We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and potentially for the true adventurer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sakkara Country Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Giza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sakkara Country Club
Save
You added Sakkara Country Club to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Sakkara Tourist Road, after Siag Pyramids Hotel 12KM | 6KM from Maadi ring road - El Badrashin Exit Sakkara Country Club entrance Kamel branch after El Madina Academy 300 meters, Giza, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Giza B&B and Inns
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Romantic and potentially for the true adventurer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

You know how you sometimes see photos on a website, but when you get there it's a let-down? Well this was the opposite. It was even more beautiful than in the photos.

The restaurant service by the pool was at all times attentive. There was no one in the pool bar, yes, it's a real pool bar with stools in the water, but they were happy to bring the drinks to the pool bar from the restaurant. It was particularly romantic having dinner by the lit pool at night. Just bring mosquito spray and you'll be fine. However, other than when I arrived, the service at reception was poor as there was almost never anyone there to answer the occasional question (hence the four star rating instead of five).

I'd been to Egypt before and wanted to stay on the Giza side of the Nile again, instead of hectic Cairo. This hotel doesn't have a clear view of the pyramids as does the Mena House Oberoi Hotel (avoid that disastrous hotel at all cost) because it's a bit further south, between the Giza pyramids and Saqqara pyramids. But it's in a perfect location if you also plan on visiting the pyramids at Saqqara or even Dashour (see my reviews on these).

Can't get enough of exploring pyramids? The most exciting and peaceful experience during my entire stay in Egypt was venturing out beyond the hotel premises through a hole in the back gate of the hotel, which is right on the edge of the desert. From there it was a serene walk to the elusive Abu Sir pyramids (see my review).

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed three nights at Sakkara Country Club while in Egypt around the New Year in Dec 2012.

The staff was great! They were very helpful and spoke english sufficiently.

The location, out of the way. You need to want to do this, it is outside of the hustle and bustle of Cairo. It is right on the desert, so easy access for horseback riding and ATV's.

The food was OK. The kitchen did a great job for Breakfast (although it did not start until 9:30 am) and Lunch. The dinner menu was small.

There are not many rooms, and thus, not the services of a large hotel. However, if you want to get away, this is the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It is still a secret; as it was, 20 years ago! Now, after new management and absolute great landscape - review, the Sakkara Country Club offers great possibilities! Esp. for people who like to escape Downtown and spend some hours near the desert, this place is a MUST! On a friday morning you need not much more than 20 Minutes to reach this great place from Zamalek or downtown. If you are a rider: pls contact in advance through the good (but simple) website.
ANd than: relax at the big pool, use sqad to see the desert, have a foot-walk ore a ride, enjoy the arabic food... and come back, as a friend, next weekend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Firstly i would like to say that for 5 years living in this country I haven't been so amazed by a very special place like Sakkara Country Club, I've heard about it quite a lot, but the fact that throughout my times of living in Egypt and almost knowing every place in Cairo, I honestly never thought there's such a place that could be so magical and relaxing.
Recently I decided to go and check it out after being offered by some kind old egyptian friends, at first i thought it would be as any place i go, and by the time i entered from the gate i knew was wrong with such thought. Going to the point with this place it's extremely amazing with everything in it such as the massive pool, amazingly delicious food with all of it's kind, excellent services, the friendly and alerted professional staff, and not to forget to mention the excursions and activities such as quad biking or horse back riding in the desert which they do defines the word fun.
To cut the story short, whoever is looking for great times, great hospitality, a place to relax, a place to have some real adventures, then for sure Sakkara Country Club is the perfect choice for it's truly a great place.

Room Tip: All Rooms are more than just good and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We are an expat family that really wanted to get some sun and enjoy a pool day. All our expectations were met and we are extremely satisfied with the Sakkara country club. It was An amazing weekend because the staff was very friendly, efficient, welcoming, and hard working. The pool is very well maintained as well as the pool furniture. The food was delicious as well as the presentation. We spent the night in a room that was extremely clean and well furnished. We loved the color theme and the oriental touch which made the room very cosy as well as the lighting. We also took a ride on the quads in the desert which was very well organized and fun. Our guide led us carefully all the way to the Sakkara pyramid which was a new way of seeing the pyramid. We had a wonderful two days spent at the Sakkara country club. We felt as if we had just come back from a ten day holiday because it was so relaxing. Considering the fact that the club is so close to the ring road and the access so easy, we will go back as much as we can and recommend this unique experience to everybody.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equipped the same and have a view of the desert and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I went to Sakkara country club, it is an amazing place. The pool & the service there is great. We enjoyed the day a lot & loved the food, it is a money value. It a place you must visit in Egypt. It is very clean & the stuff is very polite & professional.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I booked a quad tour in the desert around the Saqqara pyramids with three other friends. After signing the required documents we were give each one a decent and recent helmet (they had all the sizes in order to make everyone confortable).
The quads provided were quite recent and well maintained. They have 5 automatic gears and are very easy to drive.
We then left to the desert with our tour guide for a one hour trip. The drive was quite simple (so suitable to any level of ability and experience) but nice. We made a cuple of stops to take pictures.
Price pp was 175 EGP.
After we decided to stay at the club and use the pool. Price to acces the pool was EGP125 including lunch (mixed grill and a bottle of water) and a towel. The pool was very nice and very well maintained/cleant.
Finally it was a very good day out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sakkara Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakkara Country Club

Address: Sakkara Tourist Road, after Siag Pyramids Hotel 12KM | 6KM from Maadi ring road - El Badrashin Exit Sakkara Country Club entrance Kamel branch after El Madina Academy 300 meters, Giza, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sakkara Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sakkara Country Club has created amenities and facilities to suit the most discerning taste. Luxurious accommodations for members and their quests, traditional Arabic food prepared by Professional chefs served at several venues. In Egypt, it is unique being a true country club with stable facilities for more than ninety horses and sand filled paddocks. The leisure and recreational opportunities and activities for every level of ambition from the strenuous to the totally relaxing are the hallmarks of the new Sakkara Country Club, as is the exhilarating experience of riding across the vast expanse of adjacent desert. The Club strives to offer not only the best in physical facilities but to build a complete, outstanding leisure experience for its members. The total number of members is limited to avoid over-crowding and prospective members are screened for suitability. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sakkara Country Club Hotel Giza
Sakkara Country Club Egypt/Giza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakkara Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.