We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay with a breathtaking view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx to your Saves list
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Cairo Alex Desert Rd. El Remaya Sq. El Haram, Giza 12556, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Giza
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Nice stay with a breathtaking view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The highlight of this hotel is definitively its unique location. Having the Giza Pyramids as landscape and see them every morning, at the pool or during dinner is breathtaking. The price is another positive point. Great value for the money. The room decoration and specially floor carpets everywhere need some renovation, but basically the hotel offers everything you need for your stay (especially if you are visiting for tourism purpose (and therefore is willing to spend most of day going around rather than staying in the hotel).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
We would like to thank you for your recent visit to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

I am delighted to read that the accommodations and service were up to your expectations, as complete satisfaction is our goal, hence our non-stop attempts to develop and improve the quality of service remains our main objective to deliver the best service our guests deserve.

Together with my team, we would much appreciate to welcoming you as a regular guest and we are looking forward for your next visit.

We wish you all the best in your businesss and personal endeavours.

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    359
    219
    77
    40
See reviews for
215
357
97
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

All in all a fine resort/hotel for the money...but the staff were so standoffish and rude and I felt like all they wanted was tips!

There was one barman at the poolside bar who was so rude to me, I was like woah I am a paying customer!!

Just felt the customer service let this otherwise up to standard resort down :(

Room Tip: Get the higher room with pyramid views. Watch out for people smoking right outside your door though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
We would like to thank you for your recent visit to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We are deeply sorry that you experience did not meet your expectation and we regret that you left the hotel with a negative impression .

Please rest assured that all your comments have been shared within our top management to take the corrective actions to avoide such staff responses and handling in the future.

We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit where you will touch a progress in our services.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

1) Pyramids do not light up at night from the hotel side. If you are booking this hotel thinking of having a beer at the rooftop bar watching lighted pyramids, sorry you wont see a thing at night. You need to go to the otherside of the pyramids to see them lit.

2) Room was very very dirty. It is very dated, so I dont think house keeping will do anything. However I dont think house keeping is cleaning anything anyway except changing linens and towels. There was bad smell from my linen. I saw brown stain( soil? sand?) on my towel and on linen. Carpet is so dirty and old, you dont want to put your barefoot on it. The water temperature in shower is unstable from hot to cold. The desk surface was sticky. The closet was so dirty you can not put anything in there. Breakfast buffet was bad too.

3) Staffs are friendly. There was one young lady at the reception who worked really hard and always smiling. Gentleman ( not sure what his role is) by the complimentary iced tea table was funny and sweet. The staffs at the breakfast were friendly as well.

The price for the hotel was good value but it is too sad the room is so bad that I can not really recommend this hotel to others. They need to redo the rooms seriously. It is too bad.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for posting your constructive comments.

Please be assured that we take all the necessary measures to identify means of development and improvement to elevate the quality of service.

We are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again where you would experience and touch the value of progression.

Again , we are deeply sorry that you experience did not meet your expectation

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

One of the worst experiences I've had with a hotel. Very surprising, as I've stayed at a few Mercure hotels around the world and this was just abysmal.

Pros: A very reasonable breakfast selection, good range of TV channels, comfy beds and finally got a smile from reception when it was time to leave the hotel.

Cons:

- The bathroom door wouldn't close
- The shower would either be hot or cold. There wasn't a midway point.
- The toilet phone wouldn't come off the wall.
- The toilet would continue to flush after pulling the lever, so we would hear the water continue to drip outside. Generally, let's just say the toilet wasn't great.
- uncourteous waiters at the restaurant
- slow reception service
- really slow check in
- breakfast items not replaced once finished
- the upstairs restaurant was eerily dark and deserted.

To add to this, we got the worst first impression from the hotel when we first arrived. The man checking us in was panicky and rude, and untrustworthy. We had booked our own guide who we were meeting at the hotel. Before arriving, we received a text from a man named Mostafa who said he was glad to be our tour guide, and would be waiting at the hotel for us. Strangely, the text was not from the same number our actual guide, Khalid, had contacted us on. When we got to the Mercure, Mostafa assured us he was our guide that we had booked until our actual guide Khalid came to introduce himself. The man who came to check us in reacted angrily at Khalid and loudly shouted at him to wait for us outside the hotel.

Now, I can understand with tourism at an all time low that desperation can make people do silly things, but not only did the hotel make us feel uncomfortable and afraid on arrival, but they were also trying to manipulate us into taking their tour packages when we had no intention to. Mostafa knew too well that we hadn't booked him, yet he played on.

In general - a good looking hotel, with service that you can't trust and people you can't rely on. Steer clear.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx.

We are deeply sorry that your experience did not meet your expectation , Needles to say what occurred does not adhere with our service and standards and we regret that you left the hotel with a negative impression , these occasions are far from our typical daily practices.

