We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking!! Disgusting!! Sly staff!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pyramids View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pyramids View Hotel to your Saves list
Pyramids View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 El Sadat Street | Hadaek El Ahram Zone, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 135 Hotels in Cairo
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Shocking!! Disgusting!! Sly staff!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My friends booked this hotel and I was a little nervous as I do like my nicer hotels. When we got there the smell hit me very stuffy and disgusting front desk. The rooms were awful! The toilet was not flushed hair was blocking the sink. There was blood stains and yellow stains on the sheets! I can't even begin to explain how disgusting the room was. Everything felt itchy and sticky. The room was booked for 3 nights so we just had to make sure we were careful and called house keeping and make sure they scrubbed the bath and shower and change our beddings! They kept saying sorry but if they knew we were checking in the rooms could have been cleaned.
Ok the pyramids were opposite the hotel, i would have rather stayed one hour away in a cleaner hotel! Every one around us seemed to want something for nothing and I felt I had to tip when I did not want to. They all seem to have the gift of the gab and they will blatantly lie to your face. One night the music was so loud it was vibrating our room and when i called them they said it will be over soon it went on for hours.
Lock your belongings and even your perfumes as it was obvious someone sprayed my perfume when we got back to the hotel I was coughing. It's a shame as the place really put a downer on my holiday.. Try any other hotel but not this one!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    6
    12
    12
See reviews for
5
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goathland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This place is a terrible hotel. The facilities are horrible and so dirty. the restaurant was slow and low quality. it has a pool but you couldn't use it because of whatever was growing on the surface of the water. Never again. Pay a bit extra and go somewhere better.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a Kamuka tour and we were absolutely disgusted.

Our room had severe mould in the bathroom, there was blood on the linen and the entire room smelled. Our first night we were kept up by extremely loud music with a baseline that made the bedside lamps rattle. Upon complaining we were told this was from the night club across the street and nothing could be done.

This was a blatant lie as we discovered when a group of us went for breakfast and pressed the wrong button in the elevator which opened up to a club!! On the floor directly above us in the hotel!! We were shocked to see the remnants of some very drunk men and scantily clad women looking at us with gaping mouths, we hastily pushed the door close button.

During our stay we heard screaming and shouting at early hours which was absolutely terrifying and I did not feel safe once, meaning I got no sleep and was in no mood to go out during the day.

We complained to Kamuka upon our return and they informed us they had received multiple complaints about the hotel and were in the process of changing, I am unsure if this is true.

Please save yourself and DO NOT STAY HERE!! Even with a tour group I felt unsafe and I hope others can avoid our experience.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Nice place to stay, cozy, slightly overpriced. Clean

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The time we spent in the hotel can not be called excellent. We were expecting far better. Cleanliness in the Hotel, it's room and specially the Restaurant which is being used for breakfast needs to be renovated immediately.

Room Tip: Select a room facing Pyramids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

At this time (March 2011) there is still a lot of building work going on - constant noise of drills grinders and welding. Thre are no shops, hairdressers, no gym or spa and the pool is NOT heated. Fantastic views of pyramids from the pool area but few rooms can see them. Very few rooms have balconies though they are spacious and clean. We were constantly being interupted by staff wanting to make up the room or carry out work. Lots of friendly staff but the service was slow and I thought prices were on the high side (eg £20 for bottle of local wine). Food was adequate but lacked imagination in the presentation. In short as a tourist I was disappointed.

Room Tip: good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

After arriving in Cairo to discover our origional hotel had closed, spent first night in a 'no star' dump organized by Tour Company. Next 2 nights at Pyramid's View courtesy of Accomodation booking company, as this was all they could organize. Room was spacious, but ordinary. Staff were'nt particularly helpful, except the ones looking for tips. Wouldn't swim in the pool as it had little bubbles floating on top from what, who knows. Breakfast was very average, consisting of breads and not much else unless one is happy guessing at what it is you are eating. Generally, the place looked the worse for wear. We were warned by our travel agent to deduct at least 2 stars from advertised rating, and not to believe the pictures of rooms etc. Reading other reviews, this seems to be the norm with Cairo.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
1.9 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#2 of 135 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#2 of 37 in Giza
4.5 of 5 stars 757 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Gabriel Hotel
The Gabriel Hotel
#34 of 135 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
1.8 mi away
Grand Pyramids Hotel
Grand Pyramids Hotel
#17 of 37 in Giza
3.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pyramids View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyramids View Hotel

Address: 10 El Sadat Street | Hadaek El Ahram Zone, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 135 Hotels in Cairo
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pyramids View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pyramids View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.