We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mena House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mena House Hotel to your Saves list
Mena House Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Pyramids Road, Giza, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Giza
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at this wonderful hotel, having perviously stayed there a few years ago. It is still wonderful. We stayed in a pyramid view room which was just fabulous. we arrived at the hotel at 2am and so went straight to bed. Upon waking, we opened the curtains and saw a pyramid, and then, blow me, there was another one. My friend was totally astounded and thrilled, not only by the view but by the kindness of the staff.
The first night we ate in the Indian restaurant in the hotel and had the most delicious meal. The lovely waiters even took mine back because, despite them thinking it was a mild curry, my lips were on fire. They added something and brought it back and it was even better.
The following night we ate in the International restaurant and came across the nicest waiter ever.
I swam in the beautiful new pool at the back of the hotel. It is tiled with dark blue tiles that give it such a lovely, warm feel. The water was lovely, the towels big and plentiful and the banana split
gorgeous.
This hotel is so worth staying in. I can't wait to go back; it is luxury unadulterated and sooooo close to the pyramids it's ridiculous. You can walk to them from here.
Please, go and stay, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: A pyramid view room is quiet, overlooking the front of the hotel and 2 pyramids. A non pyramid view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    129
    27
    5
    7
See reviews for
105
205
45
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were made to feel like kings in the shadows of the pyramids built by former kings. Our booking was arranged by Memphis Tours (very highly recommended) and it included two days at the beginning and at the end of our Nile Cruise (also arranged by Memphis), so we could visit the sights of Cairo and the Egyptian Museum etc.

The Mena house hotel has a ton of history and is right next to the Giza pyramid site. The staff were first class, as was the food. The only criticism was the price of food and drinks, were were a little on the pricey side for Egypt. Our room price/stay included breakfast which provided a great variety of food of good quality. They have a couple of restaurants onsite and the Indian one was exceptionally good, although it was the most we've ever paid for Indian food. There are some restaurants nearby that one can walk to including Christos which does seafood. They were extremely friendly and we had a huge fish and calamari dinner for just under $10 US each.

The hotel has a beautiful pool area and a gym etc. Internet was hugely expensive so we didn't use it. Rooms were extremely comfortable with a balcony and a reasonable selection of English speaking channels on the TV. Water and fruit were complimentary in the room.

All in all they try very hard to please and nothing was too much trouble. Once again, the staff were so friendly and exceptional. We highly recommend Mena House Oberoi in Cairo and look forward to staying there again sometim.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our holiday was booked through Mosaic Holidays, a UK based luxury travel company and what a great holiday we had. Our holiday started on 20.02.2013. First stop was 3 nights at the Mena House Hotel in pyramid view room in the garden wing which was followed by seven nights cruising the Nile on the MS Esplanade (see report for the Esplanade). Our very comfortable and well appointed room was on the third floor and certainly had a pyramid view. We had fresh fruit and chocolates in our room which was a nice touch. The hotel was beautiful,a mix of old in the Palace and modern in the newer Garden Wing, service was excellent and non-intrusive and the food delicious - do try the local specialities especially the Om Aly. The public areas of the hotel are very well appointed with many old photos of the Palace as it was before the growing city of Giza was built up to it. Luckily the pyramids in front of it prevent it from being surrounded by buildings. There are a couple of souvenier shops and a tours agency should you want them, and also a 24 hour currency exchange which is very useful especially as it is difficult to get small demonination notes outside of the country. The Hotel grounds are lovely and very well maintained. I must say that we had a fantastic time. Yes there is some hassling when you are out and about but in a way it is understandable. Egypt has lost so much of its tourist industry in the last three years which is such a shame. When we told friends that we were planning a trip to Cairo and the Nile we had comments like 'you're brave', 'Ooh! there are riots there' and 'I worry about you going there'. We had a wonderful holiday and met only polite, friendly people who were so grateful that we were prepared to make the effort to go there. We were met airside of security by Mosaics agents Marhaba Tours, our luggage was collected and we transferred to Mena House. The agent gave us information and advice re activities we could do in Cairo and organised everything for us. We had the same excellent guide for the 2 days we were there who was extremely knowledgeable and very patient with our lack of knowledge and 60+ year old brains! Our time in Cairo ended with our smooth transfer to the airport for our flight to Luxor to jion the MS Esplanade for a seven night Nile cruise - see MS Esplanade review.