Please rest assured that all your comments have been shared within our top management to take the corrective actions to avoide such staff responses and handling in the future.

We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit where you will touch a progress in our services.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Imagine lying on your bed and looking out your window and seeing the pyramids in the distance. That was our experience here. Perched right on the Nile, a stroll into Zamalek, this hotel ticked all the boxes for us. we were up-graded to the Executive Floors and the views were breath-taking. We loved our stay here. I can thoroughly recommend it to you.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room if possible so you can see the pyramids in the distance when you wake up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
It is always a thrill to get a feedback, particularly when it is positive as your experience was.

We strive everyday to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay and marvelous time at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx hotel.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with everyone. It really means a lot to us and our team members.

If you have a chance, please ask for myself or the manager on duty the next time you visit us so we may thank you personally.

Thank you again for your kind comments and patronage. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Overall a pleasant stay however there are definitely some problems, as mentioned in other reviews. These mostly relate to the very poor standard of service

POSITIVES
Well-maintained pool and sun lounge area with lots of space
Decent sauna, steam room, gym with freeweights and jacuzzi (indoors)
Plentiful breakfast buffet with freshly prepared omlettes to order
Fast, free wifi in the lobby
Security- all entrants must walk through a metal detector and have their bag scanned, which provides a sense of safety
ATM in the lobby
Garden-view room is very quiet (I would strongly advise AGAINST a more expensive pyramids-view room, as the Cairo street noise consists of unrelenting honking all day, and there is ample chance to see the pyramids from public areas)
Standard room is spacious with a sofa and private balcony with chairs
Decent bar, but don't expect Egyptians to excel with alcoholic drinks
A steal at 50 USD per night- I've paid more for youth hostels in Europe

NEGATIVES
Very poor service and poor organisation, in particular:
Most staff except the main desk speak very poor English (bear in mind almost all their guests are English-speaking westerners)
Slow pool service- the waitor is almost never present and takes half an hour to pick up and bring over a single can of soft drink- they are surely missing out on lots of money like this
Card key deactivated itself several times throughout the stay
Extortionate restaurants, serving only western food and not local
No in-room wifi
Few, inconveniently located electrical sockets in the room
I was flying out early leaving at 5am and asked the reception about an early breakfast- they said they routinely started at 4.30am. When I got there the chef told me to come back at 5.30, despite the fact that I could see the breakfast food out. I had to angrily go to the main reception who had to come and explain to the chef that I could eat early. At the same time they seemed to let an Arabic speakimg family come to breakfast early with no problem.

SOME TIPS
Garden-view rooms are quieter
Ditch the crappy hotel restaurants- walk 5 minutes down the street to a restaurant called "Felfela". This has both a take-away fast food service, and a fancy restaurant. It serves delicious local cuisine like felafel and shawarma, and costs peanuts.

Overall- a pleasant stay but severe problems with service. This issue probably endemic to the region in general, as evidenced by the ubiquitous touts and the universal intent to rip off tourists. Nonetheless most guests are international and would expect better service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments on trip advisor. Seemingly we were unable to meet with your expectation this time as mentioned in your negative comments .

Please rest assured that all your comments have been shared within our top management to take the corrective actions to avoide such staff responses and handling in the future.

We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit where you will touch a progress in our services.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a large hotel catering for all tastes, from singles to families and large tour groups. All staff were very friendly and welcoming, especially the cleaning crew. Room service was tasty, reasonably priced and offered a range, as well as the variety of restaurants within the hotel. My room was well appointed, clean and comfortable, with a great view of the pyramids - I would stay again, and recommend to all. Coffee making facilities were a bonus, as was the complimentary bottle of water each day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We would like to thank you for your recent visit to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

I am delighted to read that the accommodations and service were up to your expectations, as complete satisfaction is our goal, hence our non-stop attempts to develop and improve the quality of service remains our main objective to deliver the best service our guests deserve.

Together with my team, we would much appreciate to welcoming you as a regular guest and we are looking forward for your next visit.

We wish you all the best in your businesss and personal endeavours.

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx

Address: 1 Cairo Alex Desert Rd. El Remaya Sq. El Haram, Giza 12556, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Giza
#9 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx combines an exciting location & incomparable service. This impressive hotel offers its guests a unique opportunity to explore the historical surroundings in total comfort & convenience. Located in a magnificent park at the foot of the Giza Pyramids & the Sphinx, 35 km from Cairo international airport, this 5-star hotel is ideal for leisure & relaxation seekers with its various recreational facilities as well as business trips with its two fully equipped meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Hotel Giza
Sofitel Hotel Giza
Sofitel Giza
Giza Sofitel
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Egypt/Giza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.