We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit to New Palace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added New Palace Hotel to your Saves list
New Palace Hotel
17, Suleiman Al-Halaby, Cairo 1000, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“2nd visit to New Palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My second stay. Great to come back to a place where they recognize you and really help out! Very central location. Rooms are clean and have what you would expect for the price. I would come back on my next visit - mainly because of the staff and how well you're looked after.

Room Tip: Rooms fitted with a new aircon are better in the summer than those with fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    30
    3
    2
    14
See reviews for
6
10
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A very welcoming place with clean rooms and a very nice rooftop terrace where you can have a cup of tea/coffee while smoking a shisha and enjoying the weather. Moreover, its excellent value for money and its location in the middle of downtown Cairo makes it a very interesting choice for people with a limited budget and who want to stay in Cairo for a couple of days. The best surprise was the quality of service which was really above average, indeed, the staff was very friendly and keen to help me whenever needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I am a repeat customer at the New Palace Hotel in Cairo, and I already know that I will stay there again during future visits. The hotel couldn't be more centrally located and that allows you to walk to about any destination in the core of the city. The rooms in the hotel are good size and the very high stuccoed ceilings exude a charme of olden days. One of the nicest features of the hotel though is the roof terrace where you will not just get your complimentary breakfast, but which forms the gathering point for hotel guests at all hours of the day. The hotel seems to attract people from all walks of life and a multitude of countries and it is this feature that makes the hotel for me quite unique. The management is very helpful and the owner is extremely knowledgable about all issues concerning the development in Egypt. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

hello,

i want to thank the staff of this place. They are really very friendly and want to help you always. Also the place is very close to almost everything what you imagine. Very nice and well for a good price . Keep on doing good in the future !

Room Tip: you have to look good to find it, but once you find it..it is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Like the other patrons have said, from the airport to your departure, the staff, especially the owner sees to it that you are taken care of... of course, it is no palace but very strategically located in downtown especially if you want to go to the Egyptian museum, etc...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aswarby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

New Palace is in the heart of Cairo, close to the Metro , 26 of July, Talat Harb etc, Despite the Hotel is in " downtown" you don't suffer under Cairo's awful noise.The hotel is not a palace but a good and quite place to get new power for new adventures

Room Tip: Take any room towards the side street or on the rear of the hotel and you enjoy a calm night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxor
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have visited 21 countries and stayed at stayed at hundreds of hostels and budget hotels. I can definitely say that The New Palace Hotel was over the top with customer care and service. I was picked at at the airport upon arrival, after an excursion to Sharm El Sheikh I was picked up again at the airport free of charge. The staff ensure your stay is a positive experience, and assisted me with other travel plans in Egypt while staying on my budget. The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. I highly recommend The New Palace Hotel!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 614, its a corner room and has a nice balcony overlooking Cairo
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Palace Hotel

Address: 17, Suleiman Al-Halaby, Cairo 1000, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The open air roof garden is only one of the attractive features of this budget hotel. It's a legend among budget travelers and is still one of the cheapest places available in Cairo. The nice roof garden is divided into different parts. Every part resembles different culture of Egyptian life. The restaurant, open 24 hours, has an oriental sitting area, a water fountain and a billiard table free for the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your New Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.