We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mena House” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mena House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mena House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mena House Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Pyramids Road, Giza, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 hotels in Giza
Mildura, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mena House”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Have just come back from Cairo and to anyone thinking of going there my advice is please don't unless you intend spending all your time in the compound. We found the men in the shops at the Hotel quite annoying as they were always harassing us to buy, buy, buy. One of the shop owners even offered to drive us to his other shops. All they want is your money and will say and do anything to get it. The wi fi at the Mena House was expensive at 75EP per half hour and you could only use it in the lobby of the Hotel. We also found the housekeeping continually knocking on the door asking if we needed anything annoying to the point we put the Do Not Disturb sign on the door. The pool and the gardens are beautiful and the view of the Pyramids is beyond words. I have been to lots of places around the world but I always wanted to see the Pyramids. I would never ever consider going back to Cairo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    84
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
76
158
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed in Mena house before embarking on a cruise around the middle east. The compound is incredibly secure which was great considering the unrest in egypt. The main building is incredible. Mena house was built maybe a century ago... and a lot of money and taste was invested in its construction. Marble staircases, muskets on the walls, carved furniture... the overall impression just makes you sigh with pleasure. In the breakfast room you sip coffee with the pyramids of Giza over your left shoulder. The buffet breakfast has great variety and is very tasty. The rooms themselves are modern and the bathrooms very clean. The grounds are immaculately groomed. I wouldn´t consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Mena House Hotel is a very historic hotel located right next to the pyramids in Giza. It origially started out as a royal hunting lodge. The main hotel building has an old world charm and is richly decorated. The room we stayed in was somewhat plain for a 5 star hotel, but nice and clean. The view off our balconey was mostly of the central park like grounds and from one side of the balcony we had a view of the largest of the pyamids. The entrance to the pyramids area was literally a few hundred feet a way. The Mena house is an oasis in the city - a sprawling hotel in a large garden. The breakfast menu was similar to the Fairmont and was equally filling. The distance to walk from our rooms to the hotel lobby and eating areas was quite far, but the hotel will provide golf cart shuttle service. Expect to tip any and every body for any and everything they do for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

First of all I want to say that not only is the view of the Pyramids to DIE for at this hotel the food is some of the best i have EVER eaten!

This was one of the hotels we stayed in on our honeymoon and it was perfect. I only wish we had gotten more time to actually spend here. But we had pyramids to see and camels to ride. :)

It is a famous hotel where dignitaries and Presidents have stayed.

This is a large, elegant, hotel. You will not be dissapointed.

Like many hotels in other parts of the world you might get double beds in your room instead of a Queen... if you are cool with that than just go with it. You can also order for free off their "Pillow" list.. and get yourself a really comfortable pillow for sleeping.

There are several restaurants inside the hotel for you to chose from.

*** Be aware that some of them require a dinner jacket for a man and a dress for a woman.

There is Wi-Fi, a small tv, a hairdryer, a phone in the room.

There is also a small balcony on some of the rooms so you can step out and see the pyramids right from your room.

You should do this!

Room Tip: If you want to sit on yoiur balcony and admire the pyramids, ask for a room where the balcony faces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I'm an Egypt fanatic so please excuse me if that colours this Review a bit. I have never had such an awesome experience as I did the day I walked onto the balcony of my Room in this Hotel. There they were, the Pyramids, I could almost touch them - literally just across the road! The atmosphere was electric, you could smell it. I could feel myself immersed way back in the days of the Pharoahs, it was so easy to picture. The rooms were comfy & clean, maybe in need of a bit of a small upgrade but that only added to the atmosphere. I couldn't complain about one thing EXCEPT the cost of the Australian wine I ordered from Room service! Balcony views to die for, staff all helpful, amenities beautiful, restaurant wonderful. I've stayed in many wonderful Hotels but this one is right up there because of its wonderful location.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We only stayed one night, but everything, from the staff, the wonderfully soft bedding and towels, to the huge breakfast buffet, was outstanding - plus the view of the Great Pyramid right out the window. What was once a castle is now the center of this magnificent hotel. We booked through Alex City Travel and so do not know how much the rates would be. We were a group of 30, but everything was planned and executed as if we were the only ones there, even a wakeup call that was arranged for the entire group. I would love to go back and stay here.

Room Tip: Probably any room would be good. The hotel is in an enclosed park-like area, so everything is quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Well appointed hotel in Giza Egypt. Nice clean bathrooms soft linens and very sumptuous breakfast included in our booking. We really got a very good deal with our tour company.Prominent dignataries stayed in this hotel. They really care about the safety of their guests cause in the evening they close the main gate and no one could enter unless you are booked with them. And when you wake up in the morning you will see the pyramid by your window. Good place to stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mena House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena House Hotel

Address: 6 Pyramids Road, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Giza
#2 Spa Hotel in Giza
#2 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#2 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#3 Business Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mena House Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mena House is one of the most unique hotels in Cairo, with its own rich and colourful history. Surrounded by 40 acres of verdant green gardens, this palatial hotel is located in the shadows of the Great Pyramids of Giza in Cairo. The royal history of the hotel is reflected in luxurious interiors that are embellished with exquisite antiques, handcrafted furniture, original work of arts and magnificent antiques that are rarely found in luxury hotels. Mena House has played host to kings and emperors, Heads of State and celebrities. The Mena House located 700 meters from these wonders of the ancient world offers unmatched views of the pyramids. You can gaze upon the magnificence of the pyramids from your rooms at sunrise and sunset. After dinner at one of the many restaurants, you can return to see them lit up for your private viewing pleasure. An ideal location for meetings in Cairo, the hotel's banquets and conference centre offer venues for weddings, receptions and meetings ranging from 50 to 1000 guests. Recreation options at the hotel include a heated swimming pool, a fully equipped Fitness Centre and Spa. Regarded as one of the leading luxury hotels in Cairo, the hotel combines the magical charm of a bygone era with unrivalled service fit for royalty. Your interlude at the hotel promises to be a journey of discovery, exploring Cairo's ancient treasures and unravelling the many mysteries of Egypt's past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mena House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mena House Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Mena
Oberoi Giza
Mena Oberoi
Mena House Giza
Giza Oberoi
Mena House Hotel Egypt/Giza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mena House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.