We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and relaxing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Animalia

Animalia
Elephantine island | In the Middle of Agricultural Area Beside the Prep School of the Village, Aswan, Egypt
+20 100 300 5672
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 Attractions in Aswan
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Center of information about life in nubia(nature and culture)it is an ethno-biological museum which consists of three parts1-traditional nubian house 2- museum shows fauna in nubia(Animals,reptiles,birds,fish,insects all stuffed)rocks and stones.3-the roof terrace where drinks,lunch,quick meals are served.also lectures about nubia ,the nile and elephantine are given over looking the gardens.Animalia also organise birdwatching tour in the nile held by professional guides MOHAMMED SOBHY and his Daughter Fatma.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great and relaxing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a wonderful time visiting Mohamed Sobhi's house and museum, Animalia. The interesting discussion really helped us to get a thorough understanding of Nubian history and culture for a reasonable 10LE per person. I was really glad we wondered through the tranquil Nubian villages on Elephantine Island to find his place. We also enjoyed eating a wonderful lunch prepared by his wife before we continued on with our day. If you are in Aswan, take the quick ferry over to Elephantine Island, wander through the peaceful villages and visit Animalia. You'll have a wonderful time, learn a lot, and totally forget about the hassle of Egypt.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shoreline, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great guide and worthwhile experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The EGP10 guided tour of the museum is a really valuable look into traditional Nubian culture and the region's fauna. The lunch made by the guide's wife and delivered on the roof was the best I've had in my 10 weeks in Egypt. The guide is funny and knowledgeable. Unfortunately, he fell into the oft-repeated mistake of keeping small crocodiles in small pens.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxor, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely family and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Animalia is a great little stop over on Elephantine Island. The family are absolutely lovey and welcoming. They have attached a museum to their house, very informative but casual. Aftewards, head up to their rooftop terrace where the family can cook you a traditional Nubian style lunch. Fantastic food!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Vriginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent slice of life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We did a walking tour of the Nubian Village where Animalia is located with the owner of Animalia. He showed us traditional Nubian life, how resources are used, traditional crafts and animals. We had the tour arranged through a major tour company but I am sure if you contact the owner directly you could pay a fraction of what we paid. It was interesting to see this alternative culture which was almost wiped out by the building of the Aswan Dam.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Small but friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This place is tiny and difficult to find, but its owner is friendly and gives a welcoming view into Nubian life that seems difficult to find anywhere else. The rooftop offers a lovely place to see the surrounding villages and fields.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Animalia also viewed

Aswan, Aswan Governorate
Aswan, Aswan Governorate
 
Aswan, Aswan Governorate
Aswan, Aswan Governorate
 

Been to Animalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Animalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.