We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Lady” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mena House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mena House Hotel to your Saves list
Mena House Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Pyramids Road, Giza, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Giza
4.5 of 5 stars 512 Reviews
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Grand Lady”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We spent several night in this hotel in March and throughly enjoyed the stay. Superb location and our room faced the pyramids, what a sight to wake up to in the morning. It was a pity there were not many tourist about to see the spectacular sight.
We were upgrade to a suite and the room was excellent, spacious and extremely well appointed.
We certainly recommend this hotel, with a friendly and cheerful staff nothing was a problem.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    129
    27
    5
    7
See reviews for
105
205
45
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My daughter & I were at the Mena House February 14(check in after dark), 15, 16, 24, 25, 26 & 27, 2014. We decided that we didn't want to spend the extra money for pyramid view and were in the new annex. The annex had guards on duty all hours and they never failed to greet us with smiles and hellos. Our first room looked out over the reflecting pool and faced away from the pyramids. We didn't stay in the room much of the time so not a problem. We had the 15th to ourselves to wander around the grounds and buildings before our tour started. The water features on the grounds are extensive and lead from one to another by little canals. Every employee we met had greetings for us. We did some shopping in the lobby. I have to say Antonio was more than helpful. If we asked about something that he didn't have in stock, he was more than willing to get it for us within a few hours. Of course we had to get a cartouche and he noticed my Horus earrings. He surprised us by putting the Eye of Horus on the back. Service above and beyond.

We did our money exchange at the Bank Misr in the lobby and they too had friendly service.

We only ate 1 meal in the al Khalil restaurant since our meals were included with our tour. Those meals were buffet style. A separate table for breads, salads, and 2 for the main courses. Then there were the desserts cakes and creams and custards and the list goes on and on. The wait staff was right there to take your drinks order or to clear away your plate.

The second stay we were again in the new annex, but over looking the pool. This time we did spend a little more time in our rooms relaxing on the deck. My daughter does some running and made use of the exercise room, which was very convenient to our room and furnished with very up to date equipment. We made use of the laundry service and someone was there to pick up our clothes within 5 minutes of our calling. Our clothes were folded and placed in a basket on our beds early the next afternoon. My daughter fell in love with the robe that was provided with the room, and the front desk staff allowed her to purchase it.

Over all we enjoyed our time spent here. It is a haven of quiet in the hustle and bustle of Cairo. Guards check every vehicle as you enter the complex and it is surrounded by walls for privacy.

I do have to agree with several other people posting that the room prices were quite high. Except for 1 night our room was included in our tour price, but that 1 night was $240 US. That was one of the reasons we didn't go with the more expensive pyramid view room. Would I stay there again, absolutely! The amenities, the peacefulness, the helpfulness of the staff and the view. I don't travel much and have what my daughter calls social anxiety. I don't do very well in large crowds or new situations, but I felt relaxed and not stressed out. In fact, when I returned home I asked my husband if he would return with me some day and he agreed, but wants to take our grand daughter. Since she is only 4, it might be awhile

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

what a location!! next to the legendary Pyramids of Giza,with very classical outlets style as it had been a riyal palace.time there is priceless when spent by the pool at sunset. excellent service,hospitality, and quietness made it best choice for those seeking relaxation away from busy hectic downtown hotels.sitting in room balcony under moon light and contemplating is unforgettable experience. having dinner in one of it`s restaurants remains a special memory.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Mena House Hotel is among Zabojad Favourite Hotels in the World. Zabojad was visiting the Pyramids and appreciated the night light show. His stop became marvelous besides the exceptionnal sigths of Pyramids due to the Hotel Services, View and Taxi Driver Salah. My Stay in Egypt will be engraved in my memory for a lifetime after staying a Mena House Hotel.
Perfect and Highly recommended to anyone visiting the Pyramids !
Happy Sharing-Happy Inside

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We spent our last night in Egypt here after touring the Giza plateau. We did get a room in the older part of the hotel which is gorgeous and opulent and no hotel in Cairo can beat the view. The staff is kind; we had a good drink in the bar. The owner of the jewelry store showed me the marble cooling hallway and gave us a good dinner recommendations as we wanted to eat on the Nile. Wish I had more time to choose something beautiful from his wares. The restaurants on the facilitiies are highly rated as well but we only had the one night. Easy check out.

Room Tip: The old part of the hotel is the place to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We originally had two rooms booked for our family in the newer building at the hotel but after eating lunch in the palace we opted to upgrade to rooms with balconies overlooking the pyramids in the palace. Cannot imagine a better way to wake up and go to sleep than with a view of the pyramids. Daily treat of fresh flowers and sweets in our room. And a rare thing...actual brass KEYS to our rooms instead of a card! Hotel also arranged our driver, Medhat. HE WAS AMAZING!!! We got to see and experience more than we could have imagined and never felt unsafe. Everywhere that we went, people were very welcoming of our blonde American family!

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with a beautiful view. It's fit for royalty and from what we know royalty do stay there, not surprisingly. I has a great location by the pyramids especially if you are aiming to see the sunrise at the pyramids. Service was very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mena House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena House Hotel

Address: 6 Pyramids Road, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Giza
#2 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#2 Spa Hotel in Giza
#2 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#3 Business Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mena House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 523
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mena House is one of the most unique hotels in Cairo, with its own rich and colourful history. Surrounded by 40 acres of verdant green gardens, this palatial hotel is located in the shadows of the Great Pyramids of Giza in Cairo. The royal history of the hotel is reflected in luxurious interiors that are embellished with exquisite antiques, handcrafted furniture, original work of arts and magnificent antiques that are rarely found in luxury hotels. Mena House has played host to kings and emperors, Heads of State and celebrities. The Mena House located 700 meters from these wonders of the ancient world offers unmatched views of the pyramids. You can gaze upon the magnificence of the pyramids from your rooms at sunrise and sunset. After dinner at one of the many restaurants, you can return to see them lit up for your private viewing pleasure. An ideal location for meetings in Cairo, the hotel's banquets and conference centre offer venues for weddings, receptions and meetings ranging from 50 to 1000 guests. Recreation options at the hotel include a heated swimming pool, a fully equipped Fitness Centre and Spa. Regarded as one of the leading luxury hotels in Cairo, the hotel combines the magical charm of a bygone era with unrivalled service fit for royalty. Your interlude at the hotel promises to be a journey of discovery, exploring Cairo's ancient treasures and unravelling the many mysteries of Egypt's past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mena House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mena House Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Mena
Oberoi Giza
Mena Oberoi
Mena House Giza
Giza Oberoi
Mena House Hotel Egypt/Giza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mena House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.