We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genteel luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abtal El Tahrir Street, Aswan, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Aswan
Herts, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Genteel luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel in the best location in Aswan. The surrounding area is quite spectacular and you feel privileged to be staying at the Cataract.

The decor of all areas in the hotel is tasteful and in keeping with the buildings history, the photos we took inside did not do it justice so I've not posted them here.

Service was excellent with all staff very polite and eager to please guests.

We stayed B&B and the breakfasts were delicious and set you up for the day, eaten on the Terrace it was a wonderful way to start the day. N.B. if you don't eat breakfast in the hotel I'm not sure where else you'd go nearby!

We ate dinner at 3 restaurants in the hotel; 1902, The Terrace and Oriental (local food). All were very good and the splendour of your surroundings whilst in 1902 is worth the premium price.

We hired a felucca from the jetty at the hotel and it was a wonderful experience, well worth approx £10 an hour, arrange it directly with the boats captain and not the hotel.

The hotel had only 10% occupancy whilst we were there which is a shame because it deserves more guests, never the less we met some very interesting people.

A stay at the Cataract is expensive, but not excessively so, and is good value for money.

Room Tip: The new Nile wing rooms are a very high standard with the added bonus you have a view of the old hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location, food and service were up to your expectations. I would like as well to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback.

I have indeed shared your positive comments with the team which will encourage them to continue their efforts in this way.

We look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    94
    23
    19
    11
See reviews for
96
271
34
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxor
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

it is a very nice & good hotel used to be a palace before 1952,located in Aswan City -Egypt and relay its service very Excellent ,Very nice room in the palace, with nice amenities toiletries and food & beverage. Room was spotless, it is Hotel with History & views of the River Nile

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract.

It is a reward in itself to receive such a praise from your side as our employees work very hard to make sure our guest feel particularly taken care of in our hotel special environment.

Thank you so much for staying with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

we loved this hotel and would go back tomorrow.the whole experience from breakfast time on the verandah eating croissants with warm chocolate poured over them watching feluccas sail by.to the evening strolling down to the restaurant with the warm breeze on you then after your meal spending the last part of the evening back on the verandah with a long cool drink before bed time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Madam/ Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

We would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. Exceeding guest expectations is our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such compliments.

Your positive feedback has been shared with the team this will encourage them in their pursuit for excellence.

We look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed at the Sofitel legend old cataract for two nights last week. I found it exceptional. Very nice room in the palace, with nice amenities toiletries and food & beverage. Room was spotless, we had breakfast by the terrace both days, the weather was perfect, dinner at 1902 on valentine's night. It was superb, food was excellent, service was good. Overall a very nice evening. The service for breakfast is a little slow, however it's not a business hotel as such. You need to enjoy the panoramic view of the Nile, listen to the birds, the soft music and enjoy yourself. I found the previous review very unreasonable and over exaggerating. Overall it's an experience that it shouldn't be missed if you happen to visit Aswan.

Room Tip: Don't go there to pick, just enjoy the ambiance, the view and the history that exists in this pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract.

We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We share all the feedback with the management and employees and reviews such as yours help in staff motivation and recognition.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Aswan.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We love authentic travel and are willing to pay a price for it but what we saw was just sad:
the Old Cataract is now an international style Sofitel. You can really see the branding! Half the style you would find at any other Sofitel: modern downlights in the ceilings, asian chandeliers, partly asian furnitures - even in the room of the old wings!? We stayed both in the old and new wing and the old was not worth the extra pay. Views in the new wing are even greate, plus the whole modern style fits more the modern building. So if you go, we recommend the new wing rooms.

The restaurant 1902 is still victorian and the view from the terrace is still great - so got there even you don´t have a room.

Service was extremely submissive but the job was not done! The breakfasts is not a buffet but just an "étagère" and they "forgot" twice to hand us the menu for additional (free) orders. Jazz music was played throughout the day like we would sit in a New York bar at midnight, so forget about the morning breeze with the birds and the ship sounds coming up the nile - you won´t hear it!

bottom line: this place has sadly lost its charme and style!

Room Tip: go to the new wing! skip the breakfast, dine at the 1902!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Madam/ Sir,

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your stay in Aswan.

We have carefully read your comments and are most grateful to you for your time.

The Nile Wing indeed offers a different experience versus the Palace Wing and we are glad to learn you felt comfortable at the Nile Wing.

I deeply apologize for the inconvenience caused to you at breakfast. Please rest reassured we are conducting trainings of our Ambassadors to improvise the service that we aspire for and that our guests deserve. Trust our guests are most important to us and we spare no efforts to ensure their comfort and convenience at all times.

We wish to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Yours faithfully,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My son wanted to help write this. He says the swimming pool had a great jacuzzi in it and the sun beds were the size of double beds. We had room service as we didn't want to dress up for dinner. The menu was extensive and the food was excellent. The menu caters to all tastes. We had a suite with a massive bed and a huge bathroom. It had 2 TVs and a sofa. There was also a massive mini bar. It was very clean.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

We are very pleased to learn you and your son enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for your feedback. Exceeding our guest expectations is our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

We have indeed shared your feedback with the team. Your comments will encourage them in their pursuit for excellence.

I look forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My friend and I spent two nights at the Old Cataract in the middle of a busy tour of the country. This gorgeous hotel provided the beauty, luxury and tranquillity that we absolutely needed at that point. The refurbishment has been done with impeccable taste retaining the old, classic decor while also providing the traveller with all of the luxuries to which we would like to become accustomed! We had a large suite in the new section with a breathtaking view up and down the Nile and over the infinite pool. The pool is heated to the same temperature as the air and the pool attendants are attentive and accommodating - towels, shade, food, drinks - whatever you want. The so-called " Oriental Restaurant" near the water's edge is cozy and attractive for dinner (though not particularly oriental in food or décor). We made a meal from the mezzes menu which gave us variety and just the right amounts - all delicious. Alas, the hotel was almost empty when we were there (in peak season) - people are afraid to go to Egypt but they need not be - we had wonderful guides and felt safe at all times.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the new section for pure luxury and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCataractManagemnt, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Madam/ Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

We would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit with your friend. We are pleased to know that you liked the way the hotel has been renovated and that the facilities were to your taste.

Your positive feedback has been shared with the team this will encourage them to continue their efforts in the same way.

I look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Rushdee Hosany
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan

Address: Abtal El Tahrir Street, Aswan, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aswan
#1 Family Hotel in Aswan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aswan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Complex encompassing famous Victorian-style Cataract Hotel & adjacent high-rise New Cataract Hotel (1963). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Splendia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan Hotel Aswan
Accor Old Cataract Aswan
Sofitel Aswan
Aswan Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.