Room Tip: It is worth paying for a pyramid view room not just for the view but also because they face away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is the most beautiful hotel we have ever stayed in. Every single aspect is beautifully executed. The staff could not have been more helpful and eager to do everything possible to make our stay perfect. Every single member of staff from the managers to the gardeners greeted us each day and wished us well. Our rooms were spacious, clean and elegant, being serviced twice a day. Facilities in the room were excellent especially the shower! On our last day we were shown to the Montgomery Suite in the original part of the hotel for me to take pictures of and see the fantastic view of the Pyramids. The sound and light show organised through the hotel was fantastic.
You won't get a closer hotel to the Pyramids with Mena House's history and elegance. The food in all the restaurants was excellent with all staff being extremely attentive. All in all we have no complaints at all and the hotel has exceeded our expectations in every possible way.
So good was the hotel we are now quite offended when everyone does not say hello to us!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Since the end of the Oberoi management contract I found it difficult to find any contact details before we visited, they have a new site which only has menahousehotel in its title. Tripadvisor rules prevent me from actually typing it out!!

It's a magnificent place and in our view it easily warrants the praise you read in other reviews. We stayed in Mid February 2013.

The first question is Garden Wing (looking pristine) or the Palace. The Pyramid view rooms from the modern garden wing can see most of the Pyramid framed by palm trees and you listen to much birdsong. On the 10th floor of the Palace you see it all, a magnificent and austere view. However, that high up you can also see the stables and rooftop refuse across the road. A lower floor in the Palace would give a better view.

We stayed in the Palace building and it is quite rightly called so, faded elegance with much charm. The only other building which was similar (and better as it has been modernised) is the Sofitel in Aswan which dates form the same era. It's scheduled for an uplift. Huge rooms, with wood paneling, marble bathrooms (in the suite) and very comfortable beds. Just wandering down to breakfast past faded photos was a great start to the day. Before I leave this topic, light sleepers should note that there is much road noise from this front (and the Mullah's call to prayer) and also the non-Pyramid facing garden wing (which is why they are cheaper) pack your ear plugs or stay in the quieter Pyramid facing garden wing. Then again it was much quieter than downtown Cairo.

There are no restaurants outside within walking distance, so we ate in and were surprised to note that the prices were reasonable with no attempt to exploit the situation. We tried both main restaurants in the Palace, the Mogul Indian and the multinational Khan. Both were fine. Service was excellent, any issues were quickly resolved with no fuss. The breakfast buffet had a mixture of European and Egyptian food inc the odd delicious Indian dish. Having a potato curry for breakfast is not as odd as it sounds. They also do eggs/waffles/omelettes to order (inc in the rates). The room was also supplied with fruit and pastries (and much bottled water), it's very easy to overeat, unless you are slugging around the sites.

All the staff were very attentive with none of the unseemly hanging around for baksheesh, given the room rates, we shouldn't have to be bothered so. I could not find any example of sloppiness given the end of the Oberoi link. It's the same staff and management, so why should it decline?

Moving onto the pool, it's big, spotless and heated. Plenty of loungers/towels and a very clean changing room and toilet block. Well equipped gym too.

On travel, the hotel arranged our pick-up, well worth the 45Euro to have a hassle free exit (I note they do special offers now which include a pick-up). The return trip was lower at 180 LE as it's just a drop off. The hotel organised car into town was 85LE all very reasonable. We made the mistake on not hanging onto the driver (as we did not know what our plans would be after visiting the museum) and the return trip in a taxi was not as comfortable, no air con and much worse since he was an outsider, the local youth gave him a hard time as he turned into the approach road for the hotel. We had the same problem when we took a tuk-tuk back from the Sphinx and no police action to stop them. We were told they are getting desperate because of the lack of tourist income and want all visitors to use a horse and carriage in the approach road. That said, they did not pester the hotel connected cars. I've done a separate review on the Pyramids, which are easily walkable from the hotel, just turn right and ignore anyone who says you have to go towards the stables to get foot access, they are trying to flog you a horse. You just walk up the road, the police checkpoint will ignore you. As you approach the main gates, head right and you will see the ticket complex ahead on your left, it's the only large building.

