We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical trip in history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan to your Saves list
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abtal El Tahrir Street, Aswan, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Aswan
Cairo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Magical trip in history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel must have one of the best locations ever! The view of the Nile, elephantine island the feluccas sailing by - magical. Winston Churchill and Agatha Christie are among a huge list of famous people who stayed here. The whole atmosphere is of old fashioned luxury.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed Z, Rooms Division Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Madam/ Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your comments and letting us know about your recent visit. Your positive feedback is really appreciated and has been shared with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Ahmed El Zomor
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    94
    23
    19
    11
See reviews for
95
270
34
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

A very beautiful hotel in a stunning location. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The manager and customer service representative were the best we have experienced yet. Hopefully we will return. Keep up the standard of service please. The decor is fantastic throughout the hotel. We had a meal in the restaurant which was excellent and again the service was second to none. We hope to return in the future and have no hesitation in recommending this beautiful hotel.
Stephen and Ann Clark (Cairo)

Room Tip: Expensive but worth every penny. Rooms all overlook the beautiful Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed Z, Rooms Division Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Clark,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I am delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for providing us with your positive comments on the service you received which will encourage us in our quest for excellence.

Thank you again for your compliments which I will share with the team.

I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ahmed El Zomor
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel has a very good location is considered one of the best locations. Our suite was very good with amazing nile view and small nice terrace.

The room had a Nespresso machine which made my stay. Bathroom Hermes signature amenities are excellent and bathroom is very clean as the rest of the hotel.

Now is the time for lots of "Buts". The first issue is with the non standardised level of service.

One breakfast they offered bread basket while the following day they didn't and asked us to order what we like !!! and bread was not fresh at all in both days.
The breakfast variety is good but the cook was very bad as the eggs was raw one one day and overcooked on the other !!!

Also we once ordered cheese burger,....the sandwich was extremely small for an EGP 105 ++ sandwich and fries was a disaster, and again bread wasn't fresh.
An hour later we were obliged to order the same sandwich due to the lack of options in the menue,..the new one came as if it's from a different planet,...the fries was also bad but different than the first one,..this time the cheese was as twice in size as the burger itself, which was covering the lower half of the sandwich which needed a glove to hold it !!!! ketchup bottle in both orders were openned and half full.

we ordered tea for EGP 40 ++ and once it came Twinings and the other time it came Lipton,....and one of them was almost as cold as tap water temprature.

We were avoiding sitting in sides of the terrace as waiters are not around at all and to get them you have to either shout or go and get them yourself.

Once in the dinner I ordered one item costs EGP 180 on the menue while i found it on the bill priced at EGP 240,..when I asked why, the waiter told me that he got it to me "smoked"....!!! after convincing him that I ordered exactly what were in the menue and the "smoked" dish is not on the menue,...he changed the price to EGP 180 !!!!

I stayed for two nights and i paid a fortune for lousy service and very high price.

Although rooms and views are the best in Aswan, but will never stay there again in this overpriced place unless they either reduce prices or raise the level of service for better value for money.

Room Tip: Book Nile view suites or don't stay there at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed Z, Rooms Division Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I appreciate you took the time to share your experience with us.

I am pleased to know that you liked the room and view from our hotel, but I am really sorry that the service was not up to your expectations and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you might have encountered.

The matter has been brought to the attention of the persons in charge of the Food and Beverage and kitchen departments for their immediate action in order for such an inconvenience not to be repeated.

I hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Ahmed El Zomor
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

One of the nicest Hotels I have visited so far. The location is wonderful and can not be topped easily. The recent renovation is a great success and we can only congratulate the interior architect for the excellent match between old and new. However the service is really not up to the standard of any international Hotel. Complete lack of leadership and training. Check and delivery of the luggage has taken nearly 1.45h and this with a 20 percent occupancy. We had 4 rooms and the crew could not manage, the have the names properly assigned to the rooms. All services slow, food average, however prices would be same in a 5 star property in Europe. Can not see the impact of Sofitel training at all, same would apply for the Winter Palace in Luxor, where service goes from bad to worse every time I visit. The only excellent service in a Sofitel in Egypt we experience each time we visit Cairo. With tourism in Egypt already low, this Hotel should shine out and provide outstanding services to raise the reputation of Hotel service in Egypt. Hopefully Sofitel Management will realize soon, only putting lot of money in the hardware of the Hotel is not enough, excellent service is the answer.

