We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location....comfortable, but maybe a little tired” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mena House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mena House Hotel to your Saves list
Mena House Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Pyramids Road, Giza, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Giza
New York
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Fabulous location....comfortable, but maybe a little tired”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is in the very best location for visiting the Pyramids and Sphinx at Giza.....while you are technically in Cairo this is quite far from the downtown area.
The hotel allows smoking in certain sections and the bar and parts of the restaurants.....which contributes, I think, to a general "down at the heels" feeling.
The golf course and part of the hotel were closed for restoration...so we'll have to see.
The room (I was in Garden wing facing pyramids) have great views...and were very comfortable.
The hotel is no longer part of the Oberoi group....so perhaps that is why things don't feel quite so spic and span.....and know that there are often rocking parties and weddings in front of hotel with huge amounts of noise until at least midnight......
Otherwise...excellent base for touring.....Internet only worked in lobby....and even then spotty.....Breakfast was excellent. Indian restaurant good, but not great.

Room Tip: View of Pyramids...but ask for quietest non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    114
    20
    4
    6
See reviews for
95
181
38
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Apparently the oldest hotel in Egypt. I add: among the best!

I was here for a wedding and was thoroughly reminded that Mena House still got it all!! Epic location, friendly and seasoned staff that make you feel like royalty, fine facilities and great cuisine. I had heard that since they separated from Oberoi management things had been going downhill but that is far from true. Last time I was here was in 2010 and it's always the same pleasant experience.

I could come back even to spend a weekend. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you're trying to pick a hotel in Cairo/Giza area....choose this one!!! It used to be a palace and the grounds are utterly gorgeous. It feels amazing staying at such a historic location, which is something you will never feel at a standard hotel.

Breakfast is a dream. Picture yourself sitting down after browsing through the succulent buffet...with a view of the PYRAMIDS!!!! I had to constantly pinch myself to tell myself it was real.

The staff is first class, the rooms are recently updated and beautiful. I've traveled all over the world, but this hotel still holds a special place in my heart.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a group of 16 travel to Egypt, Turkey & Greece on holiday and our first stop was Egypt -Mena House. I was the person doing all the accommodation arrangements for our group and I can confirm that Mena House staff could not do enough for us. They were just fantastic and every email I sent was replied to in a prompt and efficient manner.

Apart from the booking being excellent they also arranged the airport transfers for us and this was exceptional service. We were greeted as soon as we disembarked the plane. There was a representative with my name on a sign and he helped us through the airport customs and ensured we were well looked after. We could not have hoped for such wonderful service.

Just outside customs was our bus waiting for us. They supplied us with not only cold drinks but great service. The bus drivers were our drivers for the remainder of our time in Cairo. They were superb and made sure that we were safe and happy at all times.

Mena House was beyond our expectations. It is just a superb hotel with wonderful staff. I don't think you could find a better hotel in Egypt with such history and very kind and helpful staff.

The restaurants at the hotel are also exceptional. There are a number of eating areas in the hotel, however the BBQ/reflection pool area is divine. A full moon and temperature of 30c is just an extraordinary experience and one you would never ever forget. The Indian restaurant is also wonderful and the Maitre'd is fantastic and will do whatever you require to satisfy your group. If you were a couple you would enjoy it just as much. I can recommend the Tandoori Prawns...Excellent!!
Now for the rooms.............well a couple of us upgraded to the Palace Rooms. These were just simply wonderful and you felt like you could sit on your balcony and almost touch the Pyramids. Amazing.... :) Having said that, if you budget doesn't stretch that far then by all means book the new rooms being the Pyramid View. Our friends in the group who opted for those rooms were very happy. We also visited a couple of the rooms and the view was exquisite.

The pool was just the best in terms of temperature and size/layout that we visited in the whole of not only Egypt, but also in Turkey and Greece. it was just Perfect! The only comment I would make is that you cannot see the Pyramids from the pool.............but lets face it, you are there to swim and sun-bake so it is not disappointing.... And as previously advised, have dinner at the reflection pool area and you will have the most awesome view of the Pyramids.........not to be missed!

I highly recommend the Mena House Hotel and would,without question, stay there again. Just loved it....

NOTE: With regards to the Civil Unrest ............ There is NO SIGN of it apart from the Army presence in the road leading to the Cairo Museum. The Museum however is something not to be missed and allow at least 1/2 day to view it properly. And know that it shuts at 4 pm on the dot!. We had no issues whatsoever with the Army presence.

