We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel very close to pyramids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Remaya Square | Pyramids, Giza 12561, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Giza
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel very close to pyramids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Great view of the pyramids from your room if you pay extra but worth it to open the curtains in the morning! Excellent fitness and spa facilities. Room a bit small for the price, but you pay for the location.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, General Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your letter following your recent stay at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel and staff are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    513
    211
    88
    58
See reviews for
295
547
104
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We gave three star to this Meridien Hotel, only and only because of their rich and delicious cuisine ! We were a party of 7 and every morning and evening we tackled with restaurant staff to bring two tables together ! 4 times, two of our rooms were blocked and when we requested a technician, we were politely (!) invited to the reception to identify ourselves (Egyptian security measures ! they don't think to come up and ask our ID's for confirmation.) While fighting to have our rooms to be opened, some overpolite (!) Japanese tourists, were in front of their rooms waiting an electrician to fix their blown fuses ... Final issue is about the air conditioning ; This is a Meridien but you can not "condition" the air, it only blows the cold air.

Tourism may be second to other activities for this hotel since, every evening there was one or two weddings in the hotel

All we are saying here is about the state of the hotel only. Otherwise, apart from the lasyness of the restaurant staff, Egyptian people is probably one of the loveliest and most hospitable in the World. Nothing to say about the country, in addition to a breathtaking monuments gallery it owns the only surviving Wonder of the World (Pyramid of Keops).

Anyhow, in order not to feel yourselves as if staying in a room of XIX. Egyptian Dynasty (!), absolutely request one of the refurbished rooms.

Room Tip: Stay only in refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your letter following your recent stay at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel and Spa.

I would like to assure you that action has already been taken as a result of your comments. Staff in the Food & Beverage and Front Office Departments have been reminded of their responsibilities and duties towards our guests, and of the need to maintain our usual high standards at all times.

It is my hope that these events will not permanently mar your opinion of our hotel and that you will return to us again, when I am sure you will remember your stay for all the right reasons. Should you decide to do so, I would appreciate you contacting my office.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This place is ideal for a good mix between convenience and average price. I particularly like the fact that the pyramids are really close by. The breakfast is also very exciting with a large continental and mid-eastern selection.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienPyramids1, Manager at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your letter following your recent stay at Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel and Spa.

Your kind comments regarding our hotel are very much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

Looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loutraki, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This would be the place if you don't have great expectations and service. For a few days you will survive. For more, find another place.
+:
Green gardens, nice trees, good place to have a safe walk.
Really excellent: sauna, jacuzzi, steam bath, gym, and a pool with a glass wall.
Excellent pyramids observation point where you can have a drink, too, on top of the pool.
No bugs, they use an atomizer for mosquito control.
Inside the hotel is a bank office opened 24h.
Weddings are a good show :)
-:
Overall it looks a bit old, furniture, beds, towels..
Breakfast personnel needs more training, to be more polite.The breakfast is a mess...Glasses are small, need to make 5 trips to get your drinks till you finish. Food is sometimes too hot or too cold. Need to walk around the serving guys having a chat on your way. Dishes are today in a place, tomorrow in another, you need a scout's abilities.
Need to buy something? Is quite far. If you are strong enough, close to hotel are a lot of shops good to visit if you want to feel the real local spirit.
Rooms are dark, bloody red color. Some carpets are dirty. Bathrooms are good.
Located next to a cross-road, it is noisy in the night and you can feel the car's smoke all the time.
Wireless is slowly and only in the Reception area.

Solution for internet access: buy a USB stick from Vodafone/Etisalat/Mobinil and a pre-paid pack of 100LE, a few Gb. Will be an excellent and cheap choice.

Room Tip: Wanna see the pyramids, well, first row is not good because you will get all the noise and cars'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days and it was a drive from the airport. It was a great location for the Giza Pyramids and the light and sound show. Now the hotel: it was fairly quiet, large hotel, large breakfast buffet. Wish more activity in the evening since that is the only place you go unless you are on a tour. The pool wasn't open yet. We did enjoy our room. Plenty of space for our family of three.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We arrived by private taxi at the hotel late at night, the first part of a multi centre holiday to include Cairo, Luxor and a Nile river cruise, .and were greeted by a friendly door man who took us straight to the check in desk, where upon five minutes late we were in our room sipping a cocktail.
Though the room had a fantastic view over towards the Giza Pyramids and hotel pool complex, there were some renovation works being carried out right below our balcony, which, although not noisy, were an eyesore.
The service from everyone was impeccable as was the food which was reasonably priced and tasty, though the Drinks were short measures and very expensive.
The outside pool restaurant was a fantastic romantic venue for my wife and I, and the staff were great.
My wife had a birthday on the second day of the stay, and two of the hotel staff brought a birthday cake to our room unnexpectedly and for free.
This holiday was booked prior to the revolution and we arrived about a fortnight after it had calmed down, but everywhere and everyone was friendly, and though we had guides to go everywhere, they were unobtrusive and very accomodating about everything.
I would certainly go again and stay here, but not for the tight budget.
Very central for the Pyramids and Sphinx, but Central Cairo city is some drive away especially in the traffic.

Room Tip: Tip....tip everyone once at the beginning. Hire a private guide from the hotel desk, there are plen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

the hotel is pretty big itself and the room i stayed in was very comfortable. spacious as well but i wouldnt say that the service was exceptional, so for the price you're paying, you may be better off at novotel. the hotel is close to the city centre so it's easy to get to the airport if you have an early morning flight, but other than that, i wouldnt recommend this hotel.

there is,however, a money changer inside the hotel itself with good rates compared to other places in cairo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa

Address: El Remaya Square | Pyramids, Giza 12561, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#4 Spa Hotel in Giza
#5 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#6 Family Hotel in Giza
#7 Business Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 1 Kilometer from the Great Pyramids of Giza, Sole survivors of the seven wonders of the World & Only 20 minutes from the City Center,this majestic resort brings you the World right at the Heart of Cairo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Giza
Giza Le Meridien
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa Egypt/Giza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.