We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday in Egypt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon Pyramids Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Horizon Pyramids Hotel to your Saves list
Horizon Pyramids Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 Pyramids st, Giza 12111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Giza
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“holiday in Egypt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Thanks to Mohammed and Farid who made our trip the best time we could possibly have in the week we stayed in Egypt. this was down to their great organising of our daily excursions and their ideas to give us the best holiday we could have for the time that we were there for. Thanks guys. I would recommend this place to everyone..

Louis and Annie

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    65
    43
    24
    10
See reviews for
31
57
31
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We lazed by the pool, got a free chocolate milkshake, slept in when we wanted despite being in a room that overlooked a busy road and our every want and need was pandered to by every member of staff. One man at the gift shop ran off down the road on a mission to get me another adaptor as the one he'd sold me from the shop didnt work. Mohammed from the tour desk chatted to us everyday like we were great mates. Shariff, our driver (organised for us by Mohammed) took us absolutely anywhere we wanted to go with much tourist information, tips and advice and local knowledge given, all together with boundless charm and compliments paid our way haha.
As me and my friend went in the aftermath of the revolution and unrest in Egypt there were obviously way less tourists than Cairo is used to. The only bad side to this that we noticed was maybe that the hawkers on the streets were more pushy having less customers to gain their income (though i know theyre quite bad anyway) Also the pair of us stood out immensly being a blonde and ginger with blue eyes, but however much the men gawk at you and shout praise and admiration of your appearance at you in whatever european language they can think of, they never touch or grab at you. So although intimidating at the begining, by the end of our trip we almost expected it and had had more marrige proposals than we could count on our fingers. so a confidence boost at least. :P
Anyhow, we had a great stay, made all the more memorable by Mohammed and Shariff who gave us a great laugh everytime he drove us about Cairo.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

It's taken me a long time to get around to doing this, but I promised Shariffe that we would, so we stayed at the end of March 2012. We weren't fussy over the hotel, my friend Erin wanted to stay in a hostel and I wanted safety and comfort - so we settled for something in between. The hotel itself was bright and cheerful, with attentive staff. There obviously weren't many people there - we didn't see any English tourists for our whole stay, so they seemed to be overly attentive because of this.
We only ate in the hotel on one evening, in the bar on the first floor which overlooks the fountains at the front. It was perfectly nice. The rest of the time we ate from local venders - a really nice kebab place about 30 yards from the hotel with really good falaffals. We ate fresh fruit for breakfast etc. Our driver Shariffe always sorted out lunch for us.
One of the belboys ushered us to the tour desk and a very helpful Mohammed talked us through the tours we could go on. We went to the pyramids in Giza for a very reasonable price (around 30 USD for both of us I think it was) - this was on our first day so we were totally ripped off when we got there, language barrier was an issue. On the same day we went to the temple of the steps and the Imhotep Museum, which was great, again, there were no tourists there, so it was a little eerie. Shariffe was great and tried to tell us as much info as possible about everything. We were fast friends by the end of day one. We went out with Shariffe on three of the days during our 5 day visit, each day a very reasonable price. I managed to sell my best friend to Shariffe for 500 camels, a very reasonable price!
One thing I would say, if you are a woman going to Egypt alone, be prepared to be leered at like mad, every single man you walk past will make a comment about your appearance, tell you they love you, or even whisper '5 million camels' under their breath. This takes a couple of days to get used to, but it just made us laugh in the end. Ignore them and pretend to be flattered - that's all you can do!
Anyway, to conclude, eat out locally, ask for Shariffe to drive you about and ignore leery men, you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

So loud you can't sleep even with ear plugs in. The food at one of our breakfasts was stale and moldy bread with rotten eggs. Showers go from freezing to scalding in a second with no warning. Only upside to this hotel is the wonderful staff!

Room Tip: Don't believe them when they say that higher up is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

The hotel is excellent with service, food & service. Security is great and good support from toursim police in case of any problem. Staff friendly and Hotel Taxi is expensive and if you think it's hard for you to have taxi from outisde then you can contact Mohammed Ismael at Hotel Taxi counter.

But if you can manage outside taxi somehow it will damn cheap and can have cost cutting with a Meter Taxi ( with no cheating in rates)

Over all Great and recommended hotel and i would prefer same hotel for future trips.

Room Tip: The outside main road balcony is great but noisy from the street traffic but you see pyramid from ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The hotel was clean, good size bedroom, small bathroom though, and close proximity to the pyramids(as we could see the pyramids in the distance from our balcony when the pollution and smog permitted). The breakfast and dinner buffet offered a vast selection, and was included in the room rate. However, the most spectacular feature of the hotel is the car service located in the lobby area. They helped us plan our entire visit with a private guide/driver for a really reasonable price. You need only to tell them what you want to see and accomplish while you there, and they will personalize an itinerary from beginning to end, completely worry free! Initially, we were concerned about having a guide/driver who spoke English well enough to understand. That fear was completely dispelled when we met our guide/driver Farid. We can't say enough positive things about Farid. He is absolutely AMAZING! Egyptian born, with great communicative English. He was professional with a genuine interest in our safety and making our first visit to Egypt a lasting memory. Farid was probably by far the best reason to book at this hotel! For him it wasn't just about receiving a tip(as it is for many Egyptians in the business of tourism), surprisingly he declined daily tips and kindly requested we waited to the end of our 4 days with him to determine if we thought his service was tip worthy! Unheard of in Cairo, where everyone is after you for money! If you visit Cairo, Farid is a must hire driver!!!

Room Tip: Request higher floors, as you can see from the balcony the pyramids in the distance(when the polluti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

Due to the current situation in Egypt, my wife and I almost didn't make this trip. Luckily, we decided it was worth the risk as it would be our first time visiting this country. We chose to stay in Giza instead of Cairo to avoid potential demonstrations. To play it extra safe we also decided to book tours through the hotel instead of venturing out alone as we would normally do. The hotel itself was fine but the tours were obviously the highlight of our trip. I believe the company is GPT (Golden Pyramid Tours?) - from the booking desk managers Ahmed and Mohammed, to our guide and drivers Sabry, Peter and Farid. They welcomed us like friends and made us feel comfortable and safe in an otherwise relatively unfriendly time to be visiting Egypt. And for that we would not hesitate to recommend their services or use them ourselves again the next time we should find ourselves in Egypt!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horizon Pyramids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Pyramids Hotel

Address: 198 Pyramids st, Giza 12111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Giza
#15 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Pyramids Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the land of pharaohs where they built the pyramids and only 10 minutes away, Horizon Pyramids Hotel is there brand new and built proudly aside to this wonder, in which most of the rooms have a pyramids view. And only 20 minutes away from down town, you can visit the most magnificent sightseeing in Cairo. Not only that, it’s just 7 KM away from the world famous Egyptian Museum with its innumerable ancient artifacts and, of course, the ‘must see’ incomparable Tutankhamun death mask and other relics. Horizon Pyramids Hotel is a hotel that can offer you a new perspective on your destination and on the way you can see all things around you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Horizon Pyramids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyramids Hotel Giza
Horizon Pyramids Hotel Egypt/Giza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon Pyramids Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.