We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay for the Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Safir Hotel Cairo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Safir Hotel Cairo to your Saves list
Safir Hotel Cairo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Missaha Square | P.O. Box 138 Orman, Dokki, Giza 11211, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Giza
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay for the Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at check-in with complimentary fruit drinks, guava in our case. And they were delicious. We arrived after taking the night train from Luxor and were able to check in early without any issues - unlike the Intercontinental which did not let us check in early. So that was a plus right there for Safir. Room was okay, nothing special, definitely not 5-star if taken by western standards. Wifi only worked in the lobby. We opted for dinner at the buffet since there wasn't much around to each other than McDonald's. The buffet was just okay. It wasn't every expensive so I guess you get what you pay for. The location of Safir is not great. You would need to take a taxi everywhere. But I guess that pretty much goes for any hotel in Cairo since public transportation there sucks or nonexistence. Also haggling with taxi drivers throughout Egypt is a pain in the rear. However, when we asked the front desk about having to go to the airport early the next morning. The staff was able to schedule us a taxi at a fair price. The staff also had ready for us two breakfast boxes. That extra service really made our stay at Safir memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    117
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
52
88
29
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Lima, MG
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The best breakfast we had on this trip, really good!!
Clean and comfortable room. Helpfull staff.
Great oriental restaurant, great lounge bar with live music, alcoholic drinks, beers and wines. Great lobby bar with coffee, snacks, and sandwichs.
Sauna, swimming pool, jacuzzi and massage service.
Wi fi works just at the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kit Carson, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My daughter had been studying in Cairo for almost a year, so a friend and I (American women in our 50's) recently joined her in Cairo for several days. We chose this hotel because it was near her apartment building and also because it received excellent reviews. We weren't disappointed. Excellent, friendly, and helpful staff, nice business center, free Wi-Fi, beautiful spa, and very nice pool with outdoor café, plenty of lounge chairs and several cabanas, and a decent play area for children. Besides the outdoor café (where we ordered an excellent dinner of fish and rice one evening), there's an Asian restaurant, indoor café for a quick sandwich and desserts, and yet another restaurant/club with indoor/outdoor dining & live entertainment where you can get pizzas, etc. into the wee hours. You can purchase wine and other alcoholic beverages at any of the food outlets. They also serve a wonderful full breakfast buffet-style...it's huge with omelets made to order, numerous other hot dishes (including at least two kinds of sausages & French toast) and another table laden with fruit, cheeses, meats, and pastries. Check out the huge slice of honeycomb near the toast...amazing! The desserts in the lobby café are incredible. The sweet and sour chicken in the Asian restaurant was quite good and the spring rolls were quite possibly the BEST I've ever had. The lobby of this hotel is beautiful and has multiple seating areas. There's a piano player in the evening, a full-service travel/tour agent available, and a small bank outlet where you can change money, plus two small gift shops. We stayed two separate times over the course of 12 days, and both times our rooms were very nice with a stocked mini-fridge, complimentary coffee, tea and water, and a new TV. Very clean. The A/C worked great and water pressure was very good. The beds seemed small by American standards; larger than a twin, but smaller than full-size? Definitely not queen-sized. We each had our own bed; two large people would find sharing one bed fairly uncomfortable, I would think. They were very comfortable, however. Elevators were plentiful and we never waited long. At some point during our stay, the staff called our room just to make sure we were satisfied with everything. This hotel is located in Dokki, Giza near the pyramids, the Sphinx, and the Citadel, and it's a short cab ride to the opera and the Nile, where you'll find a plethora of nice restaurants and can cruise up and down the Nile on a felucca (they're so beautiful at night!). You'll always find plenty of taxis waiting outside and most drivers speak English quite well. Taxis are reasonable and have meters (make sure you ask before you get in if your taxi has a meter; if the driver doesn't have one, or says its broken, get another cab). A one-way ride in a taxi to the airport should cost about $25 to $30 U.S. If you find yourself longing for something American, Pizza Hut and McDonalds are just around the corner, or get a cab to Grizzlies' 50's Diner & Mrs. Field's cookies. Also right across the street is a pharmacy and another popular restaurant called Cilantros. One more thing: it's a very short walk (about 3 blocks) to the metro (subway) station. You can ride for one Egyptian pound and it will take you directly to the Giza train station if you're wanting to take the night train to Luxor. It's also easy to reach the Cairo Museum (with it's fabulous display of King Tut's treasures) on the Metro; it drops you about a block away. We rode the metro several times and never had a problem (there are several cars reserved for women, which is nice). I should add that though this hotel is near a major street (where you catch the Metro), it's on a quieter side-street. Our rooms were very quiet, though it is possible to faintly hear the regular Islamic call to prayer, as you will all over Egypt. Seems as though many businessmen from around the world stay here, as well as families. As American women traveling alone, we felt absolutely safe and most welcome here and in this neighborhood. We highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 315...overlooking the pool and right off the elevator, but very quiet. Room 326...at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here 1 night as a treat after mostly basic accommodations. It was located in a relatively quiet location in Cairo and a nice respite from the mayhem, noise and horns tooting, leading to a very peaceful night's sleep. The bed was large and very comfortable and the shower very good pressure although water temperature fluctuated. Fantastic buffet spread for breakfast. The hotel staff were friendly and very happy to extend our checkout by a few hours at no extra cost and were able to arrange taxis/tours. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Good value for a 5 star hotel compared to what you'd pay in some countries!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed two times in this hotel in March 13 and April 2013, the hotel located in a very nice and calm area in Cairo (Dokki area). The hotel is located in a good area in a residential neighborhood, but on a main street. It's easy to find and close to everything in the city.

