We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best location but comfy beds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caroline Crillon Hotel

Caroline Crillon Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Caroline Crillon Hotel to your Saves list
Caroline Crillon Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Syria Street Mohandessin, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not the best location but comfy beds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

I stayed at the Caroline Crillon on two separate occasions during a GAP tour of Egypt. The rooms are fairly basic and could probably do with an upgrade to the interior decoration (think 70s style if you want to picture the current look). However, the rooms served their purpose as a place to rest my weary head first, after a long plane journey and then, after the sleeper train trip from hell. The beds would be some of the most comfortable I have slept in.

Breakfast is pretty average, consisting of instant coffee, eggs, cheeses and lots of bread. However, the staff are helpful, happy to arrange wake-up calls, advise where to buy cheap water etc.

One thing I noticed is that the hotel seems to be located far from everything the average tourist in Cairo wants to get to, like the airport (a 1.5 hour trip), the pyramids and the downtown area around Khan el Khalili (both lengthy car trips). On this basis, I probably would not recommend it to fellow tourists.

There is also a considerable amount of traffic noise which you can hear in the rooms, as the hotel is on the corner of a busy street. This goes on until late at night and starts again early in the morning. Be aware of this if you're a light sleeper!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
6
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

This hotel has it's pros and cons.

I found the location rather inconvenient for getting around. It's on the Giza side of the river and with traffic in Cairo, crossing the bridge to the Cairo proper can take forever! No access to the metro from here.

The hotel was the noisiest I have ever stayed in and we were on a high floor. Make sure you stay not facing the street.

The style of the rooms was old, depressing, and felt like a college dorm. I'd rate it a 2 star than 3 star.

On the plus side, the food in the restaurant was very good and the staff was top notch! Totally professional, friendly and pleasant, caring, going out of their way to please you. Despite the unimpressive place, the staff was the best I have ever had anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algeria
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

Hey guys, im here to tell you some good advices about Caroline Crillion hotel. Caroline hotel was one of the best hotels I stayed in. I went with 3 of my friends and we enjoyed so much.

1) Caroline Hotel has some beautiful rooms. I can assure you if you go down for shopping or anything else, you would come back and you would find it cleaned (Even if it was like for 5 minutes).
2) In my opinion, I think the Caroline was one of the most good hotels that services food. They get their food ( I dont know from where), but it is extremely delicious.
3) The staff of the hotel are EXTREMELY well behaved. They have good manners, and they are very helpfull.

And about the noise, I see its very load. But I excuse them because when I look from the window, I see that this is a main part in Cairo. It has alot of Traffic., so I excuse them for this.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire,united kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

i stayed at this hotel for one week and it was the worst experience of my life. the food was terrible, it gave me dirrhoea, i was changed rooms more than twice during a week stay, i was booked into a room with no linen change prior, the noise was unbearable all day and all night, had to sleep with television on and loud as the noise from outside hotel was just too much. the rooms would need to be updated. i lost personal ornaments i had just bought for 1500 pounds(egyptian) i would not even recommend my worst enemy to this hotel...

  • Disliked — shower room needs update, food preparation needs to be improved, visitors property security
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

It was a great experience to stay there! From check-in till check-out we didn't observe anything negative. We had a fantastic vacation in Egypt and rank it as one of our best ever. This hotel is excellent, We stayed for five days in Aug. of this year and then we traveld to the best city in the world Sharm ElShikh, Great staff The service from everyone was over the top. The room was very clean and the service was impeccable. The food was very well prepared and there was a wide selection to choose from

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

I Stayed here for 5 nights, The view at night from my room was fantastic, rooms are spacious with comfortable beds. Bathroom was fine but could do with a little upgrade to bring it up to the standard of the rest of hotel but the main thing is that everything was clean, The receptionists are helpful and all staff smile and greet guests as and when they see them, The food was fantastic,I have to say I cannot fault anything about this hotel is was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

My girlfriend and i stayed in Caroline Crillon Hotel early May and had a very very good time. We spent four nights at the beginning of the tour. The hotel had a very good location in Mohandseen and very good view from top floor, The hotel is clean, The staff are very friendly especially Mr. Hesham, the food is very delcious, the rooms are large but bathes are small, restaurants are good but small
I would stay here again and again

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caroline Crillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caroline Crillon Hotel

Address: 49 Syria Street Mohandessin, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caroline Crillon Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Caroline Crillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caroline Crillon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.