We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous breakfast” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Hotel Cairo - Pyramids

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Moevenpick Hotel Cairo - Pyramids to your Saves list
Moevenpick Hotel Cairo - Pyramids
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Alexandria Road | PO Box 1, Giza, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Giza
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Horrendous breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I'm judging this based on it advertising it self as being a 5-star hotel.

Location:
Very close to the pyramids. There is a roof top cafe with great view over the pyramids. However the location is truly bad. There is nothing in Giza. Hard to find stores and restaurants. Cant go or a walk outside as there is mostly roads and nothing to see. Live close to the corniche instead!

Service:
I hate when you get to a 5-star hotel and no one comes to get your bags and you have to wonder where to check in. When I arrive I want my bags picked up directly! Extremly bad check in service. Overall nothing special about the service. Not really the best staff.

Atmosphere and ambience:
Relatively nice garden-hotel. Especially nice for being in Cairo! Its a nice contrast. We had a business suite that was okey. A bit dated though, Extra plus for the beautiful flower bouquet in the room.

Restaurants:
We ate at the Thai restaurant once and I was very pleased with the food and the price. Live music every night was a plus. The cakes in the lobby were disgusting! I have noticed this overall in Egypt, they can't make french pastry. Breakfast was horrendous! Worst I've ever had. The food was old, croissants so dry you almost choked and there was so little food to choose from. Bad, bad bad!

Pool:
The pool was unheated and when I asked about it they said it was broken. I dont believe they ever heat it. Thats the kind of feeling this hotel gives. Lazy, unprofessional and not very interested in service.

Overall:
Not a horrific hotel but for having 5-stars, yes its baaad. Overall I have found Mövenpick hotels in Egypt to be dissapointing. The same for the one in El Gouna. I wont be staying at any Mövenpick in Egypt again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inassultan, Quality Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Cairo - Pyramids, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

However we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you had encountered during your stay in our hotel, On the other hand, all your valuable comments "negative or positive" had been forwarded and discussed with all concerned to improve, review and also for immediate corrective and preventive actions for our future guests not to be subject to similar inconveniences. So on behalf of all the Moevenpick Pyramids team we are all thankful and grateful for bringing these shortcomings to our attention
Therefore, I would like to thank you for giving us another chance to extend you our true excellence in hospitality hopping that the above can meet your satisfaction.

Best Regards

Inas Sultan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    208
    122
    38
    13
See reviews for
108
192
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here in 2 interconnecting rooms and really, have absolutely nothing to complain about. The rooms were clean and comfortable, slightly outdated, but that's about it. The beds were big with big soft pillows. There was lots of hot water and the tub had one of those 1/2 glass covers that are a bit annoying as water gets out.

The included breakfast buffet was huge with lots of choices including made-to-order omelettes. The day we were to fly out early in the morning, they were kind enough to make us boxed breakfasts for us to take with. I thought that was super sweet of them.

There is a buffet restaurant in the evening as well as a Thai restaurant. We only ate at the buffet restaurant the one night and it was decent with an ok selection, though expensive. Thankfully they only charged us 1 adult price for the 3 kids as there were no kid prices, but I did have to ask about it. Drinks were not included in the supper buffet. There is also a gym and spa, as well as a kids mini golf though did not use any of these so cannot comment. The pool is quite large, though not heated so can be very cold, at least it was when we were there.

Wifi is available but it is expensive at 135 LE for 24 hrs if I remember correctly. Bottled water was also expensive at 20LE for a large bottle, expensive being a relative word as it's much cheaper at the markets or elsewhere.

You can set up drivers for the day to anywhere in Cairo and area as we did the one day to take us to the Museum, wait for us and take us back. Cost was 140 LE for 6 hrs.

There is no view of the pyramids from the rooms, but just steps out of the hotel, there is a great view.

