We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with amazing services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Remaya Square | Pyramids, Giza 12561, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Giza
4.0 of 5 stars 1,404 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with amazing services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed at Le Meridian Pyramid hotel for 8 days [ 4 rooms ]. We can see the pyramids just outside of the hotel. It is a modern hotel; we probably get the new refurbished wing. One of our rooms has a pool-view while the rest face a street with some nice houses across. Security seems tight; sniffer dog at the main gate and X-ray machines with security personnel at the hotel entry per se. The bed and linens are super comfortable; white, clean and soft.

The staffs at the restaurant are very friendly and approachable. They made effort to remember our seating preference [ there were 9 of us plus an infant ]

The breakfast buffet is open from 0330-1000hrs. It is a combination of traditional Egyptian and western food, with the usual juices and hot beverages. Dessert includes yogurt and fruits

Downside: rather expensive internet rate i.e. L.E 115 per day. There are some touts waiting to provide taxi services just outside the hotel. Saying "No! Thank you!!" to them repeatedly and politely usually works.

Note: there are a few shops lining the street where you can purchase bottled drinks and snacks. We bought our supplies from a petrol station.
We discovered a great restaurant selling Egyptian/ Western meals called “GAD Restaurant” which is about a kilometre away from our hotel. We loved walking along the street to go there.

Room Tip: "Non-smoker" rooms are located on the second floor. Opt for pool view as it is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    513
    211
    88
    58
See reviews for
295
547
104
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

you can see the Pyramids when beside the swimming pool.
nice breakfast, a lot of choices
we were lucky enough to watch a wedding ceremony during staying there

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stayed at this hotel with 10 friends for three days from 6th November 2011 before going onto Luxor. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Hotel facilities were excellent with great views of the pyramids from the pool area. All staff were friendly and attentive. Ask the concierge for local restaurants, trips etc he was very very knowledgeable as a result had we had a thoroughly great time. All of us without hesitation would stay at the Le Meridien Pyramids again. Great atmosphere!!

Room Tip: Ask for a Pyramid view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I was very pleased with the hotel and it's location. Great view of the pyramids from the pool area. Ask for a room in the newly refurbished side of the hotel.

Arrange a taxi or group tour to nearby sites. You can walk to the pyramids if you like, about 10 minutes away on foot, 2 minutes by taxi. Plan on a full day at the pyramids. Try to avoid eye contact with any unwanted vendors trying to sell you or "give" you something at the pyramids. You will be pestered by vendors once you arrive, they will continue to pester you throughout the day. Try not to engage the vendors in unwanted advances.

Not a lot of dining options in the area. The hotel has pretty good food. There are a few other hotels a short walk Southwest of the hotel along the main road with some good food options.

The Mena House Oberoi hotel has amazing food, adjacent to the pyramids. A converted palace. You should check out this hotel for food. The price per night is very high, much higher than Le Meridien.

Egypt is amazing but not a good place for children, although Le Meridien felt very safe and accomodating. I probably will not return to Egypt, but if I do, I will stay here again. Cairo is a congested mess, stay in Giza.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newly refurbished side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

a very nice hotel , lovely pool, pyramids views, i can see pyramids from my room as if you there if i can describe, if i can describe the whole hotel, will not give all what i feel, i was not see the hotel before but i feel that next trip to Cairo will be this hotel, specially it is very calm.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed 4 nights in The Meridian Pyramids then left for 1 1/2 weeks and came back to stay 1 night before flying out of Egypt. During our first stay we were given a room in the old section of the hotel facing a busy street with a balcony. Cars like to use their horns in Cairo so anyone that is a light sleeper might want to request a room away from the street. We did not have a view of the pyramids as some in our group did. I found the room to be comfortable if in urgent need of an update.(very worn) Everything was in working order and I sort of enjoyed the older vibe of the room. It was a smoking room and I am highly sensitive to smoke so I was surprised that I smelled no traces of cigarettes in the bedding etc. They do have a non-smoking floor available. During our 1 night stay we were given a room in the new section of the hotel(no pyramid view) and were very surprised at how modern and updated the room was. Everything was fresh and new and extremely comfortable. This too was a smoking room but again I smelled no traces of smoke. All of the staff at this hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. We were always greeted with a smile and felt like they were very happy to have us there. The restaurant food was the best we tasted in our 2 weeks in Egypt. They have an enormous breakfast buffet each day (served from 3:30am to 10:00am) as well as a huge dinner buffet each evening. Plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables as well as meat dishes. The dessert assortment was delicious and hard to pass up. Lunch is available at the bar in the pool area. This hotel seemed well booked and very busy the entire time we were there. There was a wedding every night where the wedding party would dance in the lobby prior to going upstairs to the reception. This hotel is approximately 45 minutes from the airport depending on the traffic. We will stay again at this hotel upon our return to Egypt and be sure to request a room in the new section.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Before we came I read the reviews on here and commented that it looked like 2 different hotels. The reason for this was clear after a bit of a poke around in the hotel. If you get a newly refurbed room then the hotel is awesome, if you get an old room it's a bit run down. I emailed them and made sure we got a new room.
The new rooms are really nice and what one would expect, the pool is good, views are great (better than I expected), staff very friendly, couldn't really ask for more and not expensive. One tip is book a guide before you go, we used a guy called emad who is reviewed on here, he picked us up from the airport and gave us 2 days of tours, MUCH better than avoiding all of the scams etc!

Room Tip: get a new room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa

Address: El Remaya Square | Pyramids, Giza 12561, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Giza
#4 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#5 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#6 Family Hotel in Giza
#7 Business Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 641
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than 1 Kilometer from the Great Pyramids of Giza, Sole survivors of the seven wonders of the World & Only 20 minutes from the City Center,this majestic resort brings you the World right at the Heart of Cairo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Giza
Giza Le Meridien
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa Egypt/Giza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.