In summation, a great venue with high standards.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a beautiful, elegant hotel, teeming with history and legend. Right at the foot of the famous pyramids, it is where international peace conferences are held and diplomats stay. The service is good, the food is good, and the grounds and pool are are beautiful. The one negative would be the outrageous charge for internet access. In this day and age there is little excuse for that.

Room Tip: try to take the tour of the hotel in the evening to see the suites where Churchill and General Montg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Mena House has a completely different feel to the first Hotel I stayed at (Fairmont)- in that the newer block is situated a small walk away from the Main Lobby.
My first impression, therefore, was to feel quite separate and less contained than one normally feels in a Hotel.
If you were travelling alone, this may feel too isolating for one....

The positives of this, however, are that there is a sense of Space and a big area to walk and explore.

My room was extremely spacious and perfectly clean- I was very happy with the feel of it- light-filled, modern and well- equipped.
Firm, comfortable bed. (this is always NB for me!)

On arrival, I found 3 oranges and 2 luxury chocolates- which were a very nice touch. I really enjoyed them- small things that actually add to the whole experience.

I stayed in room 462, which had a view of 2 pyramids from the balcony.

My most favourite thing about Mena House? THE POOL!
Oh, the pool was sensational. It was the perfect temperature, and many of my group of friends chose to spend an entire day relaxing next to it or in it.

I would stay there again, purely for the pool ambience.

We ate at the poolside and the quality was excellent and the portions most generous.
We also ate at the bar inside the Hotel and the tasty snacks were accompanied by a fantastic Trio of Musicians.
They created a great atmosphere and we appreciated them.

There is a 24 bank for you to change currencies or break bigger notes into smaller (very helpful).

Lastly, on our last night we attended a Farewell dinner in one of the most opulent and unforgettable rooms I have eaten in- an impressive variety of food was served at all times I found the staff to be helpful and professional.

(For those of you that rely on your internet connection- you need to know that it is currently 70 egyptian pounds per hour! Better to stay dis-connected if you can ;-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mena House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena House Hotel

Address: 6 Pyramids Road, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Giza
#2 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#2 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#2 Family Hotel in Giza
#3 Business Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mena House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 523
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mena House is one of the most unique hotels in Cairo, with its own rich and colourful history. Surrounded by 40 acres of verdant green gardens, this palatial hotel is located in the shadows of the Great Pyramids of Giza in Cairo. The royal history of the hotel is reflected in luxurious interiors that are embellished with exquisite antiques, handcrafted furniture, original work of arts and magnificent antiques that are rarely found in luxury hotels. Mena House has played host to kings and emperors, Heads of State and celebrities. The Mena House located 700 meters from these wonders of the ancient world offers unmatched views of the pyramids. You can gaze upon the magnificence of the pyramids from your rooms at sunrise and sunset. After dinner at one of the many restaurants, you can return to see them lit up for your private viewing pleasure. An ideal location for meetings in Cairo, the hotel's banquets and conference centre offer venues for weddings, receptions and meetings ranging from 50 to 1000 guests. Recreation options at the hotel include a heated swimming pool, a fully equipped Fitness Centre and Spa. Regarded as one of the leading luxury hotels in Cairo, the hotel combines the magical charm of a bygone era with unrivalled service fit for royalty. Your interlude at the hotel promises to be a journey of discovery, exploring Cairo's ancient treasures and unravelling the many mysteries of Egypt's past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mena House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mena House Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Mena
Oberoi Giza
Mena Oberoi
Mena House Giza
Giza Oberoi
Mena House Hotel Egypt/Giza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mena House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.