We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Up to the Company's Standard” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moevenpick Resort Cairo - Pyramids

Save Saved
You added Moevenpick Resort Cairo - Pyramids to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moevenpick Resort Cairo - Pyramids
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Alexandria Road | PO Box 1, Giza, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 36 hotels in Giza
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not Up to the Company's Standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a fine hotel with great proximity to the pyramids (you can see them from the street). But it falls short of the other hotels of its name. The health club is actually not at the hotel but is a private building next door. The children's' play area and putt-putt course might as well not exist and the rooms are average. The food is pretty good and there is a decent Thai restaurant in the place if you want to skip the buffet. The pool was nice and clean but too cold to use during December. Overall, it is a fine place to stay but not one of the nicest places in Egypt.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are in a bad spot as most open to a courtyard. It isnt a large resort like other M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    166
    98
    28
    8
See reviews for
79
165
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel Nov. 24 to Nov. 27 2012 in order to visit the pyramids, Cairo Museum and Sphinx. Hotel was great and staff very accommodating. Excellent location to use as a base of day trips out to see various sights.
We were there during the demonstrations at Tahrir square. We felt very safe and there were few tourists at any of the locations we visited.

Room Tip: Because smoking is so pervasive be sure to book non-smoking accommodations. However, be prepared th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

A good location for visiting the Pyramids with entrance to Giza Plateau being only a few minutes away.
Rooms our party had were fine with comfortable beds and clean.
Only had breakfasts whilst there which had a pretty good choice of dishes, though the egg chef didn't seem to be on duty when most of the hotels guests were having their breakfast just showing up around 8.00 a.m. when most guests had already left for their days sightseeing.
Getting a cup of Tea or coffee seemed beyond their abilities when returning in the afternoons too. I suspect with tourist numbers being very low staff numbers had been lowered too.
However I should like to single out the concierge who was most helpful.
There is a bank (not the best exchange rate being offered) and a small gift shop at the hotel.
We spent our evening meals from this hotel, with the best meal being at Mena House.
Although the stay there was fine for what we needed, it is not a hotel I feel I could recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed in this supposed 4 star hotel - it is not - looks nice when you enter the reception area, the dining room inside is all fine too, food is okay couldn't complain at all. but the rooms or so called bungalows are another matter we had room 210 the room was poorly cleaned, the bed mad incorrectly, there was a previous occupants head grease on the headboard, stains on the bedding, rotting wood in the bathroom, cracks in walls, no bath mat, tv did not work - shall I go on - no but I will just to say we did not check the patio doors of the bungalow, each bungalow has these doors out onto a patio area to sit at - room 210's doors had been broken into and not repaired - lucky for us we took all of our valuables with us, but who knows what might have been there after we got back from dinner had we left anything ie camera etc. Hotel management thought it was amusing when I mentioned it the following morning - no wonder people have stuff stolen at Movenpick - see other reviews about this. I have written to Movenpick in Switzerland who were reporting my comments to the hotel but heard nothing further. - I understand The Oberoi is fabulous.

Room Tip: Don't bother - look for another hotel - I understand the Oberoi is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel had great customer service, food and other options (such as restaurants, breakfast, and tour options).
Hani, one of the hotel drivers, picked us up from the airport with no problems finding us. He is very knowledgeable of the city and region as a whole and is able to offer rides to other tour trips that you can create (e.g. to Alexandria). His conversation about the current situation in Egypt and the city itself was very entertaining, informative, and valuable.
Mahmoud, one of the evening receptionists, was very accommodating, professional and helpful with anything that we asked. The whole staff made us feel welcome and tried to address any inquiries we had.
Breakfast was good and there was a variety of choice available. We personally stuck with the egg station, bread and yogurt formula and were satisfied until lunch. For dinner, the Thai restaurant was ON POINT!!! Good food from a bonafide Thai cook.
If you do not like the food at the hotel, there are many other hotels you can walk to or go to the Felfela restaurant for felafel or shwarma.
The room itself was very nice. We don't smoke but we upgraded to a king bed (smoking room was only available) and we smelled no signs of smoke in the bungalow.

If we go back to Egypt, we'd most definitely book more nights there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently and stayed in one of the bungalows. It was very
spacious and the bathroom was well appointed. Breakfast was adequate, but the highlight
for us was the Thai restaurant. We had excellent red curry on two occasions. The pyramids
are only about five minutes away (depending on the traffic)!!! Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Stay in the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

we stayed at the Movenpick Cairo for 2 nights before flying down to Aswan for our cruise on Lake Nasser. This hotel is perfectly placed to visit the pyramids. It is clean and bed was confortable, but the food is plain and boring and the service was poor in the restaurant and even worse in the reception. I would not want to stay any longer than the two nights at this hotel, and would recommend anyone going stay in cairo to look up another option.

Room Tip: all bungalows, and are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moevenpick Resort Cairo - Pyramids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moevenpick Resort Cairo - Pyramids

Address: Alexandria Road | PO Box 1, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Giza
#12 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Moevenpick Resort Cairo - Pyramids 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short distance from Giza at the foot of the Pyramids lies the Moevenpick Resort. Designed as a bungalow village set in luxuriant gardens, the complex is the ideal venue for business meetings or unforgettable holidays. Just 25 minutes from Cairo and with easy access to the new industrial areas around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Moevenpick Resort Cairo - Pyramids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Cairo - Pyramids Hotel Giza
Moevenpick Hotel Cairo Pyramids
Moevenpick Resort Cairo - Pyramids Egypt/Giza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moevenpick Resort Cairo - Pyramids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.