We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheraton Cairo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 El Galaa Sq. Dokki, Giza, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 36 hotels in Giza
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sheraton Cairo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I was there last Jan, really nice hotel, heart of cairo, all what you want near you, nile near you and you lucky if your room nile view, and new tower bulding, breckfast 1st floor near nile :) but he should to be better.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, and hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcoming you after completing the renovation project and the re-opening of the Hotel by the 4th quarter.

Please rest assured of our care and attention at all times.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    124
    63
    26
    20
See reviews for
40
96
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Cairo is a city full of history and turmoil. Although we had booked a return stay on our way back thru, we elected to stay somewhere else. As a Starwood's guest, we were both upgraded which was nice, but not nice enough. Interesting architecture, but not as up to date or clean as we would like. The concierge room was great, but small. There was a great deal of renovation and I would confirm that it was all completed.

Room Tip: Choose the Nile side. You can see the two photos. Hopefully, they have renovated the rooms with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino. With regards to the other comments, please be informed that the Hotel is actually under renovation which will be completed by the end of the 3rd quarter. We will be more than happy to welcome you at our Hotel after the completion of the renovation and you will perceive the difference in all Hotel aspects.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the third time but i have to admit that our first stay was much much better that last one, We booked a special offer - stay 2 night get the third one free which is non refundable . By the time taxes had been added we had paid the same for 3 nights anyway - check this out if you come across similar offer. A whole series of catastrophes ensued. After booking I noticed that my booking had been cancelled. I had to make a number of phone calls from the UK to Cairo to find out why. Apparently the hotel's system would not accept my card yet this was the same card used to book the flights. Mr Ahmed Amr finally resolved the matter for us but only after racking up a hefty phone bill.

Upon arrival at the hotel we were disappointed not to get a Nile view room but a side nile view overlooking the traffic. We were also on the 17th floor but this gave us some good views over the city and removed us from the noise of the traffic (which is relentless). We then noticed they no longer provided a kettle in the room which we had had on previous 2 visits. Not a biggy but inconvenient to have to phone room service everytime you want a cup of tea.

The room was nice - the balcony was very dirty but with the amount of pollution eminating from the city not surprising. Breakfast was not included in this offer which again was a shame but the prices to eat breakfast in the hotel was very expensive so we ate out.

The real trouble came after we left Cairo to travel back to Luxor. I noticed my iPhone charger was missing and thought i may have left it in the hotel. However, I remeber checking every corner of the room before leaving. My wife then noticed other items missing such as a Flip video camera, spare batteries for the Flip and some cables. We phoned the hotel to see if the items had been found in the room. We were told the duty manager wasn't in work so we had to phone back. We phoned back to be told that the housekeeprs had found them but the housekeeping manager was off duty and he had the keys to the safe - we were asked to phone back again later. We phoned again and then we were asked to send a fax stating that we would be sending someone to pick up the items for us (luckily we had friends who were in Cairo and returning to Luxor a few days later).

Upon reflection and also looking at photo's we took in the room, our items had gone missing at some point prior to us checking out. We have been told by Egyptian friends working in the hotel business that it is common practice for housekeeping staff to take items and keep them in the hope that they aren't noticed as missing - once they have been in the hotel for 3 months the items become the property of those that find them.

As a night manager in a hotel in England I was shockedd to be told that the duty manager would take keys for the safe away with him and that no other staff have access to the safe. The expectation was for us to work around their convenience and not the other way around. Really shoddy customer service and a very very different experience to my 2 previous visits.

We were later told that the Sheraton was about to close for refurbishment and was n the process of being closed down. The hotel is so well located - that being the main reason why we were return visitors. However next time we will be looking at somewhere else to stay in Cairo.

Room Tip: Ask for Nile view room and higher floor room far from the traffice noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

I have reviewed with great concern your feedback regarding your stay at the Hotel and I am really distressed to learn about this misfortune. In this concern, we need more information about your stay i.e. date of your stay, room number, your name… in order to be able to conduct an investigation with all concerned and take the necessary action accordingly.

Please feel free to contact me via my e-mail address sameh.abdelwahab@sheraton.com to tackle your experience in details.

Waiting your reply.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

This is the first international brand hotel I've stayed at where we actually lost power! For some unexplainable reason, the power would cut on and off in the entire hotel the few nights we stayed here. Never would have expected this to happen in a Sheraton. The hotel facility itself and the rooms and showers were fine. (November 2009)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

I have read with great concern your review regarding your stay at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino and would like to apologize for any inconvenience encountered. Meanwhile, I would like to clarify to you that the electricity cut off was due to a cut in the main cable of the Electricity Authority which is totally beyond our control.

Thank you for your positive comment on the Hotel Facility.

Hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcoming you at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino after completing the renovation and re-opening the Hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tula, Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Overall a good location,pleasant staff,good choice of food and value for money,will return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel and looking forward to welcoming you once again after the completion of the renovation which will be finalized by the 4th quarter of 2013.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Ive been to many Sheraton, but I think this was the worst. Everything looks old, it felt like an abandoned building even... dusty, dilapidated, worn out.

Room was ok, as we got upgraded into the suite. The view was spectacular (we got a corner suite which faces the nile river and the city).

Theres probably better hotels in the area...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

I have read with great concern your comments related to your stay at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel and would like to inform you that the Hotel is actually closed for complete renovation which will be finalized by the 4th quarter of 2013. We have taken this decision for the well fare of our guests and their satisfaction.

Hoping that you will give us the opportunity to welcoming you at the Hotel after the completion of the renovation and I am sure you will notice a great difference.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

After back-backing throughout Egypt for 16 days, spending our last night on the 9th floor of the Sheraton Cairo (Nefertiti Tower) was absolute heaven. Very posh, clean hotel with many of the amenities one would expect, keeping in mind this is Africa, not North America or Western Europe. The bedroom was large with a small sitting area, bar fridge, tv, quiet air conditioner and comfortable king-size bed with huge soft pillows. The bathroom was very clean & modern - my only complaint would be the toilet paper was very rough; seemed odd for such a luxury hotel. Our balcony overlooked the Nile and we enjoyed the view with a bottle of wine (we got from the Pub downstairs). Hotel staff were great; extremely friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. The location seemed good - a short walk to the Nile River and the Kasr el Nile bridge however, we didn't find any nice restaurants nearby and the food & drinks at the hotel are definitely on the expensive side (as is the hotel of course).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonCairoMgt, General Manager at Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino. It is a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and that the Hotel aspects and services have met your expectations.

Please rest assured that we have taken into our consideration any other comments you have mentioned in your review.

May I take this opportunity to convey to you that we have decided to close the Hotel for several months in order to speed up the renovation process. Hoping that you will give us another chance to host you at the Sheraton Cairo Hotel after the completion of the renovation in the last quarter of 2012.

Sincerely yours,

Sameh Abdel Wahab
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino

Address: 1 El Galaa Sq. Dokki, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Giza
#14 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers And Casino
Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers Hotel Giza
Cairo Sheraton
Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino Egypt/Giza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Cairo Hotel, Towers & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.