I will try to summarize my feedback as follows:

- Food was very good, breakfast is really huge, cold buffet in one room and hot buffet in another.
- Room: I had pool view room, the room was really nice with a beautiful view, clean, big and comfort with the king side bed, excellent bathroom and small balcony.
- The staff was very helpful, professional, polite and friendly, seriously, they know how to serve you efficiently and make you happy.
- Lobby is nice, crowded all the time you will enjoy the wedding if you are there on Friday.
- Value for money, is completely good, the hotel is not expensive compare to great value you will get.
- Wifi is not included in the room rate and is charged at 150 EGP (about 20 USD) and not wireless only cable (is the only negative thing I found in this hotel) the WiFi is available in reception which was fast, pool a welcome oasis - If you can't do without a stable Internet connection just buy a Mobinil line and use the internet. (Remember don’t forget your passport to buy the SIM card, and Mobinil shop is just next to you).
- Never take any of the taxis waiting right outside of the hotel. they don’t use the meter and will charge you four or five times the actual cost of the journey. Just ignore them if they call out to you. Walk out to the main road

wonderfully hospitable hotel which will always be remembered and recommended for its friendly staff.

Room Tip: try the pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

stayed there for a week and it was a wonderful hotel .. just only problem was the lack of professionalism of the staff "very common in egyptian hotels" but the hotel management tries its best
still the best place I've stayed in there

Room Tip: if you face any problem just hit to the hotel manager (usually you will find him wandering in the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Lanes, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I recently spent over two weeks at the Safir in the Giza section of Cairo. The rooms are clean and neat. There were some mechanical problems (air-conditioning and leaking plumbing), which required me to move twice. However, the Staff showered me and my companion with fruit, pastries and flowers after the inconvenience. It would serve as a great hotel for business, family or just friends. Iman, the Guest Relations Manager was wonderful. The doormen and bellhops very friendly and helpful. The hotel buffets are real treats. I was treated like family by waiter named Mohammed. Foods are available from all over the world. It has an asian restaurant with a cordial staff. I was particularly impressed with the laundry and the valet service too. I would look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: There are two views. One of a small park and one of the pool. I preferred the park view. On a cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Safir Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safir Hotel Cairo

Address: El Missaha Square | P.O. Box 138 Orman, Dokki, Giza 11211, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#4 Family Hotel in Giza
#4 Business Hotel in Giza
#5 Romantic Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Safir Hotel Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Safir Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safir Hotel Giza
Safir Hotel Cairo Egypt/Giza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safir Hotel Cairo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.