We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, but still not improved” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sara Inn Hostel

Sara Inn Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sara Inn Hostel to your Saves list
Sara Inn Hostel
21 Youssef El Gendi | Cnr. Hoda Sharawy St. Downtown, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well located, but still not improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stay in the Sara Inn at every trip to Cairo for now 7 years.......the owner is very sympathetic and helpfull as its employees, But since years he never managed any improvement. That means everything is going holder and used each year.....it is pityfull because of the fact that this hostel is really at a key geographical location in Cairo at a quiet reasonable price. I would recommend it but don't expect more for the price.

Room Tip: ask for the free pickup at the airport if you stay minimum two nights. This is a KEY service when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
12
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is very central, close to tahir but far enough for being safe. One day there was a riot with 3 people being killed, we didnt have any problems at the hotel's location.

People were friendly but only very helpfull in selling their own trips. we asked if they could call a hostel at Luxor for us, they only called their travelagent who wanted to sell us the whole guided tour- hotel- program. We only had one night there, so we finally agreed. The trip was ok, if i ask someone to help me calling a hotel, i expect a bit more anyway.

Breakfast is 1.5 hotdog buns, 1 hard egg, 1 cheese, 1 jam. butter would have been nice.

The rooms are pretty clean and rather quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Hostel is conveniently located near Midan Tahrir (main square) meaning that it is easy to take metro to any direction and Egyptian museum is just few steps away.

However, the rooms are quite old, without any charm and shared bathroom is really really basic and small. Breakfast is below average (and average is not high either in Egypt) and there are no nice areas that invites to meet other travelers. This is "sleep and go" type of hostel.

You have way better options, such as Australian hostel or Freedom hostel (just to name ones I know personally). I came here only as I did not find place in other hostels.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dahab
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The staff couldn't have been more helpful and nicer - our room was ready when we arrived even though it was 7:00 am, they organised a really good value trip to the pyramids with a knowledgeable driver, and they even gave us a discount because of our name! The room was better than expected considering the price, comfortable, with air con...and it's in a really good location near (but not too near!) Tahrir Square, and walkable to everywhere you might want to visit in Cairo.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

My Husband an I were meet at the airport after a very long trip from New Zealand in April 2010 for the beginning of a 5 month adventure.We had the very good fortune to of been recommended this Hostel as a base to travel around Egypt . The Wonderful Ahmed organized our travel around the Country to see all the sites (at a very reasonable price). This was done is a very personal manner where we felt part of a new family. I had my 40th Bday when we arrived and Ahmed arranged at his own cost the most fantastic evening in Giza facing the pyramids at a traditional restaurant. Every person who worked there made us feel at home and a part of the family. It was the personal touches of being escorted to the train by Ackmed and meet when we came back again that made you feel welcome in this Ancient and very interesting Land. If we had not stayed and meet these wonderful people I think our experiences in Egypt would of been very different. Thank you each and every one of the staff who made our time in Egypt so unforgettable. I think if you want a basic , comfortable place to stay close to the downtown area with reasonable prices and the advantage of a well organized travel agency and finally the loveliest people running it, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

My husband and I first booked another hostel for our budget travel. I have to cancel after 2 nigths stay on that hostel. I know Sara Inn was highly recommended by travellers. The location is great. We arrived around 7:00a.m. from overnight train in Luxor. The owner ask the lady clean the room for us since there're family just left. And let us check in before 8:00a.m. without any extra charges. We arrived Dahar at 5:00a.m. to hostel. The owner charge us half day, we feel reasonble too. But he know we're tired, need shower. He walked extra miles for us. That's the heart I see he knows traveller what we need. Breakfast is 7:00a.m. good for catching before the door open in Giza. For the price you pay, it worth.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Excellent hotel. Good value. Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful rooms. I had a wonderful stay here, central but quiet.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.3 mi away
Bella Luna
Bella Luna
#14 of 134 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#19 of 134 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#23 of 134 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 134 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,436 reviews
0.3 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#31 of 134 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#14 of 133 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sara Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sara Inn Hostel

Address: 21 Youssef El Gendi | Cnr. Hoda Sharawy St. Downtown, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sara Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sara Inn Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.