We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars but if we could give 6 we would” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mena House Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Tingo.com
and 5 more sites!
Mena House Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Haram St. | El Haram, Giza, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Giza
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“5 stars but if we could give 6 we would”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

As normal for us we chose the hotel based on the great reviews on here and it didn't disappoint. This is a great hotel in its own right and because of the location it just adds to the experience. The pyramid views from the rooms are not really given justice from the photos and you couldn't get any closer. We had a transfer arranged from the airport via the hotel and had a very small delay in the pick up (about 5 minutes and a call from us) and as a result we got an upgrade to a pyramid view suite which was a fantastic room. Very good restaurants in the hotel especially the indian restaurant and we had the best indian we have ever had. We had our breakfasts delivered to the room for just 50p extra and sitting eating breakfast looking at the pyramids was just magical. The staff are all very well trained to offer a great service and we would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone going to Giza.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    75
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
69
139
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile


We have travelled the world and have to say sitting on our balcony, listening to birds, surrounded by gardens and looking at two wonderous pyramids from new wing of hotel, is a very special experience,
An old hunting lodge, Mena house is a welcome break from the craziness just outside the main gate, around 100m from main entrance to pyramids.
Staff friendly, rooms large and spotlessly clean, multiple English TV channels, nice large pool and a number of eating options with Western prices, extensive breakfast - u can ask for eggs, omelets, crepes to be cooked for you. Photos and artwork of old Egypt spotted around quite lovely and tour of old palace area daily.
We also had a lovely Indian meal in the Mogul room.
Only real downside is no wifi in rooms and outrageously expensive internet.
Shops on site also ridiculously overpriced and surly staff in banks, shops which is in contrast to the helpful and professional hotel staff.
But don't let these things put you off - to sit and look at the pyramids from your balcony is worth it.
We caught metered taxi to Egypt museum and souk easily on main road nearby for around 50 Egyptian pound each way so while in Giza, hotel not far away from city sights.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have just spent a week at the Mena House Hotel, it was truly the holiday of a lifetime! The hotel is fantastic, they upgraded me from a pyramid view room to a suite and I had a week of luxury, room service is quick and efficient and I spent many a happy hour sitting on one of my two balconies sipping tea and just looking at the pyramids.

The rooms were kept spotlessly clean by cheerful staff who could not do too much for you, fresh flowers, fruit and a complementary daily paper helped to make me feel really spoilt. The restaurant service was exemplary and the food always delicious, I particularly enjoyed the breakfast experience with the company of the delightful breakfast ladies.

The garden and pool area are beautiful and clearly looked after with care and devotion, often the pool was empty and you felt you had the whole place to yourself!

The entire week was simply perfect paradise! I felt completely safe and looked after the whole time, my trips out were fun and the glimpses of another way of life fascinating. As a single woman you never quite know what to expect, but this was simply heaven and a holiday I will remember as the best ever.

It's expensive but you get more than your moneys worth, go to Egypt with complete confidence, I find it perfectly safe. Go to Giza and Cairo, be amazed at the past and the present. Stay at Mena House to be spoilt, pampered and refreshed. Thank you to all the amazing staff!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We recently took 2 Week Vacation to Egypt which covered two stays in Cairo & a Nile Cruise.
For the First Stay we were at the Beautiful Mena House Hotel (formerly managed by Oberoi).
This historic Property just oozes with charm, with the perfect views of the Pyramids right from the window. We stayed in one of the Executive Suites in the Old Wing (Mena House Palace), it’s amazing décor and furnishings are a world away from the “Modern Concrete Block Hotels”… For us the Room was perfect in every way.
However, it is Service which just “makes” this Hotel the best. We regularly stay in Luxury Properties around the world and we have not experienced such friendly, courteous and professional services for a long time. This place is a real Jewel.
There are several Dining options and the Indian Restaurant “The Moghul Room” certainly lives up to its reputation as the Best in Egypt.
The Main Khan El Khalili (24 Hour) Restaurant served up one of the best Breakfasts in Cario, plenty of choice on the buffet as well as a great range of main courses cooked fresh for you.
We also had Room Service for Breakfast one morning, which again was excellent with all the Breads still hot..
Overall – one of the nicest places we have stayed for a while.. and really glad we chose to stay here.

Room Tip: Stay in the Old Wing (Mena House Palace) – not the Newer Garden Wing. Do try the Egyptian Wine –Ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a terrific two-night stay at Mena House. We flew direct from JFK and arrived at the hotel in the evening. Check-in was easy as we relaxed in the lounge with a glass of hibiscus tea. Our rooms were lovely and we slept soundly after our room service dinner which arrived in a timely manner and was quite good. We spent most of the next day touring and then used the large pool in the afternoon. After another good night's sleep we left for the airport early the next morning. It was the perfect amount of time to spend in Cairo in this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Of course, go for the pyramid view. You've travelled so far, spend a little more to wake up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was our favorite hotel during our 11 days in Egypt. We only stayed for 1 night and wish we could stay more. Memphis Tours booked on our behalf and based on our request, got a garden section pyramid view room (new wing, not the palace side). Though we were very close to the pyramid, we felt absolutely safe. We had a 15 hours journey and was so tired upon arrival. Once checked in, we ordered room service (Delicious!) and after which, slept all the way from 5pm till the next morning! No noise and no disturbance, just blissful sleep. Buffet breakfast had a good spread with view of the pyramid. Do ask the concierge to give you a tour of the palace wing, they are all so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Not very big difference on getting room with pyramid view unless you are on high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Have just come back from Cairo and to anyone thinking of going there my advice is please don't unless you intend spending all your time in the compound. We found the men in the shops at the Hotel quite annoying as they were always harassing us to buy, buy, buy. One of the shop owners even offered to drive us to his other shops. All they want is your money and will say and do anything to get it. The wi fi at the Mena House was expensive at 75EP per half hour and you could only use it in the lobby of the Hotel. We also found the housekeeping continually knocking on the door asking if we needed anything annoying to the point we put the Do Not Disturb sign on the door. The pool and the gardens are beautiful and the view of the Pyramids is beyond words. I have been to lots of places around the world but I always wanted to see the Pyramids. I would never ever consider going back to Cairo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mena House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena House Hotel

Also Known As:
Mena House Oberoi Hotel
Mena House Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Giza
Mena House Oberoi
Oberoi Hotel Mena
Oberoi Giza
Mena Oberoi
Mena House Giza
Giza Oberoi
Mena House Hotel Egypt/Giza
Address: 6 Haram St. | El Haram, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#2 Family Hotel in Giza
#5 Business Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mena House Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Mena House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mena House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mena House Hotel to your Saves list