We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pyramids View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pyramids View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pyramids View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 El Sadat Street | Hadaek El Ahram Zone, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 131 hotels in Cairo
Goathland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a dump”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This place is a terrible hotel. The facilities are horrible and so dirty. the restaurant was slow and low quality. it has a pool but you couldn't use it because of whatever was growing on the surface of the water. Never again. Pay a bit extra and go somewhere better.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    6
    11
    12
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a Kamuka tour and we were absolutely disgusted.

Our room had severe mould in the bathroom, there was blood on the linen and the entire room smelled. Our first night we were kept up by extremely loud music with a baseline that made the bedside lamps rattle. Upon complaining we were told this was from the night club across the street and nothing could be done.

This was a blatant lie as we discovered when a group of us went for breakfast and pressed the wrong button in the elevator which opened up to a club!! On the floor directly above us in the hotel!! We were shocked to see the remnants of some very drunk men and scantily clad women looking at us with gaping mouths, we hastily pushed the door close button.

During our stay we heard screaming and shouting at early hours which was absolutely terrifying and I did not feel safe once, meaning I got no sleep and was in no mood to go out during the day.

We complained to Kamuka upon our return and they informed us they had received multiple complaints about the hotel and were in the process of changing, I am unsure if this is true.

Please save yourself and DO NOT STAY HERE!! Even with a tour group I felt unsafe and I hope others can avoid our experience.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012 via mobile

Nice place to stay, cozy, slightly overpriced. Clean

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The time we spent in the hotel can not be called excellent. We were expecting far better. Cleanliness in the Hotel, it's room and specially the Restaurant which is being used for breakfast needs to be renovated immediately.

Room Tip: Select a room facing Pyramids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

At this time (March 2011) there is still a lot of building work going on - constant noise of drills grinders and welding. Thre are no shops, hairdressers, no gym or spa and the pool is NOT heated. Fantastic views of pyramids from the pool area but few rooms can see them. Very few rooms have balconies though they are spacious and clean. We were constantly being interupted by staff wanting to make up the room or carry out work. Lots of friendly staff but the service was slow and I thought prices were on the high side (eg £20 for bottle of local wine). Food was adequate but lacked imagination in the presentation. In short as a tourist I was disappointed.

Room Tip: good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

After arriving in Cairo to discover our origional hotel had closed, spent first night in a 'no star' dump organized by Tour Company. Next 2 nights at Pyramid's View courtesy of Accomodation booking company, as this was all they could organize. Room was spacious, but ordinary. Staff were'nt particularly helpful, except the ones looking for tips. Wouldn't swim in the pool as it had little bubbles floating on top from what, who knows. Breakfast was very average, consisting of breads and not much else unless one is happy guessing at what it is you are eating. Generally, the place looked the worse for wear. We were warned by our travel agent to deduct at least 2 stars from advertised rating, and not to believe the pictures of rooms etc. Reading other reviews, this seems to be the norm with Cairo.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
328 helpful votes 328 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

My wife and I spent one night in this hotel that is claiming to have 4 stars, but could be categorized as a 3 star if not even 2 star-hotel. According to what we have read before going there -the hotel biggest advantage is that it has Pyramids view in 45 out of its 75 rooms but as usual we got one of the other 30 rooms that have swimming pool view. We can't say that we enjoyed our stay - the looking old furniture of the room and bathroom that needed to be reconditioned years ago plus the noisy old air-conditioner didn't give us a warm welcome. When we tried to go on the room terrace it turned out that it's a big one shared with several other rooms.The nearby mosque woke up very early in the morning and only the relatively good breakfast and the affordable price would make me say that you can spend there not more than one night.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pyramids View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyramids View Hotel

Address: 10 El Sadat Street | Hadaek El Ahram Zone, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 131 hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pyramids View Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Pyramids View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pyramids View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.