We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and cosy hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Meramees Hostel

Save Saved
You added Meramees Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 7 more sites!
Meramees Hostel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   32 Sabri Abou Alam Street | 5th floor, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 125 Specialty lodging in Cairo
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Friendly and cosy hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have never stayed in a hostel before, so it was quite a culture shock for me when I first visited this place.

First off, the Meramees Hostel is situated on the 5th floor of a decrepit old building that seems like it was abandoned years ago. As I arrived around 10pm at the foot of the building and not knowing how to use the antique lift, the place gives me the creep. Nevertheless, I climbed the stairs to the 5th floor and sure enough, the Meramees Hostel signboard greeted me, to my relief.

After this initial culture shock, it helps that the staff was warm and friendly and allow me to adjust to Cairo's way of life. Apparently the comments and feedbacks about this hotel is indeed authentic after all. I got a small room, but that is probably due to my budget. The aircon was good and wifi was extremely fast. Being a hostel, they do not do your room. So the room remains just as it were when you left. We have a shared bathroom. There are 2 bathrooms, one big and one small. Both are open in the morning while only the smaller one was open at night.

There is a lounge room where guests can interact or watch TV, play games, read, surf the internet or eat. There are guitars and books. Again, I had to remind myself that this is a hostel and its environment is probably quite different from a hotel. Here, they have mostly young backpackers. I happen to meet a Japanese youth, a Chinese youth and a middle-aged British lady. They all travel alone, just like me.

I notice that the staffs like to view YouTube videos throughout my 2 nights' stay, but they will entertain your every questions and assist you to make delivery orders even at midnight. They even do your laundry at very cheap rates. They also arrange for my tours, at my request, as well as arrange for a taxi to the airport.

I was told that maybe apart from the 5-star hotels, you can expect most budget accommodation to be something like this in Cairo. What set this hostel apart is probably they are friendly and helpful. The British lady, for instance, is a regular in this hostel. She told me that she came here to escape the winter season back home and she has stayed in Meramees Hostel on at least five occasions.

So if you are looking for a cheap stay in Cairo and do not mind the little inconveniences like a little dusty and dirty (like the rest of Cairo), or no room service, then this place is recommended. However if cleanliness is a big issue for you, do yourself a favor and check-in at a 5-star establishment instead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
8
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Meramees is well located near Midan Talat Harb in a quite road beside.
Rooms are big.and clean, all with parquet and A/C. Shared bathroom with mosquee view from the shower.All rooms are no smoking.
Breakfast it's a little bit poor, 2 sandwiches with butter and jam and cofee or tea. But man, you're paying very little money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Meramees is an amazing hostel! I have had an absolutely wonderful time here. The hosts are welcoming, informative, and helpful. The atmosphere is great, breakfast is good, tea and coffee are always available. I felt very cared for. Staying here made my experience in Cairo the best it could be. Thank you Meramees!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deutsch
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

i recommend this hostel for all my friends because it's very good hostel , so close to Tahrir sq., and egyption museum and the staff so funny and helped me a lot , the desert was awesome , thanks to all .

Room Tip: rooms on upstairs awesome and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Right from the start of my unplanned Egypt trip I found that I spontaneously chose the right hostel, hostel Meramees, to guide me in the right direction. The first day I spent with the friendly staff, I had a better idea of what my travel possibilities taking into account my budgetary restrictions. I also found the accommodations very clean, the linens unstained, the beds comfortable. The shower water was hot, and the water pressure decent. The tour packages offered were affordable and I was very satisfied. The only hangup was a Faluca trip from Aswan to Luxor that did not pan out exactly as planned, but did not effect the overall experience of the touring trip through Egypt. Thanks a bunch!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

The staff were so nice and helpful, when we arrived the first thing they did was sit us down, give us a cup of tea and tell us all about the sights we could see. They were always on hand to help throughout the trip. The organised trips in the evening were good too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

It is a funky place. Good funky - nice hip guys working at the desk. They are friendly and know the area well. Good drivers who will pick you up from the airport, etc. are on staff at the hotel. Rooms are big, semi furnished. The building is an older building with (of one is being generous charactor). The staff try and keep up with the tiolets, showers, etc wso they are clean and function at least once a day. It is cheap, cheap, cheap, and centrally located. Do get up to the hostel itself before making your choice as the building lobby is bad funky and the lift is a mix of good and bad funky.

The bad funk includes thhe top floor of the hostel is in a perputal state or reconstruction with paint cans, old furniture, and lots of construction dust. Cairo is dusty and the building is old and crumbly so in part this is to be expected. However it seems that tidiness and finishing what you start are not the most important things for management. The funky mildrew smell is pretty bad and calls for through cleaning of linens, etc with bleach but rooms do have AC which is welcome and may be what is the root of the funky smell.

A word about the tours from the hostel. In general you will find that eygpt and eygptians are working hard to sell you something and to separate you from your tourist dollars, this is everywhere. Knowing that you need to be on top of making sure that you are getting good value for your tours of stuff and with drivers. The hostel tours are no different. These guys are good guys and generally they are honorable, they will pressure you to go to "good place for pictures", "rug workshop" etc. this is part of how they make a living and you need to agree on where you are going, time you are going, cost, etc. before hand and know that whatever you have agreed on the drivers/tour guides will try to move you to their "special places" relentlessly, just expect it and deal with it and you will have a fine time. The cost and the convience of having someone come to the hotel pick yu up and take you where you want to go outweighs the constant sell.

Finally this is a friendly upbeat little place to stay in the heart of Cairo. Fun neighborhood to wonder about in and sites such as the Museums are walkable. It seems a safe place and I would reccomend it for solo travelers who are on a budget. It is a hostel and the funk is part of the deal (good and bad).

Room Tip: Look at your room first - they have rooms on two floors so if you are not seeing what you like ask t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meramees Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meramees Hostel

Also Known As:
Meramees Hotel
Meramees Hotel Cairo
Address: 32 Sabri Abou Alam Street | 5th floor, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 125 Specialty lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Meramees Hostel 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Meramees Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meramees Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.