We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best family experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bet el Kerem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bet el Kerem to your Saves list
Bet el Kerem
Nagh el Kuba | West Aswan, Aswan, Egypt   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 8 Aswan B&B and Inns
Heemstede, The Netherlands
1 review
“best family experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We spent 8 days in the wonderful BetelKarem 917 t/m 24 november 2011). From the first moment we felt at home: Dutch Quality with African hospitality. Abdel and his crew made us feel great. Every day we learned more about the Nubian culture. Breakfast and dinner were splendid. The view from the balcony over de desert and the tomb of the Nobels en the thomb of Aga Khan was wonderful by night and day We wachted birds, made Niletrips en enjoyed the souk of Aswan. We married 25 years ago en that's why Abdel arranged that we were invited at a great Nubian wedding party.
At home we remember this family trip as one of the best in our life.
fam. Ondracek, Holland

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    15
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
37
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was a beautiful guest-house on the West bank of Aswan - wonderful rustic atmosphere, lovely and spacious room and a gorgeous roof terrace with the most amazing view of the desert, tombs of the nobles and the Nile. The owner Abdel makes you feel immediately at home - the fridge is always full of cool water, juice and snacks which you can help yourself to. The staff were always friendly and accommodating. Staying in the West bank was also a treat - so peaceful and calm, you felt like you were very much experiencing the Nubian village feel.

The excursions with Bet el Kerem are also highly recommended - they seemed a bit expensive to us at first but there is a reason! These trips are perfectly organised and completely hassle-free - the driver was accommodating and took us to all the sites he said he would (no cousin's souvenir shops!), was very patient whilst we looked around the sites, and there were no 'hidden charges'. The trip to Abu Simbel was especially amazing!

This guesthouse is the best in Aswan - stay there!

Room Tip: If you go there in summer be sure to get a room with AC - it gets sweltering in the guesthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

From the moment you enter the garden of this wonderful place, you instantly feel relaxed and at home. As our host Abdel explained, 'Bet El Kerem' translates as 'house of hospitality' which is exactly what Abdel has achieved here and you are at once in your very own 'home from home'. Nothing is too much trouble for Abdel, who he was happy to arrange excursions and activities for us, never pushy, always warm, friendly and polite. The breakfast was varied and plentiful and we found we never needed lunch as we always had plenty of breakfast. Dinner was also superb and always left us satisfied. The location is quiet and relaxing, away from the hustle and bustle of Aswan city, yet close enough to be only a 10 minute ferry ride away across the Nile. The guest-house is the perfect spot to visit locations such as the Botanical Gardens of Kitcheners Island and the magnificent temple of Ramses at Abu SImbel and you can finish off the evening with a romantic Felluca cruise down the Nile at sunset. We only have two regrets regarding our stay at 'Bet El Kerem' that we couldn't stay longer and that we didn't book our other accommodation and activities in Luxor and Cairo with Abdel as I'm sure they would have been excellent. If you want the corporate coldness of a 5 star hotel then look elsewhere, but if you want to feel at home in a warm, pleasant and relaxed atmosphere, then look no further than Bet El Kerem, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Even on the ferry across the Nile to the west bank the local people were friendly and welcoming, one person even carried a heavy suitcase to the hotel a hundred yards from the ferry.
The hotel is situated at the end of the Nubian village the owner and staff are all Nubians and very nice friendly helpfull people.
The hotel was excellent and the food even better, there was always free cold bottled water in the fridge.
Our tours had a helpful driver and included a boat trip up to near the dam, a taxi around the east bank sites and the highlight trip down to Abu Simbel by a very safe driver. There were other trips and activities available also.
For anyone who wants a good quiet hotel on the west bank, which means no shops or markets, this place is ideal. I forgot to mention the cockerel which wakes at dawn, there is a long term plan for it which involves a stewing pot!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skane County, Sweden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

I would really recommend people to stay in this very peaceful place on the westbank. You can pretty easy reach it with the local ferry from central Aswan. The westbank is bu the way beautiful, quiet and hasslefree. The rooms are nicely decorated, comfortable and clean. The owners and staff were all very friendly and welcoming.

The hotel has a view of the nile and town and the surrounding desert with the tomb of the nobles near by, a place not to miss in my opinion. There is a garden and also a roof terrace where food was served. I really appreciated the food that was generous and tasty, as was the breakfast! Water, softdrinks and fresh juice was for free, wich was much needed because it was hot!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed at Bet el Kerem three times in late March and April, 2011. It is a charming, friendly, wonderfully comfortable home away from home. The rooms and baths are spotless, the food is delicious, the views over the desert and the Nile and Aswan perfect. The best thing about Bet el Kerem is the staff of truly friendly, helpful, charming guys determined to make our stay memorable. If you do NOT stay at Bet el Kerem you will be missing the best part of your stay in Egypt.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We thought we'd stay 3 days and ended up sticking around for 6. What a wonderful respite after the noise of Cairo. This is African Egypt at its best. The care from the staff is second to none. We did not want to leave. Be sure to ride camels and take a feluca ride with the staff. It is magical.

Room Tip: Relax and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bet el Kerem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bet el Kerem

Address: Nagh el Kuba | West Aswan, Aswan, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only guesthouse in Aswan on the West bank. Top location near the Nile, the desert and the Nubian villages; beautiful view. Private chef services healthy meals. Peaceful atmosphere, friendly, hospitable staff. “Feels like staying with family”; “a home away from home”.2 floors, 8 double rooms, 1 family room, beautiful garden, roof garden with restaurant; marvellous view. The local ferry - within walking distance from the guesthouse - brings you in 10 min. in Aswan centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Bet el Kerem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bet El Kerem Hotel Aswan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bet el Kerem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.