All in all, we had a pleasant stay with no real complaints and can recommend it to families, couples, singles.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inassultan, Quality Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Cairo - Pyramids, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us,

However , Also we would like to extend our sincere apologies for any inconveniences that you may had encountered during your stay with us , On the other hand, all your valuable comments "negative or positive" had been forwarded and discussed with all concerned to improve, review and also for immediate corrective and preventive actions for our future guests not to be subject to similar inconveniences. So on behalf of all the Moevenpick Pyramids team we are all thankful and grateful for bringing these shortcomings to our attention.
We look forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel and we hope then that we could have the pleasure of making your stay even more enjoyable

Best Regards

Inas Sultan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay with the very beautiful landscaping, staff were very friendly and professional specially the reception staff, rooms were clean and tight, pool was okay, only the internet was expensive and not free of charge. we definitely recommend for everybody to enjoy what we enjoyed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inassultan, Quality Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Cairo - Pyramids, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.We really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and
We look forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel and we hope then that we could have the pleasure of making your stay even more enjoyable

Best Regards

Inas Sultan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We spent 4 nights here at the beginning of April. While not high end, the rooms are spacious and clean. The surroundings are very relaxed and quiet for a major city and we felt more comfortable being a little way out of the city. There are taxis outside the main gate which took us in to town for about £5, much cheaper than the rate when we arranged through the front desk. This hotel was comfortable, especially the beds and was exactly what we, a family of 5, wanted. Breakfast was super, although it would have been good if the coffee shop and pizza restaurant had been open past 6:30pm, however, given how quiet Egypt was, compared to previous visits, I imagine they can't keep them open much longer.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inassultan, Quality Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Cairo - Pyramids, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.
We really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and
We look forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel and we hope then that we could have the pleasure of making your stay even more enjoyable

Best Regards
Inas Sultan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel may promote itself as a luxorious hotel close to the pyramides, but in the end it's just a cozy upper class hotel. We first chose the hotel with the idea that we could walk to the pyramides, but in the end the distance was to far, especially due to the heavy (chaotic) traffic around, so we ended up taking a taxi. The hotel itself consist of several so called terrace houses, meaning 5-10 rooms in a row with it's own terrace in the front. The rooms we're really clean and well maintained. In between the houses there was green lawns, that were also well maintained. There is an attachment being built next door with multi-floor buildings. The service at the front desk (which was strangely situated in the corridor of the main building) was good and professional without being anything extra ordinary. There was an italian restaurant in the garden that we didn't try out except for buying beer to drink at the pool next to the restaurant. The pool, that was big enough to have a refreshing swim,was surrounded with sun chairs. We tried out the restaurant in the evening. The buffet served contained both international as some local dishes so it suits everyone. It was good but a bit expensive, however, it's hassle free and you may need a peaceful place after a hectic day at the pyramides. The only negative things about the hotel was the fact that you had to pay extra for the wifi and then the service in front of the hotel. The corruption and bakshees seemed to have spread to the security personnel as they required "black money" from our taxi we'd ordered to pick us up. This because we hadn't ordered our car through the hotel. I also had the feeling that the porters tried to get bakshees only for their kindness that should be standard in a hotel of this class.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inassultan, Quality Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Cairo - Pyramids, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.We really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, However we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you had encountered during your stay in our hotel, On the other hand, all your valuable comments "negative or positive" had been forwarded and discussed with all concerned to improve, review and also for immediate corrective and preventive actions for our future guests not to be subject to similar inconveniences. So on behalf of all the Moevenpick Pyramids team we are all thankful and grateful for bringing these shortcomings to our attention.
Therefore, We would like to thank you for giving us another chance to extend you our true excellence in hospitality hopping that the above can meet your satisfaction

Best Regards

Inas Sultan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed at the Movenpick with a group on a sales incentive trip. There were 17 team members in total. The hotel is fine however not the best that we have stayed at. Rooms are neat and clean but are straight out of the 80s requiring major renovation. The staff at hand is helpful however would not win any service excellence awards anytime soon.

