We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn - Citystars

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn - Citystars to your Saves list
Holiday Inn - Citystars
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ali Rashid Street, Cairo 11757, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #23 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
Toronto
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The friendly and helpful staff both at the front desk and in the coffee shop make this hotel really stand out.

The rooms are generic in style and average in size, but clean and comfortable.

The free WiFi worked pretty well. The Indian restaurant is very good indeed.

Two weaknesses prevent me from giving it an 'outstanding' rating:

1. The gym, while clean, is small and cramped. The equipment was in good repair but limited in scope. If the gym could be doubled in size, with additional machines and perhaps more windows, it'd be great.
2. Guests were smoking on my non-smoking floor, to the extent that the corridor was blue with the haze. And generally there is a smell of smoke throughout the hotel. I don't know what the hotel can do about this in the short term, since it is probably a general issue in Egypt. One suggestion could be to segregate linens and pillows by smoking and non-smoking.

Room Tip: Try to avoid street-facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    113
    34
    12
    12
See reviews for
45
42
35
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nara
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was in a serious trouble in Cairo.
I found it at City Stars and asked for a help at the reception of this hotel, which was next to the shopping centre.
Even though I did not stay at the hotel, and just asked for a help, they warmely helped me a lot!
Especially, concierge, Mr. Mohamed Said was helpful with his big smile.
You can trust this hotel and will probably have a good time at this hotel with their good service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very warm and helpful staff, good food, excellent service and a very friendly and warm atmosphere. The rooms are spacious and clean. Overall a very nice experience. The location is very convenient as the hotel is close to City Stars Mall and also the airport, and the restaurants are very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We thought we was lucky in this hotel which was in a brilliant location adjacent to the Citystars shopping centre. The nice friendly front desk staff adds to the value. The rooms were clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed. The T.V. had more than 100 international channels. The breakfast was amazing and delicious. The gym was very useful with its swimming pool. However when I reported the faulty shaver point in the bathroom it was never repaired. We were not happy with the room services. The last day of our stay the bathroom was left in a mess with hand towels not changed and left untidy and the soap tray was left untidy. No body wash gel was left For the last two days the tea-making facility was not attended or re-filled. We thought those services were essential and must be considered in such a highly reputable hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Very poor food menu portions, and quality .fries is second degree, and cold it was white, deserts were terrible only 3 juices available and the place is dull. Had to ask for check for 3 times . Didnt try the rooms

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn - Citystars, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Reem G,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during my business trip in Nov 2012 and therefore did not have much time to enjoy the room, restaurant or explore the city :-(. Anyway, the location is very safe and handy, close to the airport (about 10minutes, but can take much longer during famous Cairo rush hour), the room was fine, reasonably large, wifi working..., one claim - I was accomodated on the smoking floor (nonsmokig room was not available at that time) which was disappointing. Other then that, the hotel is nice, breakfast is great, staff helpful, next door really large shopping mall full of shops and restaurants..., I will stay in this hotel again in case I return to Cairo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohamedI926, General Manager at Holiday Inn - Citystars, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We strive every day to ensure our guests have a marvelous time at our Hotel; it is extremely encouraging for someone to tell us how we are doing and so I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry though that you were not fortunate with a non-smoking room as your preference but I am sure if you book ahead we will make sure you have it for your next visit which I hope is soon.

All the best.

Mohamed B. Ibrahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

As a mentioned in the title this hotel one of the rare hotels I been in it is homey feeling.
I felt like homey with the kind of treatment and customer service which I considered one of the best in Ciro.
My special thankful to Mohammed in concierge, this guy is really an assets to Holiday Inn he made my stay a piece of pleasure with endless smile and immediate support and help even I'm a demand-able guest.
About rooms I stayed at room 521 from Dec 24th to Dec 26th, the room was amazing, clean, comfortable although its a little bit small but workable.
For sure I'll be at Holiday Inn next time due to Mohammed from concierge and incredible customer service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn - Citystars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Citystars

Address: Ali Rashid Street, Cairo 11757, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Cairo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#23 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn - Citystars 4.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cairo City Stars is part of the exciting CityStars Complex, the largest shopping and entertainment centre in the Middle East, and the latest integrated project and landmark in Cairo. The hotel is ideally located 7 minutes from Cairo International Airport, 10 minutes from Cairo International Conference Centre and 30 minutes from downtown Cairo. The hotel is ideal location to start many tours and also enjoy the vibrant life of Cairo.Guests are assured of a comfortable and relaxing stay in 311 guestrooms including superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. Executive Floor guests will have access to the Executive Lounge where they can check in and our privately and enjoy breakfast, snacks and drinks on complimentary basis. Holiday Inn Cairo City Stars offers various dining options, coffee shop, bar, lounge and 24 hour room service. Also 4 banquet rooms with flexible spacing.Facilities and services at Holiday Inn Cairo City Stars include fully equipped Business Center. The hotel offer Complimentary High Speed Internet Access and WIFI in all guest rooms, and Health Club offers the latest state-of-the-art fitness equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn - Citystars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Citystars Hotel Cairo
Holiday Inn Cairo
Cairo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn - Citystars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.