We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very chilled out & professional staff, good place to stay for backpackers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canadian Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Canadian Hostel to your Saves list
Canadian Hostel
5, Talaat Harb Street 1st florr | Tahrir Squire- Down Town - Cairo, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A very chilled out & professional staff, good place to stay for backpackers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Jimmy, Mohammad, Medhat & Mido makes up a brilliant team with Jimmy being a very patient, helpful and an understanding manager. Nearly all my trip in Cairo was planned with the help of the staff. The rooms are clean and the location is super as it is very close to Tahrir Square. The entrance of the building is a little messy but the condition of the hotel is good! The staff speaks english well so you can easily coordinate. There is only 1 suggestion that i would like to give you, I feel the tours by Canadian Hostel are a little expensive so in case you are looking to get a tour, first make a research with the nearby agents (There are plenty in that area!) and then take your call accordingly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the other half of the hostel (the one which is opposite to the reception desk) has a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    13
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
5
6
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The canadian is very nice to stay, the have a amazing staff, who tried to help you to have a nice time at Egypt. The building is horrible, but the room is very good! There shower is not good, but you can have a shower if you have patience... BUT NOT BELIEVE IN THE TOURS! ARE EXPENSIVE AND THEY DONT GIVE YOU WHAT THEY SAY!!! If you are travelling alone and need somebody tho pic you up at airport, bus station, etc, they are expensive but really goods! But the tours they said that you gonna have a tour guide but its never is true!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Jimmy, Mohammad, Medhat and all of the other staff at the Canadian Hostel were absolutely impeccable. They not only gave us a great night in Cairo, but effectively made the rest of our trip to Egypt. They offered service which gave us other hotels in Aswan and Luxor, they gave us tour guides, transportation, and even bought our train tickets for us. You will never get better service in your life. These guys know how to run a business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Canadian Hostel for 5 days when we first arrived in Cairo and loved it so much that after travelling around Egypt we came back and stayed the rest of our time here before leaving. The staff is very friendly and helpful-always willing to help you get train tickets or even take you to Coptic Cairo themselves! Perfect staff, perfect location!
Next time I return to Egypt I will definitely stay at Canadian Hostel. I only have good memories and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The rooms are so cheap as it is, choose one with air conditioning. My friend and I paid a little mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanta, Egypt
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

After experiencing lots of disasters, I finally found that Canadian Hostel is the best hostels in Cairo. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean, the price is acceptable, and the most important thing is that there are hot water! To those who don't speak Arabic, in Canadian Hostel, you can communicate with the staff without any problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainan, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The location is perfect, near Egyptian Museum and the metro, convenient to reach other sights and easy to grab simple and delicious Egyptian food around. The staff are friendly and full of energy. They are willing to answer any question and speak good English. I've stayed in three hostels in Cairo and this is the best one with reasonable prices. The bedrooms and bathrooms are clean and WIFI is fast and stable. Canadian is the only hostel that provides hair dryer among all the hostels i stayed in Egypt. I felt they are thoughtful and care about details. It is definitely a nice choice when you visit Cairo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Excellent value for money. Very central location in Downtown Cairo,2 minutes to the Egyptian Museum, Midam Tahrir and the metro station. Although the building looks a bit old but it's french designed. They have a door man 24 hours, that makes me feel safe. The common spaces and the rooms are very clean and spacious. Choose room number 115, it has shower inside. The staff are very friendly and helpful, they speak very well english, they have organized a wonderful falucca trip in the south, thanks jimmy. very recommend this hostel.
see you guys next time :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canadian Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadian Hostel

Address: 5, Talaat Harb Street 1st florr | Tahrir Squire- Down Town - Cairo, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Canadian Hostel is the Best Hostel in Cairo, Egypt, and perhaps the best in Africa!" We are located right in the centre of downtown Cairo, across the street from the subway and with a 5 minute walk to the Egyptian Museum it makes us hard to beat as the best place to stay.Please enjoy our friendly atmosphere, great service and hospitality. Breakfast is included (Egyptian & Continental) and our staff will exert each and every effort to make your stay a comfortable one.Almost all our rooms have air conditioning, including our dorm room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Canadian Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canadian Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.