All in all an average hotel, since we went in the off-season, the price was good and we were close to the Pyramids though very far from Cairo which considering the traffic difficulties made for some major time spent commuting.

Nonetheless the with the Movenpick what you see is what you get... an average hotel which is fine for its price point.

Room Tip: Rooms need to be renovated... be sure to check yours and demand a better one if you get the more &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inassultan, Quality Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Cairo - Pyramids, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards .We really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and
On the other hand, all your valuable comments "negative or positive" had been forwarded and discussed with all concerned to improve, review and also for immediate corrective and preventive actions for our future guests not to be subject to similar inconveniences. So on behalf of all the Moevenpick Pyramids team we are all thankful and grateful for bringing these shortcomings to our attention
We look forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel and we hope then that we could have the pleasure of making your stay even more enjoyable

Best Regards

Inas sultan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were collected from the airport by the Kuoni rep and on the way to hotel were pressured into booking trips , we ask if we could wait untill we got back to the hotel, relax then decide but was told no , so we picked where we wanted to go etc , the rep then ask a family the same thing , the family asked if they could decide later too which he said yes !! great start hey !. we arrived and checked in. The Movenpick is large clean hotel with many restaurants. We were booked for bed and breakfast. Our room was a good size and clean. Flatscreen tv and also internet access (which was at an extra charge). large wardrobe space. large sliding doors leading to a nice little area with table and chairs to chill out in. Slept well - quiet and beds were comfortable. There is a lovely large swimming pool and warm water , very chilled out place to be clean towels and attendant on hand. places to eat near by. toilets shower in close proximity. nice maintained gardens around the hotel complex had a nice choice of food in the the resturant. On our furst full day we met the rep and were informed due to the lack of people going we had to pay excess of £60 for the trips we were pressured into booking ! not our problem sorry , so we cancelled the trips we booked and decided we could go by ourselves and for cheaper ! we were not happy and made this clear and were ready to complain , we sorted things and went on our trips ... but again the guide took us to a papyrus museum not on our tour high pressure sales over priced painted paper. This all leaves a bad taste if you dont want these extra trips - please say so from the start. The Pyarmids, Cairo museum, Citadel, Memphis , Saqqara are a must see!! Bring water hat, shades and tippy money... damn it !
The Movenpick Hotel is a really nice place. Ireally liked it there ! Thank you ...
Return flight home we took a BMI flight best flight to date ! plane new looking. State of the art entertainment ! Great choice of film too ! nice food lovely staff....if doing duel Cairo /Nile cruise do the Cairo bit first ....then chill on the Nile !!! ....highlights the hotel, trips, sun - low points...tipping , extra excursions which not on the agreed itinerary - may appeal to some but not for us - don't like being pressured and intimidated into buying tat!!..... otherwise i would go back again ....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inassultan, Quality Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Cairo - Pyramids, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing The Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids

We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

However we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you had encountered during your stay in our hotel, On the other hand, all your valuable comments "negative or positive" had been forwarded and discussed with all concerned to improve, review and also for immediate corrective and preventive actions for our future guests not to be subject to similar inconveniences. So on behalf of all the Moevenpick Pyramids team we are all thankful and grateful for bringing these shortcomings to our attention.
We really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and
We look forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel and we hope then that we could have the pleasure of making your stay even more enjoyable
Best Regards

Inas Sultan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moevenpick Hotel Cairo - Pyramids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Hotel Cairo - Pyramids

Address: Alexandria Road | PO Box 1, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Giza
#14 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Hotel Cairo - Pyramids 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Giza at the foot of the Pyramids lies the Moevenpick Resort. Designed as a bungalow village set in luxuriant gardens, the complex is the ideal venue for business meetings or unforgettable holidays. Just 25 minutes from Cairo and with easy access to the new industrial areas around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Moevenpick Hotel Cairo - Pyramids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Cairo - Pyramids Hotel Giza
Moevenpick Hotel Cairo - Pyramids Egypt/Giza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Hotel Cairo - Pyramids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.