We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty rooms! very clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talisman Hotel de Charme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Talisman Hotel de Charme to your Saves list
Talisman Hotel de Charme
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Talat Harb Street, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“pretty rooms! very clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

we really liked the great style of the rooms and the common areas! You might find it normal but its rare in Egypt. So this is why we recommend it for style lovers!! Its also very clean!

We had given best ratings if the breakfast would not be so super simple. Even there is a lot of staff running around you cannot get fried eggs (just a boiled one). There is toast and jam but no honey. A glass of fresh orange juice is served though. The staff at the reception is friendly but must be awaken each time from watching utube. The most difficult thing was to find the hotel - its located in a huge dusty belle-epoque building on the 5th floor. Also a small sign indicates it!!!!

free WIFI :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    75
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
22
91
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Downtown Cairo is a bustling place. Lovely to find a quiet hotel in the middle of it to return to in the evening. Everyone's right about the entrance, but once you're inside it's perfectly fine. Lovingly decorated, a far cry from all the bland hotel rooms you normally get. Friendly staff, gave us good tips on restaurants etc. And most importantly: GO TO EGYPT, PLEASE! We are two ladies in our fifties and felt perfectly safe in Cairo. We were there from Xmas till New Years Eve 2012, Tahrir square was deserted, no threat at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had booked this hotel several times over the past few years, only to have to cancel due to the unstable political situation. This time we were wary, but went ahead with our plans--and were glad that we did! The highlight of our stay at the Talisman Hotel besides the lovely decor, soundproof rooms with balcony, and personalized service, was the collaboration they have with the "Adventure in Egypt" Tour service. We were met at the airport by Hamdi, the Tour Operator and could choose our options for sightseeing over the next few days. Once again Cairo was in the midst of demonstrations and the hotel is quite near Tahrir Square in the heart of the city. But our Guide Shaima, and the very adept Driver got us to the Pyramids and were able to navigate the chaos of the city to provide opportunities for us to see everything that we had planned. We only hope that sometime in the future, Cairo will again be a stable and welcoming place for tourists.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked a side alley rather than the main street and was very quiet. All rooms are on o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights. Pros: The location is fantastic for sightseeing in Downtown, Islamic Cairo and Coptic Cairo. Hotel is clean, beautifully decorated and well soundproofed. Staff are very friendly. Free internet. Breakfast was fine 50% of the time (see Cons).

Cons: Breakfast is supposedly served until 11am. When we arrived at 9am on our second morning there was virtually no food left and no effort was made to replenish the buffet. We had to ask for bread. This is unacceptable in a hotel at this price level, and just came across as unprofessional and mean.

If location is important to you but you still want a degree of comfort, the Talisman is just about worth the price. For the same price you could stay in a more luxurious hotel where they don't run out of breakfast two hours before the end of breakfast time, but you'll probably need to get taxis everywhere and spend precious time stuck in hellish traffic. Your call ...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The talisman was a nice find if you are searching for a cozy hotel in the heart of Cairo. The staff was very helpful and friendly. A short walk to the Nile, but be careful not to get run over crossing the street...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

I booked my two night's stay at The Talisman through I-escape and everything I read on beforehand turned out to be true; an unwelcoming facade and entrance area, an elevator fitting perfectly into a Agatha Christie novel before entering and old fashionable fifth floor where Talisman rules.

It's furnished with antiques, beautiful tapestries and colourful fabrics and my room was spotless as was a well equipped bathroom. Bed linen and towels are fresh and delicate. Every room has a safe and there's free wifi all over the hotel.

Breakfast is simple and tasty. Staff is super friendly and do all they can to make your Cairo stay a memorable one.

On a final note I must underline
Talisman's brilliant location. Nasser metro station is only a 5 min walk away as is Tahrir square. The Cairo traffic tends to be a nightmare so take the metro whenever you can.

If you have read as far as this, you have probably worked out that I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011 via mobile

When I go to Cairo I usually stay in one of the five star chain hotels in zamalek. I grew tired of some of their overpriced bad service and wanted to try something original. I was always afraid of trying small hotels in Cairo but this time I gave it a try, following the recommendation of a friend that I trust. I loved it. Great location, right off tahreer square, in the middle of the city. The rooms feel like chambers in an old castle, with grandeur but not preetentious, and as clean as it gets in Cairo, with large comfortable beds with beautiful covers. The bathroom is also in the same style. The hotel has a lot of small salon spaces, and they offer a simple, yet tasty breakfast, with cute little cumin croissants. I loved my stay here, and the staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talisman Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talisman Hotel de Charme

Address: 39 Talat Harb Street, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 130 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Talisman Hotel de Charme 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Talisman Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talisman Hotel Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talisman Hotel de Charme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.