Room Tip: Choose your rooms in the OLD wing and if possible Nile view, which is just stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Cataract_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback.

I am glad to learn you appreciate the renovation and interior designers remarkable achievement. I sincerely apologize for the delay experienced on arrival which is not the norm and usually check-in and luggage delivery is swift. Trust your comments have been shared with team to eliminate repeat occurrence and any inconvenience that may have been caused.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have had the good fortune to visit Aswan many times, and each visit always included tea on the terrace of the Old Cataract, dreaming someday that I would be a guest and stay long enough to enjoy the whole experience. I just returned from a three-day stay and all I can say is that the reality was as good as the dream! Idyllic surroundings, magnificent views, comfortable guest rooms, attentive staff. Simply perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Cataract_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Madam/ Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I am delighted to learn your positive feedback about your stay, especially knowing that you have been visiting our hotel several times before finally staying with us.

Your comments have been shared with our team which will motivate them to continue their efforts in providing our valuable customers with quality products and services.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely yours,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

After a trip on the best ship on the Nile river and the days before in Cairo we stayed with friends in this wonderful located, nicely renovoated and designed hotel.
we very much liked the rooms/suite and we loved the design and the quality of the bed and the linen and the silence in the hotel, the fresh flowers and the atmosphere are really great, the big dissapointment are the food delivery and presentation and the far too slow and unpolsihed service. ther was only a occupancy of 20% in the hotel but allone the check in took more then one hours( it was late afternoon) and another 45 min until our luggage has arrived in the room. later we received an appologize letter, but also here, we recieved the letter from our friends they received our letter, what shows cleraly no communication between the departments.
we requested a appointment with the GM, we got told he is out for some days and the meet with a young gentleman from reservation department and the manager of safety and security( ??) to place our experince and complaint about the service.
How ever, we did not understand in time like this what is for the country not easy and with this low occupancy, why does the managemnt not take time for traings and why is nobody available from the hotel management for us not a good sign.
By the end of the day, we enjoyed our stay, but with this quality of sevice we can not reccomend the hotel.
Food in the Mövenpick Hotel far far better and service very fast

Room Tip: We stayed with friends for 2 nights in this beautiful hotel and we liked very much the location, thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Cataract_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend Old Cataract for your recent visit to Aswan.

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing your valuable feedback.

Your constructive criticisms have been shared with the respective department heads from the rooms and food and beverage divisions to eliminate such defects to avoid reoccurrence.

I am grateful to receive your comments which enable us to continuously improve the services we are offering. Customers care is our highest priority and we take our guests’ constructive criticism very seriously.

I am really sorry I was unfortunately not able to meet you in person.

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely yours,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We visited the Nubian Museum then turned up at the Old Cataract for a drink to watch the sun set over the Nile. We weren't staying at the hotel but the staff were very welcoming and invited us in. The view from the terrace outside the bar is fantastic. The drinks were expensive but great for a treat when travelling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Cataract_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

I am pleased to know that you visited Sofitel Legend Old Cataract during your recent visit to Aswan.

Thank you for taking the time to express your appreciation for the services and facilities.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel on your next trip to Aswan.

Sincerely,

Khaled Helmy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan

Address: Abtal El Tahrir Street, Aswan, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
#1 Family Hotel in Aswan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aswan
#1 Spa Hotel in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Complex encompassing famous Victorian-style Cataract Hotel & adjacent high-rise New Cataract Hotel (1963). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Splendia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan Hotel Aswan
Accor Old Cataract Aswan
Sofitel Aswan
Aswan Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.