We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels great being there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Giza Street, Cairo, Giza 12311, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off Room Rate!
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Giza
Giza, Egypt
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Feels great being there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

I loved the room the most, it is real luxury.
View is nice, the Nile river and the pool from one side. And the Giza zoo view from otherside.
Staff are friendly and helpful. Room service is quick. And the Spa is great, definitly will be back again for the spa

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hibba B, Director of Public Relations at Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear Ms.3mira,

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on Tripadvsisor and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Spa.

I will be sure to share your comments with our Spa Team, as there is no better motivator than the praise of a happy guest.

I look foward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Hibba Bilal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    38
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
77
141
25
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

From start to finish this stay was hospitality beyond expectations. Five Star in all customer contact areas from Welcome and Decor through to F&B and Housekeeping services. Royal treatment. It cannot be faulted.

Room Tip: We stayed twice. Once overlooking The Nile (busy river vista), then overlooking The Pyramids (great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Great location, great hotel, incredible service as four seasons is used to.
Will return, and recommend!
Flower arrangements, restaurant service, amazing breakfast!
Love it!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Customer service as expected at Four Seasons. Outstanding breakfast buffet overlooking the NIle. A wonderful spa. Now if only the Cairo traffic let up...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed here two nights in March 2012 and would highly recommend the Four Seasons First Residence in Giza. The service was impeccable, they even handed me water and a towel after my run through Cairo in the morning. The rooms were quite large and had great views of either the Nile or the pyramids. The beds were comfortable and all amenities were great. The buffett breakfast was superlative and varied for all tastes and cuisines. The Thai restaurant was recommended by our friends but we ate at Seasons the Italian inspired restaurant that had excellent food and service. The location is great and just a short taxi ride from all the major sites and some high quality restaurants outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a pyramid view room (west side room) and enjoy happy hour gazing at the sunset over the pyra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed at the Four Seasons First Residence at the end of January 2012 for 5 nights. The hotel is a little away from the madness of downtown Cairo but with 23 million people in one city nowhere is free of traffic and people. The hotel is part of a complex with a major shopping centre and residential building. It is next to the Nile and can have great views of the river and the city beyond on one side and on the other the zoo gardens and on a good day, a glimpse of the pyramids through the smog. Word of warning the pyramid side means traffic noise so higher floors are better. On the river side the residential building is between the hotel and the Nile so a room at either corner of the hotel building is best or you will have a lovely picture window filled with the view of another building and a sliver of Nile on either side. The only clear view in these middle rooms was of the building site which was the hotel pool in January/February. When I first arrived I had been allocated one of these obstructed view rooms and was not happy.

This hotel has a floor for women only which is comforting when travelling in the Middle East but not vital. I did not request this but the hotel made a decision to put me on this floor - level 10. Given the dreadful state of tourism in Egypt at the moment, with tourists staying away in droves and I am fairly certain was the one of only two occupants of this level,that a corner room might be possible. After several discussions with the manager and inspecting other rooms I was placed in a corner room at no additional expense. After 27 hours in the air from Australia to Cairo you can imagine how keen I was to just settle but the orignal room was so claustrophobic with the residential building squarely taking up my window space I had to keep trying. I was a little disappointed as I was travelling with Abercrombie & Kent and I would have hoped this would have been dealt with before I arrived.

However, the rooms are large, comfortable and very attractively furnished perhaps they could do with some updating but in the main excellent with loads of cupboard space and room for the bags. Bathrooms were excellent and spotless with Bulgari toiletries and plenty of very fluffy towels. Lovely fresh flowers in the bathroom and excellent turndown service in the bedroom.The windows can be opened and this was great - you could get a feel for the world outside the hotel and you can hear the people being called to prayer across the river late in the day.

It really is heartbreaking to see how few tourists there are. The main reastaurant where we had breakfast each morning seats around 80 people and has terrific views across the river - lovely place to start the day and watch the rowers and fellucas. I never saw more than 8 people for breakfast or dinner sitting down to eat during my stay. The food was fantastic and the staff charming and highly efficient. Only downside is it is very hard to get any wine other than Egyptian even in a 5 star hotel. The only champagne was an Egyptian one called Aida available in the bar - enough said. Room service uniformly very good and quick. I also tried the Thai restaurant and found it suprising authentic and the service was outstanding.

Spent an afternoon in the spa to lose the jetlag and that was fab. The spa is huge and luxurious - as a spa junkie I was very impressed and as I was staying on the women only floor there was a discount at the spa.

Location wise it is great for sites like the Pyramids and Saqquara. If you have never experienced Cairo traffic you do not know the meaning of the word. It is constantly bumper to bumper and that may be with a donkey, not another car and democracy seems to mean that you don't have to obey the road rules. So it takes ages to get anywhere. It is a hike across town to get to the Citadel, the Bazaar, Hanging Church etc but very calming when you cross the river again to Giza and the hotel at the end of a busy day and the mayhem is a little more subdued.

All up this hotel is the whole package - in Cairo/Giza I think it is rightly top of the list of places to stay - if only because the service was so good and the staff so friendly and accommodating. In fact, some flashier 5 star hotels I have stayed at in Western capital cities could learn alot from the pleasant approach and good manners of the staff in this hotel. Reception were uniformly helpful and could not do enough to make my stay a happy one and anyone in hotel livery that I ran into around the complex said good morning or good evening and made me feel like they were pleased I had chosen their hotel and it was important to them that I enjoyed my stay. Would stay here again and would very much recommend this hotel.

On a final note, the shopping complex is very good if expensive and there is a wonderful jeweller called Azza Fahmy who makes superb modern silver pieces if you want a gorgeous souvenir of Egypt to take home rather than another fake papyrus!

Room Tip: Always a corner room on the Nile side to avoid a blocked view and stay higher up on the Pyramid side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The hotel is a fabulous place to base yourself in Cairo. Of course, The Four Seasons level of quality and service is present in abundance. The hotel is nicely situated between downtown Cairo and the Pyramids, so we were easily able to enjoy all the sights from the hotel. The staff were incredibly helpful with arranging our days out, especially when the guide we had arranged before we left home did not show up. Thank you to the kind staff and we hope to visit Cairo again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room a little higher up and perhaps on the Nile side. The view of the pyramids is not gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence

Address: 35 Giza Street, Cairo, Giza 12311, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Giza
#1 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#1 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#1 Business Hotel in Giza
#3 Family Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Cairo, with breathtaking views to enchant you and ancient zoological and botanical gardens just outside your door. At our luxury boutique hotel, enjoy an array of authentic fine dining outlets, lavish spa and opulent meeting spaces, an adjacent designer mall and a casino. Just minutes away from the hotel enjoy the best of the city's arts, culture and shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo At The 1st Residence
Four Seasons Giza
Giza Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo At The First Residence Egypt/Giza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.