We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Cairo Pyramids

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Cairo Pyramids to your Saves list
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   229 Pyramids Road, Giza 12111, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
City experience
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Giza
Wissen ,Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel was a perfect place for myself and my 11 yearold son. With a small pool and bar and central for the sites of Cairo. Arriving late I asked for food but none was available . I popped along the Street to the local McDonalds not gourmet but it did the trick. I ate in on my other three evenings and the food was good and value by european prices.You also can see the flood light Pyramids from the roof restaueant The rooms were clean big - I found the staff helpful probably the only little niggle was the exspensive WiFi connection Three Pounds Sterling for a hour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelocairo, Assistant Channel Manager at Barcelo Cairo Pyramids, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are really pleased to receive your very much rewarding comments. The entire team of Barceló Cairo Pyramids is delighted that we have succeeded in providing you with a memorable experience.
We would like to apologize for any of the services which were not provided during your recent stay, hoping that you will visit us once again, in order to offer you the best services.
Once again, thank you very much, and we hope to see you soon in our hotel or any other Barceló Hotel around the world
Sincerely,
Sara Said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    157
    69
    28
    13
See reviews for
71
129
51
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Barcelo is located half way down the Pyramids or Haram Road so you need a taxi for any movement. After several visits I can say all the rooms seem clean and tidy, linen is very fresh and the bathrooms are in good condition. Some say the hotel gets traffic noise but for Cairo standards it is quite quiet. Most rooms lack any sort of view and the pyramids are a long way off so not worth booking a room with a view of them. The rooms lack tea and coffee facilities but the hotel is a good 4 star establishment. Breakfasts are large though the eating area can seem a bit crweded and canteen like. The Italian Restaurant on the ground floor is very acceptable.

Room Tip: Try booking through the Barcelo website if the rates are OK for a possible upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelocairo, Assistant Channel Manager at Barcelo Cairo Pyramids, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, let me thank you for sharing with us your opinion about the hotel.
The negative comments you brought to our attention as well as the positive comments are very essential and vital for us, as they encourage us to work hardly to improve all the services provided at the hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you once again at our hotel and hopping that the next stay at Barceló Cairo Pyramids will be more enjoyable.
Best Regards
Sara Said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very nice hotel, our group of four stayed for one night only. Our rooms were all on the 9th floor, very spacious and clean. Complimentary fruit basked in every room. Staff were very helpful and friendly, we had a light dinner around midnight, which was nice and freshly made and reasonably priced. Good breakfast selection. Decor throughout the hotel is very nice, all art deco style. Traffic noise is a big problem in Cairo, and this hotel is on one of the main roads - it is noisy at night, so if you are a light sleeper you might want to use earplugs.
Good location for Giza pyramids and most Cairo sights.
Of all the places I stayed in Cairo so far, this is the only one that made an impression and I actually enjoyed staying there. Would certainly go back next time I visit, an excellent value for money!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelocairo, Assistant Channel Manager at Barcelo Cairo Pyramids, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, We would like to thank you for your comments that let us know that we are doing something right and that our clients appreciate it, also for your confidence in the staff ‘s ability to serve you.
As you might have seen the hotel is located in a very busy street and that is the main reason for the noise, especially at the night time. That’s why all the windows now have double glass and we are always working on improving their quality.
Once again, thank you very much, and we hope to see you soon in our hotel or any other Barceló Hotel around the world
Best Regards
Sara Said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I arrived at 4AM to a friendly and efficient staff at check-in. The room I got on the 10th floor was very nice with a clean and comfortable bed as well as a large and clean bathroom. The only real negative I have for the room is that some of the fittings are a little tired and the finish in the painting was a bit sloppy. But where it counts, I am very happy with the hotel and can recommend it highly.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelocairo, Assistant Channel Manager at Barcelo Cairo Pyramids, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor. it is our pleasure and honor that you are choosing us as a destination for your stay.

We do appreciate mentioning all these positive points about the hotel, and we are very happy to know that you didn’t face any obstacles during your stay.

We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Barceló Cairo Pyramids.

Looking forward to welcome you once again at our hotel or at any of the 142 Hotels that Barceló Hotels & Resorts has in 16 different destinations.

Sincerely,
Sara Said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Hotel was nice. Rooms are very clean. A welcome fruit basket is served to you on your arrival.

Lobby is amazing and huge. Different areas where you could sit peacefully.

Location being in a very busy AL HARAM STREET in GIZA gives u lots of traffic jams n noise pollution but I must say I didnt have any problems with the noise in my room as they had sound proof windows. Another reason could be as I was on the 9th Floor.

The breakfast was nice as we had a chef preparing eggs as per our choice n needs apart from lots of other things available to eat.

Spa is OK. But the females giving the massage dont know english which is definitely a problematic issue. You cant communicate with them or cant convey what you want. They also keep the massage room door wide open while giving you a massage.

Internet had repeated disconnections but since it was included in my room tariff, it was digestable.

Pool was nice and peaceful and also very clean.

The only problem that I had was with the aircondition. It gave out WARM AIR instead of COLD AIR. On repeated complaints every night, i was given a wierd reply that since it is winter season, the air condition has been turned off and if you dont want warm air, turn off the AC so you will feel comfortable. Normally my belief is that even in winter which was about 10 degrees celcius in Cairo those days, if you turn on the AC at a given temperature, even if its very cold outside, the AC maintains your room temperature which you have set, but these guys preferred to turn off the AC and it gave out WARM AIR which definitely made me feel hot. One night, i had to actually turn off the AC and OPEN THE WINDOW and sleep to get a little comfortable sleep.