We feel wholeheartedly for the Egyptian people as the numbers visiting Egypt at this time is very low. From a tourist perspective it is extraordinary to have these amazing places such as the Pyramids virtually to your self. This however is obviously not good for the lovely people of Egypt.

Room Tip: Palace Pyramid and also the Pyramid View in the new section are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarekLotfy2, Director of Marketing at Mena House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. Such words of motivation for the entire team will only help us to strive for excellence.

I am delighted to read that you found services all across the hotel exceptional and we were able to look after you with great care. These words coming from a well travelled guest like yourself will definitely help all our team members to give more than their 100%.

We look forward to having you stay with us whenever you travel to Cairo.

Thank you
Tarek Lotfy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was the hotel of choice on an overnight excursion through Royal Caribbean. The accommodations were above exceptional. My room was large and comfortable, but the best part was walking out onto the balcony and seeing the Giza pyramids right next door in the morning horizon.

The staff was friendly and the food was delicious. I felt like I was a guest in a palace!

Room Tip: ask for anything facing the pyramids
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarekLotfy2, Director of Marketing at Mena House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback and comments on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your generous feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

We look forward to having you stay with us whenever you travel to Cairo.

Thank you
Tarek Lotfy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for three nights in September. What a fantastic location. A peaceful oasis in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Cairo.
Fantastic service, extremely friendly and helpful staff, beautiful pool area to relax.
We will definitely come again.

Room Tip: Choose a pyramid view room for a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarekLotfy2, Director of Marketing at Mena House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback and comments on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your generous feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

We look forward to having you stay with us whenever you travel to Cairo.

Thank you
Tarek Lotfy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Al Manamah, Bahrain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was is simply an amazing hotel right beside the Pyramids !

This hotel is rich in History, and they are very happy to give a tour around every day from 17.00 to 18.00 which was an incredible experience that we really appreciated. The rooms were clean and tidy and overall service was excellent.

The swimming pool is nice and big. We immensely enjoyed the pyramid view, mostly the Italian restaurant by the pool "Alfredo" and "Le Jardin"... both restaurants served great food...the view was stunning plus the service was extraordinary.

I Highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing weekend or if you are a visitor to enjoy the luxury and history of this beautiful Oasis. You will definitely enjoy the rooms, the pyramid & garden views, wonderful sceneries, great food and hospitality .

Simply amazing, you will definitely enjoy it!

Note: A special thanks to Maryana - Duty Manager as she went out of her way to make our stay exceptionally pleasant. Thank you :)

Room Tip: Get a room with the Pyramid View, worth every penny :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TarekLotfy2, Director of Marketing at Mena House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback and comments on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your generous feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

We look forward to having you stay with us whenever you travel to Cairo.

Thank you
Tarek Lotfy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mena House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena House Hotel

Address: 6 Pyramids Road, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Giza
#2 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#2 Spa Hotel in Giza
#2 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#3 Business Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mena House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 523
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mena House is one of the most unique hotels in Cairo, with its own rich and colourful history. Surrounded by 40 acres of verdant green gardens, this palatial hotel is located in the shadows of the Great Pyramids of Giza in Cairo. The royal history of the hotel is reflected in luxurious interiors that are embellished with exquisite antiques, handcrafted furniture, original work of arts and magnificent antiques that are rarely found in luxury hotels. Mena House has played host to kings and emperors, Heads of State and celebrities. The Mena House located 700 meters from these wonders of the ancient world offers unmatched views of the pyramids. You can gaze upon the magnificence of the pyramids from your rooms at sunrise and sunset. After dinner at one of the many restaurants, you can return to see them lit up for your private viewing pleasure. An ideal location for meetings in Cairo, the hotel's banquets and conference centre offer venues for weddings, receptions and meetings ranging from 50 to 1000 guests. Recreation options at the hotel include a heated swimming pool, a fully equipped Fitness Centre and Spa. Regarded as one of the leading luxury hotels in Cairo, the hotel combines the magical charm of a bygone era with unrivalled service fit for royalty. Your interlude at the hotel promises to be a journey of discovery, exploring Cairo's ancient treasures and unravelling the many mysteries of Egypt's past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mena House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mena House Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Mena
Oberoi Giza
Mena Oberoi
Mena House Giza
Giza Oberoi
Mena House Hotel Egypt/Giza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mena House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.