a fabulous tour by the guest relations manager - nothing was too much trouble.

I do take on board some of the comments of other reviewers - occasionally the service was a little slow and some staff members were almost a little too attentive in their efforts to please, but these things did nothing to spoil our enjoyment of what remains a stunning hotel.

Room Tip: If at all possible, ask for a palace room or suite over looking the Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan

We are delighted to learn your family and yourself enjoyed your stay with us and would like to sincerely thank you for your very kind words; it was really rewarding and motivating. Your special compliment about Ahmed working at the pool has been noted and will be forwarded to his attention.

We also took good note of your comments regarding the service and employees which have already been forwarded to the concerned department heads for their action.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We waited three years to stay at The Old Cataract due to the renovations. It was worth every minute of the wait, we stayed in the Old Wing (down the corridor from Agatha Christie's Suite) in the most stunning suite overlooking the Nile. On arrival our welcome couldn't have been better, Amira Gerges made us feel really special and made sure we had everything we needed. All the staff were polite and professional, even down to Mahud the laundry man who took such personal care of us. The restaurants (1902 and Oriental) were quite stunning and the food excellent both in quality and quantity, with the chef's from both restaurants visiting our table to make sure everything was in order. It was a highlight of our fourth visit to Egypt. You will not be disappointed I promise you. GO NOW! EGYPT IS STUNNING WITH LOVELY PEOPLE WHO WILL MAKE YOU WELCOME.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan

We are delighted to learn your positive feedback about your stay. We would like to sincerely thank you for your very kind words regarding our services.

Your comments have been shared with our team which will motivate them to continue their efforts in providing our valuable customers with quality products and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a truly magical place, overlooking the Nile and Elephantine Island. Make sure you get one of the suites in the historical main building - you will be blown away by the character and charm. Everything is beautiful and serene - yet it is a great starting point to explore Aswan or other highlights in Southern Egypt, including Abu Simbel. The Spa and main dining room are stunning as well. I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan

We would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. Exceeding guest expectations is our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

Your positive feedback has been shared with the team this will encourage them in their pursuit for excellence.

We look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We decided to splurge and stay at the Old Cataract for a night, and I am very glad we did. Our room was in the new wing, which had lovely views of the hotel, the Nile, and surrounding areas. Wi-fi in the room was excellent. The staff we interacted with were polite and accommodating. Were we to return to Aswan, we would certainly stay at the Old Cataract again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan

We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate you took the time to provide us with your positive comments on the hotel and the service provided.

Rest assured your feedback has been forwarded to the team which will encourage us in our quest for excellence.

We look forward to welcome you on your next visit to Aswan.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I'd like to start by saying I didn't actually stay at the hotel (it was on our list of possibilities but due to there being young kids in our group we went with the Moevenpick) but we had wanted to visit, so we took a Felucca to the dock for tea on the terrace. The greeting we received was less than welcoming, and we just took this to be security down at the Nile entrance, but sadly found this to be the standard for the entire staff (other than the concierge who was very professonal) we came into contact with. We were told we couldn't sit on the main terrace as we were not hotel guests (even though it was virtually empty). Since when does a hotel have a resident/non resident policy? Is this the dark ages? I found this to be ridiculous in the extreme. Anyway, we were quickly ushered (as if we were leppers) to a side terrace, next to the main terrace. The service was nothing short of appalling. The waiter could not have been more unfriendly, and the palaver to get tea and cake was borderline comedy. It was overpriced like I've never known in Egypt (I have lived in Egypt and understand a rip off when I see it). The hotel has been decorated beautifully and some of the light fittings and pieces of furniture were stunning. It certainly be commended for its stylish design, but I would not stay there, based on our first impression which was hugely disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for visiting Sofitel Legend Old Cataract during your stay in Aswan and for taking the time to write a review.

We are really sorry to learn your visit was not up to your expectations particularly regarding the service and would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Rest assured your comments have been brought to the attention of all department heads for their immediate action.

Thank you again for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention as it will enable us to continuously improve the services we are offering. Customers care is our highest priority and we take our guests’ constructive criticism very seriously.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you in the future.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

How could anyone not give five stars to a hotel with fantastic appointments, wonderful service, multiple restaurants, old-world charm, and great views? The room put the Internet desk at the foot of the bed with a large chair. When someone sits at the desk, it cuts the room in two. You can't pass from side to side without laboriously moving the chair or skimming awkwardly across the bed. If everything else wasn't so wonderful, I would have given it three stars. Smaller chair needed!!! Sometimes it's the smallest thing that makes a big difference.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan and for taking the time to letting us know about your feedback.

We would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your comments and have well noted your constructive criticism.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan

Address: Abtal El Tahrir Street, Aswan, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aswan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aswan
#1 Spa Hotel in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Complex encompassing famous Victorian-style Cataract Hotel & adjacent high-rise New Cataract Hotel (1963). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan Hotel Aswan
Accor Old Cataract Aswan
Sofitel Aswan
Aswan Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.