We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Classic Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mena House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mena House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mena House Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Pyramids Road, Giza, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 hotels in Giza
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Perfect Classic Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We recently took 2 Week Vacation to Egypt which covered two stays in Cairo & a Nile Cruise.
For the First Stay we were at the Beautiful Mena House Hotel (formerly managed by Oberoi).
This historic Property just oozes with charm, with the perfect views of the Pyramids right from the window. We stayed in one of the Executive Suites in the Old Wing (Mena House Palace), it’s amazing décor and furnishings are a world away from the “Modern Concrete Block Hotels”… For us the Room was perfect in every way.
However, it is Service which just “makes” this Hotel the best. We regularly stay in Luxury Properties around the world and we have not experienced such friendly, courteous and professional services for a long time. This place is a real Jewel.
There are several Dining options and the Indian Restaurant “The Moghul Room” certainly lives up to its reputation as the Best in Egypt.
The Main Khan El Khalili (24 Hour) Restaurant served up one of the best Breakfasts in Cario, plenty of choice on the buffet as well as a great range of main courses cooked fresh for you.
We also had Room Service for Breakfast one morning, which again was excellent with all the Breads still hot..
Overall – one of the nicest places we have stayed for a while.. and really glad we chose to stay here.

Room Tip: Stay in the Old Wing (Mena House Palace) – not the Newer Garden Wing. Do try the Egyptian Wine –Ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    91
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
80
164
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a terrific two-night stay at Mena House. We flew direct from JFK and arrived at the hotel in the evening. Check-in was easy as we relaxed in the lounge with a glass of hibiscus tea. Our rooms were lovely and we slept soundly after our room service dinner which arrived in a timely manner and was quite good. We spent most of the next day touring and then used the large pool in the afternoon. After another good night's sleep we left for the airport early the next morning. It was the perfect amount of time to spend in Cairo in this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Of course, go for the pyramid view. You've travelled so far, spend a little more to wake up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was our favorite hotel during our 11 days in Egypt. We only stayed for 1 night and wish we could stay more. Memphis Tours booked on our behalf and based on our request, got a garden section pyramid view room (new wing, not the palace side). Though we were very close to the pyramid, we felt absolutely safe. We had a 15 hours journey and was so tired upon arrival. Once checked in, we ordered room service (Delicious!) and after which, slept all the way from 5pm till the next morning! No noise and no disturbance, just blissful sleep. Buffet breakfast had a good spread with view of the pyramid. Do ask the concierge to give you a tour of the palace wing, they are all so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Not very big difference on getting room with pyramid view unless you are on high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Have just come back from Cairo and to anyone thinking of going there my advice is please don't unless you intend spending all your time in the compound. We found the men in the shops at the Hotel quite annoying as they were always harassing us to buy, buy, buy. One of the shop owners even offered to drive us to his other shops. All they want is your money and will say and do anything to get it. The wi fi at the Mena House was expensive at 75EP per half hour and you could only use it in the lobby of the Hotel. We also found the housekeeping continually knocking on the door asking if we needed anything annoying to the point we put the Do Not Disturb sign on the door. The pool and the gardens are beautiful and the view of the Pyramids is beyond words. I have been to lots of places around the world but I always wanted to see the Pyramids. I would never ever consider going back to Cairo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed in Mena house before embarking on a cruise around the middle east. The compound is incredibly secure which was great considering the unrest in egypt. The main building is incredible. Mena house was built maybe a century ago... and a lot of money and taste was invested in its construction. Marble staircases, muskets on the walls, carved furniture... the overall impression just makes you sigh with pleasure. In the breakfast room you sip coffee with the pyramids of Giza over your left shoulder. The buffet breakfast has great variety and is very tasty. The rooms themselves are modern and the bathrooms very clean. The grounds are immaculately groomed. I wouldn´t consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Mena House Hotel is a very historic hotel located right next to the pyramids in Giza. It origially started out as a royal hunting lodge. The main hotel building has an old world charm and is richly decorated. The room we stayed in was somewhat plain for a 5 star hotel, but nice and clean. The view off our balconey was mostly of the central park like grounds and from one side of the balcony we had a view of the largest of the pyamids. The entrance to the pyramids area was literally a few hundred feet a way. The Mena house is an oasis in the city - a sprawling hotel in a large garden. The breakfast menu was similar to the Fairmont and was equally filling. The distance to walk from our rooms to the hotel lobby and eating areas was quite far, but the hotel will provide golf cart shuttle service. Expect to tip any and every body for any and everything they do for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

First of all I want to say that not only is the view of the Pyramids to DIE for at this hotel the food is some of the best i have EVER eaten!

This was one of the hotels we stayed in on our honeymoon and it was perfect. I only wish we had gotten more time to actually spend here. But we had pyramids to see and camels to ride. :)

It is a famous hotel where dignitaries and Presidents have stayed.

This is a large, elegant, hotel. You will not be dissapointed.

Like many hotels in other parts of the world you might get double beds in your room instead of a Queen... if you are cool with that than just go with it. You can also order for free off their "Pillow" list.. and get yourself a really comfortable pillow for sleeping.

There are several restaurants inside the hotel for you to chose from.

*** Be aware that some of them require a dinner jacket for a man and a dress for a woman.

There is Wi-Fi, a small tv, a hairdryer, a phone in the room.

There is also a small balcony on some of the rooms so you can step out and see the pyramids right from your room.

You should do this!

Room Tip: If you want to sit on yoiur balcony and admire the pyramids, ask for a room where the balcony faces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mena House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena House Hotel

Address: 6 Pyramids Road, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Giza
#2 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#2 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#2 Spa Hotel in Giza
#3 Business Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mena House Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mena House is one of the most unique hotels in Cairo, with its own rich and colourful history. Surrounded by 40 acres of verdant green gardens, this palatial hotel is located in the shadows of the Great Pyramids of Giza in Cairo. The royal history of the hotel is reflected in luxurious interiors that are embellished with exquisite antiques, handcrafted furniture, original work of arts and magnificent antiques that are rarely found in luxury hotels. Mena House has played host to kings and emperors, Heads of State and celebrities. The Mena House located 700 meters from these wonders of the ancient world offers unmatched views of the pyramids. You can gaze upon the magnificence of the pyramids from your rooms at sunrise and sunset. After dinner at one of the many restaurants, you can return to see them lit up for your private viewing pleasure. An ideal location for meetings in Cairo, the hotel's banquets and conference centre offer venues for weddings, receptions and meetings ranging from 50 to 1000 guests. Recreation options at the hotel include a heated swimming pool, a fully equipped Fitness Centre and Spa. Regarded as one of the leading luxury hotels in Cairo, the hotel combines the magical charm of a bygone era with unrivalled service fit for royalty. Your interlude at the hotel promises to be a journey of discovery, exploring Cairo's ancient treasures and unravelling the many mysteries of Egypt's past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Mena House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mena House Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Mena
Oberoi Giza
Mena Oberoi
Mena House Giza
Giza Oberoi
Mena House Hotel Egypt/Giza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mena House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.