We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, perfect for the budget traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osiris Hotel

Save Saved
You added Osiris Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Osiris Hotel
49 Nubar | Bab el Louk, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 131 Hotels in Cairo
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location, perfect for the budget traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Amenities are basic, so be prepared for that, but if you are, then this hotel is just perfect. Minutes walk from Tahrir Square, and a stunning view from the rooftop (and from our balcony - we spent ages out there people-watching), it has everything you need for a short stay. The interior is filled with interesting decor and has a nice communal area - we found the owners and staff friendly and helpful. Wifi isn't brilliant, so if this is a priority then be warned. The rooms were clean and spacious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    105
    36
    12
    9
See reviews for
55
146
48
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights upon our arrival in Cairo. This is a very basic hotel, but is clean, with friendly staff and a safe and inviting interior.

The hotel is on a dead end street (meaning you have at least a few metres before having to dodge Cairo's traffic) and is located close to the museum and Tahrir Square.

We organised a day tour of Giza, Saqqara and Dashur through the hotel and found both the driver and the guide to be fantastic. We also booked airport transfers through the hotel which were cheap (100 EGP) and so much safer than the taxi that we flagged down ourselves.

We found the breakfast very enjoyable. It was a simple, but tasty, continental breakfast which included freshly squeezed orange juice.

The bed that we had was average, but it did the job.

The most off putting thing about this hotel is the lift that is required to access it. There is no door, it's small and as it ascends it grinds noisily past the 11 other floors. Not fun! I would, however, risk it again to stay at Osiris.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a welcoming 12th floor hotel in central Cairo just a few minutes walk from Tahrir Sqaure and conveniently close to the shopping district, museum and metro station. We came into Cairo by train and it was very easy to use the metro to get to Osiris. The staff are caring, welcoming and helped organize transport to the pyramids etc at a reasonable price. The breakfast was simple but generous. The rooftop was lovely in the evenings with a great view over the city to the Citadel. The room was a generous size and we had a balcony with table and chairs which was nice too. It was quiet, easy to sleep. The wifi worked well and was free.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbleton, Quebec
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The best aspect of this hotel is the great view of downtown Cairo if you happen to have a room with a balcony which we had. Breakfeasts were truly mediocre; very slow service and very poor fare, coffee was especially bad. Wifi in the common area only which was surprising as we paid 40 euros a night for the room. Each time we asked for service, we had the impression of disturbing the staff; very unpleasant feeling. No smiles from the staff and we heard some comments of other customers who told us they had the same feeling.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It is hard to know where to begin describing what a wonderful time we had staying at the Osiris Hotel when we visited Cairo. It might be best to start with the staff. They were always genuinely cheerful and helpful.

When we planned our trip, we purposely picked small family run hotels for our stay. The hope was that we would get a more personal experience and contact with the Egyptian people. Osiris did not disappoint on that score.

We are a family of four (two girls ages 11 and 15) and we shared one large, comfortable room with bath. The room and the hotel are kept very clean. Perched 12 stories above the street, there was a sense of quiet that was a welcome refuge from the clamor of the Cairo traffic.

In the morning, a nice breakfast was served. While having breakfast, It was fun to watch the children assemble at the school below and sing what sounded like a patriotic song before classes. The call to prayer was a little earlier and added to the charming atmosphere. We had two delicious chicken dinners at the hotel as well. You need to request dinner in advance.

We also found the shop keepers in the surrounding neighborhood to be quite friendly. In particular, we enjoyed the staff and food at a little corner shwerma shop called Salsa. It is about one block down the street (same side) from the well known restaurant Felfela. Not only was the staff a pleasure to deal with, we could feed our whole family for 40 pounds (including tip). That is about $9.

We did avail ourselves of Osiris' tour services. Having the hotel take care of the taxi to and from the airport cost more than hiring one off the street, but it was well worth the money to be freed from that hassle and unreliabiltiy. We also got a very good driver to take us to the pyramids at Dashur, Saqqara, and Giza. Best of all, Nabil (the owner) chose to drive us himself to Faiyum. That trip was one of the highlights of our stay. While we were there, Nabil took us to Evelyn Porret's pottery school, which was a special treat. I had known her family many decades ago and was a pleasure to make that connection again. We did have a bit of buyer's remorse about the pottery we bought. When we got home we discovered we really should have purchased much more. The designs of her students are truly lovely. The natural wonder and beauty of the desert south of Faiyum was very impressive as well. We had a memorable lunch at a pavilion beside the lakes in the national park there.

I could write much more, but in the end, it would only be to add to our very strong recommendation of this pleasant hotel. This was my 3rd trip to Egypt spanning 40 years and in many ways it was the best. Certainly our time at Osiris is a part of that impression.

Thomas Laxar
March 2013

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

A quick stopover for a night in Cairo took us to the Osiris in January 2013. It's pretty much in the middle of a bustling intersection about 400 yards from Tahir Square, but being on the twelfth floor, it's a good escape from the hustle and bustle below (just be prepared for the lift with a mind of its own - we regularly stopped at Floor 3-1/2 on the way up!!)

Once you get to the top floor, you get clean rooms, decent facilities, good service, and a lovely breakfast on the twelfth floor terrace.

Just to add that we were arriving in Cairo on the overnight sleeper train from Luxor - due to arrive at 8.30am, delays meant we didn't actually pitch up until early afternoon. Despite not being able to let them know we would be late, Mr Nasir the proprietor took it all in his stride and there were no hassles whatsoever.

If you're looking for a budget hotel for a short stay, I would recommend the Osiris.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

So good to see a clean room and bathroom with no insects and mosquitoes in cairo... at last a large bathroom with a shower curtain around the stall and good hot water pressure... i liked the location ... agree with most that the night staff lacks enthusiasm but they are only two teenage kids who i think don't speak a lot of english.. just two things to keep in mind...in the room i had there were only two electrical outlets so make sure u have an outlet tree and the hotel is quite small; so if u keep very late hours or your neighbor does, you will hear it... otherwise, enjoyed getting clean towels everyday and bed made everyday.. would stay again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Osiris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osiris Hotel

Address: 49 Nubar | Bab el Louk, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#27 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Osiris was recently built with a unique oriental inspired style, giving this place a special charm and cosy atmosphere, making you feel at home. Clean, quiet rooms, comfortable beds, air conditioning, internet cafe. Outstanding Top Roof terrace with a panoramic view of Cairo and delicious homemade Egyptian food. Managed by Josiane & Nabil, French & Egyptian, English speakers - the Hotel is strategically located in the heart of down town Cairo, by the metro & Egyptian Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Osiris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osiris Hotel Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osiris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.