We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Hotel !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pyramids Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Pyramids Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Pyramids Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Studio Misr Road | Mariottia Pyramids, Giza, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Giza
Alexandria, Egypt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Noisy Hotel !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was in a business trip where I had to give some sessions in a workshop in the hotel. First of all the DJ by the pool is really high and noisy all day long .. which caused a head ache even if u stayed in ur room, second the meeting room had no facilities enough and wasn't convenient, third for the food is not diversified yet not of good quality .. but it may b acceptable.

The service over all is not bad and the people working there are some how helpers.

Another point the hotel is located in HARAM which is a place awaaaay from the center of cairo and any place you may ever want to visit in cairo expect the pyramids which can be seen easily around the hotel .. and of course transportation to any other place in cairo would take long time (around and hour in NO rush time) to get to center of cairo and of course costly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    182
    106
    38
    30
See reviews for
115
131
53
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Giza, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

i stayed already in this hotel more than 10 times and it was the best hotel ever i stay in with the pyramids view..i,m planning to go again in the middle of june for 3 days again..best restaurant and food and friendly staff..

Room Tip: rooms on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giza, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

excellent hotel ,best rooms ever iwill go again and again.i advise everyone who want to have best rooms with the pyramids view to choose this hotel coz of the excellent location..its number one in the town

Room Tip: best rooms are all the rooms but best of the best are the 4th and the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had just done the Nile cruise and flew to Cairo for our last 3 nights. Reception was helpful and friendly; we got to our rooms, big and clean enough. We headed straight for the windows as we asked for Pyramid views, well! We were pointing in the right direction but could just make out the tip of one across the high rise (houses!). Very disappointed.
Around the pool was comfortable but service was terrible. We were told to order at the pool bar and the drinks would be sent out from the inner bar. Every time we ordered the girl looked at us if we were stupid, nodded and walked away. Not once did she get our order to the bar so we had to keep getting dressed and going inside and getting them ourselves.
From the pool you look up at a fly over, nice!
The evening meal was a terrible experience; we actually got the felling we weren’t wanted there. It was self service but you had to order wine or a bottle of water, every evening the waiters just stood looking at us. One of us had to go over and ask for wine list and then call them when we had chosen. They would walk over as if we had put them out, never a smile. When they got it they would just plonk (no pun intended) it on table, un-opened and walk away.
The bloke in the bar was quite friendly but you had to find him first.
We really didn’t feel welcome or as if we could chat to anyone and experience culture and exchange banter.
Every day people were putting their plates of left food outside their doors after room service, these were picked up, by maids I guess and put in stair well. As my wife cannot use lifts we use the stairs and these plates were their morning to night. On one floor 3 plates were there the whole 3 days we were.
So very different to the boat we had just left, everyone on the boats can’t do enough for you. It’s like a different world.
I would do Cairo again, Pyramids, Sphinx and Museum, all a must, but will check out the other hotels especially the ones we past near Pyramids on visit.

On a higher note, there is a Bedouin tent on site. We had a night in here sharing a hookah shisha pipe, this was nice and relaxing, comfortable and fun.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coorg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel campus as such is very elegantly built & maintained, as we stayed for 2 nights, the front entrance, lobby, lifts, rooms, pool, garden, the restaurant, the food spread, quality - every thing was appreciable. Even though the sorrounding area of the hotel is not clean & not well planned with dusty road ,garbage,vehicle crowd & small old shops, we could make ourselves comfortable roaming around within the hotel premesis during our free time after breakfast & dinner. The main tourist attractions of pyramids & sphinx area is also quite close by. But striking issue is problem of safety & insecurity for a foreign traveller specially visiting Cairo for the first time. soone can feel the law & order is weak & needs major transformation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The location of this hotel is in the Giza area, about 4.5 miles from the centre of Cairo, and about 1.5 miles from the Pyramids. I got an amazing deal for 10 nights, and even though I booked (and got) an economy room, it was very spacious, as was the bathroom, and came with a fridge. The bed had a lovely firm mattress for a great nights sleep. The shower had great pressure, and constant hot water. There is a huge pool with plenty of sun loungers. Free wifi is available in the lobby area 24/7. The restaurants serve pretty good food at inexpensive prices. Even the room service is not at all expensive. The hotel has its own taxi service, which is still cheap compared to the west. Outside, you will find even cheaper taxis. A price can be agreed on for wherever you want to go. Around the corner to the right of the hotel, on the main road, is a local supermarket. Handy for stocking up your fridge with water and snacks on the cheap.
It is rather outside downtown Cairo, but to me that was a blessing. The city centre is a cheap cab ride away. Or better yet, take a cab to the Giza metro, and take the metro into the city for only one Egyptian pound. I walked to and from the Pyramids several times, this takes about 20mins each way. I also even walked (twice) from the Giza metro station to the hotel. This walk is not for the faint hearted!!

Room Tip: There is no ignoring that the hotel is next to a busy motorway. But all roads in Cairo are busy 24/7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We recently stayed here and it served our purpose. We really weren't in our rooms much as we came and spent 2 full days seeing the pyramids etc in the area. Overall the services were good.
We arrived late in the evening so we were tired and eager to settle in. The staff was friendly enough, but their process is terribly inefficient. Our booking was pre-arranged by our tour guide so we thought it would be a quick process. Upon arrival we were asked for our passports which is normal. Then we had to complete a long check-in form, which included our passport information and such. I don't know why they photocopy our passports but then ask us to write down all the information from them on a form as well. We were tired and this was quite frustrating.
After settling in we really needed a cold beer. We ordered one from the bar outside by the pool. Again, they were friendly enough, but their process was inefficient. They had to walk somewhere off into the main hotel area to get the beers then bring them to us. It literally took them 10 minutes to bring them for us.
The rooms were very nice. Neat and clean and well looked after. No complaints there. The elevator was small so only 4 persons with luggage could get in at once, but that seems to be the norm in cities like Cairo where buildings are tall and narrow.
We were on the 4th floor and looking to our right off the balcony we could actually see 2 of the pyramids. Very nice.
We did not use the pool because it was cooler, but we did see the staff cleaning it on several occasions.
The breakfast was good with a good selection at the buffet. We ate dinner in the Italian restaurant and it was actually fairly good as well for the price.
The location is good for proximity to the pyramids and such. We were not around during the day and did not venture out in the streets at night, so I can't comment on the nearby restaurants or shops. From all outward looks, it appeared to be a safe area.

Overall it was a good choice and we would certainly recommend it for short stays.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor so you can see the pyramids better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Pyramids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pyramids Hotel

Address: 53 Studio Misr Road | Mariottia Pyramids, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Giza
#8 Spa Hotel in Giza
#15 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Pyramids Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Pyramids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Pyramids
Grand Pyramids Giza
Grand Pyramids Hotel Cairo
Grand Pyramids Cairo
Grand Pyramids Hotel Egypt/Giza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pyramids Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.