The hotel is at a very nice location with lots of restaurants around at walking distance. MACDONALDS, KFC, PIZZA HUT and not to forget SPECTRA (serves excellent STEAK)

Anyone needing a TAXI, I would suggest one very nice genuine and above all, HONEST man. His name is TALAAT ZAKY MOHAMED. He is always stationed right outside the hotel. He is a very honest man, you can fix the tariff with him well in advance and he is not the one who would unnecessarily take you around town to increase his meter tariff. Even if you leave something in the taxi while you are shopping, it will all be in safe hands in his custody. Even a couple of hotel staff members recommended him to me. He was working with the egyptian airforce earlier and is a trained MIG - 21 AIRCRAFT MECHANIC by profession. Has retired now. SPEAKS ENGLISH VERY FLUENTLY thats a big plus. Anyone who needs a cab, his cell no is +201223670306. You can give him my reference. SHEHBAZ from INDIA.

Over all experience of the hotel, except the AC, AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE.

Will definitely go back if the AC problem gets resolved.

Thanks,
SHEHBAZ

Room Tip: Choose a Higher Floor but make sure ur lucky enough not to have a problem with the AC. Apart from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelocairo, Assistant Channel Manager at Barcelo Cairo Pyramids, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Client,

First of all, let me seize this opportunity to thank you for sharing your unique experience with us. It is really helpful to know the feedback of our guests as well as understand their needs.

Comments such us yours considers our standard satisfaction indicator that makes us move on continuously improvement in order to offer only the best to our guests.

Really there`s no word enough to express how we do appreciate your kind comments and thanks for bringing the matter of the window to our attention and of course we will take it in consideration as a matter of improvement.

We also take in consideration the weak points you have brought to our attention, in order to improve ourselves and offer the best service to our valuable guests.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Barceló Cairo Pyramids.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel or at any of the 142 Hotels that Barceló Hotels & Resorts has in 16 different destinations.

Sincerely,
Sara Said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

A group of four of us stayed here in February.

The hotel itself is lovely and the staff are extremely helpful.
As the hotel is in the middle of Cairo and you are visiting for site seeing I would suggest booking through a tour company rather than venturing out alone. It can be a little intimidating especially for women; but that is just Cairo as a whole.

Great selection for breakfast including a man that makes you omelettes to order. Good pastries :)
The restaurant staff were helpful and a nice waiter called Amin showed us magic tricks and opened the restaurant early so we could take pictures of the views at Sunset. He entertained us greatly.

The pool was nice and it was quiet at the hotel so we could plug our ipod in to the stereo by the pool.

Thanks to Amin and Mustafa for making our stay very enjoyable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelocairo, Assistant Channel Manager at Barcelo Cairo Pyramids, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest
First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us, It is our most sincere wish that all our guests have an experience similar to yours and we are so happy that you have chosen our hotel as a destination for your stay.
The entire team of Barceló Cairo Pyramids feels the same passion about working here and they are able to convey this through interactions with our valuable guests in addition to presenting the best services.
We couldn't ask for anything more than your return to us in the future.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
Sara Said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

A lot of things about this hotel are good. There is a very attractive pool area with bar from which there is a view of the pyramids. Restaurant on the top floor was very attractive with a pleasant waiter but though the food looked OK it's taste was very poor. We therefore tried the Italian the next night which was much better.
However we have one major complaint about our 2 rooms. One was facing into the lift shaft and the other facing a wall. The air conditioning did not work and the rooms were oppressively hot. Complained to the front desk the next morning and said they would fix it. Next night same problem. Following morning complained and again said they would fix the air conditioning but we could change rooms if we wished. Air conditioning still did not work. Complained again next morning and then were told that the air conditioning was turned off because it was winter!
Would I return To this hotel - NO

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelocairo, Assistant Channel Manager at Barcelo Cairo Pyramids, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, let me seize this opportunity to thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is really helpful to know the feedback of our guests as well as understand their needs, and also to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your previous stays.

We deeply regret the incident of the air conditioning matter and the rooms location, no doubt it could be handled in a professional way, which unfortunately did not happen.

We never encountered such trouble with a simple guest request, although we thank you once again for bringing these issues to our attention, in order to help us better understanding your expectations.

We look forward that your next visit ,you may see a progression that would meet with your expectation.
We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at our hotel or at any of the 142 Hotels that Barceló Hotels & Resorts has in 16 different destinations.
Sincerely
Sara Said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Cairo Pyramids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Cairo Pyramids

Address: 229 Pyramids Road, Giza 12111, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Giza
#5 Spa Hotel in Giza
#7 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Cairo Pyramids 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Cairo Pyramids **** is a modern hotel located in one of the most famous streets of the Middle East, the Pyramids Road. Due to its proximity to the legendary and unique Pyramids of Giza and the Great Sphinx and to Cairo’s city centre, it is the perfect place where to start discovering this millenary city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Barcelo, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Cairo Pyramids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids Hotel Giza
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids Egypt/Giza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Cairo Pyramids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.