We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with pool. Location not so good though.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Oasis Hotel to your Saves list
Oasis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cairo-Alexandria Desert Road, Giza 12556, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Giza
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with pool. Location not so good though.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here as part of a tour joining hotel. (so location didn't worry us as we were only here two nights). I was surprised to have a nice pool which was welcomed after a hot day sight seeing. Breakfast was plentiful with plenty to choose from. The rooms are a bit dated but were functional, clean and tidy. There are heaps of Blocks of rooms spread throughout gardens. Nice grassed areas with chairs/tables dotted around for you to sit outside your room. Food was good from the restaurant for dinner and beer and non alcoholic drinks are available. The only thing i found disappointing is it is a long way from any shops/restaurants etc; so you have to eat at the hotel and the pool closes at 6pm. Taxi to hotel is about 80-90LE from Zamalek (Cairo) to this hotel which is out near the pyramids. There is also an ATM in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    204
    83
    26
    11
See reviews for
84
143
32
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had one night at the Oasis Hotel at the start of September as the first night on our "On the Go" Egypt Tour. The hotel was great in allowing us to check in upon our very early morning arrival after being exhausted travelling all the way from Australia. The room was more like an older fashioned "motel" style room with dated and rather basic furnishings. For the one night this was sufficient for us. After a short sleep we spent the remainder of that first day at the pool. The pool was great. There seemed to be a lot of locals who we assumed were taking advantage of weekend hotel deals given Egyptian tourism is down. Many were sitting around smoking cigarettes and shishas (hookahs) whilst the kids swam - it was a very family-oriented environment. The food available at the pool was predominantly western and of average quality.
Needing to use the hotel computers I found the reception staff not overly welcoming, friendly or helpful. Thankfully our "On the Go" representative and tour guide was extremely helpful and efficient so that helped compensate and also prepared us by explaining many of the local cultural distinctions.
Overall, the hotel seemed OK. However, upon our return to Cairo several days later after travelling to Luxor and Aswan, the tour company put us up at another Giza Hotel, Pyramids Park Resort - which we found to be so much better than the Oasis despite having been similarly rated. We far preferred that hotel.

Room Tip: Since rooms are all on ground level, you need to keep your curtains closed if you don't like peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax NS
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

At first sight, this is not an impressive place as you enter it from the busy highway, but as you walk back to your room, it is really beautiful--all rooms on on one floor spread out amongst a beautifully landscaped topiary. Rooms are sizable, clean, comfortable. Food at the restaurant, snack bar, and second floor Italian restaurant is very good and quite reasonable( salad nicoise at snack bar is wonderful--croque monseiur and madames are not the best, but other food is great). People very friendly and courteous. Mind you, all over Egypt they are craving tourists as it is their main industry and has suffered terribly since the revolution--it is oct 2012--just got back --absolutely NO sense of trouble --at no time felt any sense of fear--very safe--we were on a tour adn this was part of the tour--quite impressive

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet, and away from the road--uniquely pleasant place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, Gujarat, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

It is certainly what it says, an oasis. Far from the city so good to travel if your next destination is alexandria may be, but not if you essentially want to move around cairo. A clean place, but certainly felt like the decor was a little dated. It might be a result of a certainly culture - the prints etc. i mean - but I dint personally identify with. Friendly staff - only one did we have to wait long before someone attended us. Very close to the pyramids so if that your only destination at/around cairo/giza, its perfect location. The pool was great to sit next to in the evenings (I am not a pool person so I rarely jump into one), and I saw a lot of people enjoying it during the day. Its not one of the most brilliant places I have been to, but its a good one certainly. Takes you away from the chaos at cairo if peace is what you are looking for. I did miss a few vegetarian (no fish and not vegan) options on the menu. the breakfast was actually the only meal I looked forward to.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Superb gem, away from the madness of down-town Cairo. Great pool, very clean, and great service including a free shuttle Tahrir Square. Near the pyramids, in beautiful gardens.A peaceful haven to relax, after the hustle and bustle of Cairo and the Pyramids. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourn
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at The Oasis Hotel on Friday 29 September 2012 and fortunately it was only for 1 night. The hotel facilities are excellent - great pool, lovely well tended gardens, heath club, kids playground etc - but the rooms were very old fashioned and tired; although it's fair to say they were spotlessly clean.
The worst part was the service. First we were completely ignored in the pool bar until my wife got up and went to ask if we might possibly have a drink. Then we decided to have a meal. The food was excellent but our started, a single plate of Hummous to share took nearly an hour to arrive and our main almost another hour. The staff were surly and we got the impression they would have preferred us not to interrupt their evening.
Staff at breakfast were not much more helpful giving us a dirty look because we had dared to ask for coffee.
I can certainly see where this hotel has won awards but that was nearly 20 years ago and it shows. I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in one of the "bungalow" style rooms but opt if you can for a room in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We only stayed 1 night at this hotel as part of our trip. It was a nice hotel, rooms were clean, food was good, close to the pyramids (15min drive), 50min from airport. Staff was friendly and unlike other reviews; we didn't have to wait long at all! The pool closes early (sunset, but that's everywhere in Egypt (at least all the places we've been to).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Hotel

Address: Cairo-Alexandria Desert Road, Giza 12556, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Giza
#11 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oasis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis Hotel is located minutes away from the Great Giza Pyramids and Sphinx. It is set within 9 acres of magnificently landscaped garden and features rooms overlooking and a breathtaking palm forest decorated with all that Mother Nature has to offer.The Oasis Hotel is an outstanding combination of resort facilities, Luxury hotel guest rooms & suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oasis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Cairo
Oasis Hotel Egypt/Giza
Oasis Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.