We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruise and stay tour of Egypt.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mena House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mena House Hotel to your Saves list
Mena House Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Pyramids Road, Giza, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Giza
4.5 of 5 stars 512 Reviews
Skipton England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cruise and stay tour of Egypt.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We started our Egyptian vacation in Cairo at Mena House Hotel Giza, where old world charm meets 21st century luxury. This has to be one of the best hotels in Egypt, the view of the Pyramids from the hotel was breath taking as was the hotel and grounds.
After visiting the famous Egyptian Museum and tour of Cairo we flew to Luxor to start our 7 night Nile cruise to Aswan, this was our first time on a river cruise and we were not disappointed, the boat was well appointed the crew were excellent as was the food.
We were escorted on our cruise by an expert Egyptologist called George who went beyond the call of duty to make sure that we got the best out of our visits to the many ancient sites and monuments.
The valley of the kings was the standout visit for us, it has a truly amazing atmosphere about it, this included a tour of Howard Carter's house, WOW.
Our last four days in Egypt were spent at the Fort Arabesque resort on the Red sea, another excellent hotel with lovely food.
During our time in Egypt it was obvious that the British were not travelling there this year ! due to the adverse publicity from the Media whilst German/Italian and Russian tourists were like us enjoying what Egypt has to offer.
My advice is visit now !! Egypt is open for business and is safe and welcoming.
Our tour was organised for us by Orbital Travel, checkout their web page, I recommend them for a Cruise / stay vacation in Egypt.
Alan & Sandra Parker
Skipton
England.

Room Tip: Mena House Hotel has rooms with a view of the Pyramids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    129
    27
    5
    7
See reviews for
105
205
45
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed at Mena House for a week while on a visit to Egypt in January. The hotel is beautiful! Old-school elegance with a regal atmosphere and an incredible location with jaw-dropping views of the pyramids. You can spot the Egyptian peaks from most anywhere in the hotel, and they make for an incredible view to wake up to in the morning and peek at through your balcony. The hotel has a good selection of restaurants and the meals we had there were excellent, with equally fantastic service. The reception staff at the hotel is superb and they go out of their way to help and make your stay at Mena House a pleasant one. Overall fantastic hotel experience and highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tareklotfy62, Director of Marketing at Mena House Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Ms. Regina,

Thank you so much for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. Such words of motivation for the entire team will only help us to strive for excellence.

I am delighted to read that you found services all across the hotel exceptional and we were able to look after you with great care. These words coming from a well travelled guest like yourself will definitely help all our team members to give more than their 100%.

We look forward to having you stay with us whenever you travel to Cairo.

Tarek Lotfy
Director of Marketing
Mena House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This was the first place we stayed in Egypt on a Scenic Tour trip. The rooms were spacious and cool. The view is AMAZING!!!!!! From everywhere in this hotel you can see the Pyramids as if they are in your backyard. I just couldn't stop looking and pinching myself. It is by far the best view I have ever experienced from a hotel.
Take the free tour of the hotel as it has a lot of history and you can see the suites in the old palace part of the hotel.
We stayed in September 2010, just a little late in reviewing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tareklotfy62, Director of Marketing at Mena House Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Ms. FourSkiers,

Thank you so much for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. Such words of motivation for the entire team will only help us to strive for excellence.

I am delighted to read that you found services all across the hotel exceptional and we were able to look after you with great care. These words coming from a well travelled guest like yourself will definitely help all our team members to give more than their 100%.

We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Tarek Lotfy
Director of Marketing
Mena House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed in this hotel to get ready for my wedding and for my wedding night! We stayed in the newly remodeled tower and oh my god. THE VIEW was breathtaking!!!!!!!!!I could see the pyramids from my room and our wedding pictures were AMAZING inside the hotel AND outside!!!!! stay here and you wont regret it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, NC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My two youngest daughters and I spent 11 days in Egypt in March, 2014. Although we did not stay at the Mena House hotel, we did eat at their Khan el Khalili restaurant 3 times and also had tea with friends in their bar one afternoon.

The Mena House is a wonderful fancy old Palace now used as a Hotel. They serve wonderful fancy Egyptian food as well as other types of dishes and desserts. The staff and setting along with the gourmet food makes you really feel pampered and spoiled. It's not too costly considering the setting and quality, and really worth splurging on if you are in the area, staying there at the Mena House hotel or elsewhere as we were. Their doormen, security, restaurant and bar staff all made us feel quite welcome all 3 times we came, even though we came in as non-hotel guests.

I particularly recommend their wonderful Karkaday (traditional Egyptian Hibiscus Tea) and Umm Ali (A traditional Egyptian dessert).

The breakfast buffet in the Khan el Khalili restaurant is particularly good, and is not quite as costly as lunch or dinner menu there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kairo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

After staying in 2013 for a night, we came back in March 2014 for another night. Like last time, the service was is very good and the most of the staff was very helpful and (also children) friendly. As we celebrated a birthday there, the hotel send us a delicous birthday cake and flowers.
Unfortunately the Indian restaurant Moghul was not as good as excepted. Many friends told us before, it would be the best Indian restaurant in Cairo, but we are not convinced.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Wow! What an AMAZING place. Such a beautiful and tranquil oasis.....a paradise. Once through the gates, the spectacular hotel experience of a lifetime unfolds. Sitting in an absolutely unique setting of mature gardens with the backdrop of the Pyramids.....it really has to be seen to be believed. Everything (and i mean everything) about my 5 night stay was magical. The rooms all have balconies where you can enjoy your early morning cup of tea watching sunrise over the Pyramids. What can better that?! The bedrooms are spacious and luxurious, and spotlessly clean. The Housekeeping staff are meticulous in their attention to detail and rooms are cleaned and refreshed within mimutes of leaving your room!
All of the staff are fantastic, and nothing is too much trouble. The food is fresh and superbly cooked and available 24 hours a day.
Whoever trained the staff in Customer Care should train every hotel!! They have got it so right!
Next time i am back in Cairo I shall head straight for Mena House. There can be no other choice!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mena House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena House Hotel

Address: 6 Pyramids Road, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#2 Spa Hotel in Giza
#2 Family Hotel in Giza
#2 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#3 Business Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mena House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 523
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mena House is one of the most unique hotels in Cairo, with its own rich and colourful history. Surrounded by 40 acres of verdant green gardens, this palatial hotel is located in the shadows of the Great Pyramids of Giza in Cairo. The royal history of the hotel is reflected in luxurious interiors that are embellished with exquisite antiques, handcrafted furniture, original work of arts and magnificent antiques that are rarely found in luxury hotels. Mena House has played host to kings and emperors, Heads of State and celebrities. The Mena House located 700 meters from these wonders of the ancient world offers unmatched views of the pyramids. You can gaze upon the magnificence of the pyramids from your rooms at sunrise and sunset. After dinner at one of the many restaurants, you can return to see them lit up for your private viewing pleasure. An ideal location for meetings in Cairo, the hotel's banquets and conference centre offer venues for weddings, receptions and meetings ranging from 50 to 1000 guests. Recreation options at the hotel include a heated swimming pool, a fully equipped Fitness Centre and Spa. Regarded as one of the leading luxury hotels in Cairo, the hotel combines the magical charm of a bygone era with unrivalled service fit for royalty. Your interlude at the hotel promises to be a journey of discovery, exploring Cairo's ancient treasures and unravelling the many mysteries of Egypt's past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mena House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mena House Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Mena
Oberoi Giza
Mena Oberoi
Mena House Giza
Giza Oberoi
Mena House Hotel Egypt/Giza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mena House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.