We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice oriental good food restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panorama Restaurant

Panorama Restaurant
Corniche El Nil St | El Corniche, Aswan, Egypt
097-2306169
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 26 Restaurants in Aswan
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
1 review
“A nice oriental good food restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nice place oriental look , looks old but its nice for the oriental mood , good food, good price
Nile vew
Nice people speaks many languages.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    29
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DenHaag, Holland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a bland, tasteless food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

They advertise at the entrance that they serve various vegetarians meals. When i walked in and asked for the menu, there was no section for vegetarian meals.
The waiter suggested that I could take a vegetarian moussaka.
It arrived, bland, tasteless and they even charged me for the bread, that is usually served free of charge. THE WORST MEAL I HAVE EVER EATEN !! the price is not cheap

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Expensive (by Egyptian standards) and definitely not worth the money for poor food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Egyptian hospitality is not to be found at this so-called restaurant. It would charge for air, if it could. The service was dreadful. The food was mediocre to awful. This is a strong candidate for the worst restaurant I have ever eaten at in Egypt. It was mean in portion size, mean on smiles and mean on value. They charge well over the odds for what they deliver. Panorama is a rip-off.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Could have been a better experience...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

...except that the food was mediocre, maybe not for Aswan, but in Cairo I could find better food from a street vendor, for less than half the price. The interior may also be intriguing for many, but to me it was kind of like dining in an old curio shop- just a bunch of clutter from the owner's years of collecting local nick-knacks. Also, they didn't take credit cards (or at least they told us they didn't), the service was REALLY slow (we only ordered foul, an omelette & drinks, but waited nearly half an hour for the food), and when we asked for them to call us a cab for the ride back to our hotel they outright refused. We had been harassed by local teenagers on the sidewalk outside their restaurant just before entering (serious and disturbing sexual harassment of my wife), and I explained this to the man at the door when we arrived, but still they refused to call us a taxi? With the situation as it has been in Egypt over the past year, one would think they might be more concerned about looking after their customers.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice local food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I ate at Panorama restaurant twice and got very good food both times. I can recommend the Spicy Meat Tagen which was really good and got the blood flowing. They also have very good fresh juices and the price is very good compared to the quality of the food. It's basic good food done right. Recommended.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panorama Restaurant also viewed

Aswan, Aswan Governorate
Aswan, Aswan Governorate
 
Aswan, Aswan Governorate
Aswan, Aswan Governorate
 

Been to Panorama Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panorama Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.