We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to the standards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Cairo, Nile City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Cairo, Nile City to your Saves list
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nile City Towers - 2005 B, Corniche El Nil | Ramlet Beaulac, Cairo 2466, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Up to the standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed at the Fairmont Hotel while on short business trip to Cairo, a city in which I used to live and work for a long period of time.
Security:
the security situation in Cairo is not at it is best, taking into consideration the last heated couple of weeks/months. Nevertheless staying at the Fairmont Nile City (Even though it is not located in Zamalek- what is considered as the safe haven in Cairo) will make you feel secure due the security measures that are being taken at the entrance of the hotel. Nobody likes the security measures, but when it is done with a smile, that will give you a sense of relaxation.
Service:
i guess, i can easily say that, i had one of my quickest check ins and check outs in any given hotel that i stayed in. the staff are quite supportive, responsive and helpful.
I used the concierge services for a pick up from the airport, and the service was extraordinary, i urge any potential guest to use it, as it comes with a minimal extra, but totally worth it.
Rooms:
the decoration of the rooms are not usual for a hotel, but will not make you feel uncomfortable. The bathroom is spacious and well equipped, and the most important is the room service, I was entering my room everyday, as if i am entering it the day i checked in, everything is in the right place, nothing missing, and your stuff are neat and well placed.
Location:
its location will allow you to have a perfect view of the Nile, but the down side is that there nothing around the hotel on walking distance. but at the same time all of Cairo attractions (except the pyramids) can be reached in a 5 minutes taxi ride (traffic congestion included) and for a tariff not exceeding couple of dollars.
overall, it was an enjoyable stay, and i will definitely reconsider Fairmont for my future visits to Cairo.
N.B. this was my first time i stay in a hotel outside the Zamalek, and i can confirm that i don't regret it.

Room Tip: aim for a mid to high floors room facing the Nile, that will make your stay more enjoyable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Said S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamSalem, Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Mr. Said,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City!

Thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we would like to thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Egypt and Fairmont Nile City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is amazing. Beautiful and clean. Staff is very friendly. Very good restaurants. Nice location with the view of the Nile river. We changed the reservation twice due to the political situation in the country. We were upgraded due to change of the price. We had unlimited access to golden lounge. You won't see on the streets what you see in the news. I did not feel that it was dangerous. You will see tanks on the streets but you don't see any protesters or demonstrates.
Be careful with all kind of tour guides, always agree on the price beforehand and negotiate the price.
Make sure to try all the local food like koshary, foul and basterma. Last but not least, try baklava! Amazing!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WhereIsTheParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamSalem, Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City!

Thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we would like to thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence.

We truly value your support and look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Fairmont Nile City Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was a delightful bit of pampering on our arrival in Egypt, while recovering from jet lag.

My room overlooked the Nile, and could actually see it while enjoying a bubble bath from my giant soaker tub.

My favourite part of staying here though was breakfast in the Fairmont Gold Lounge, where the chef and breakfast staff would teach me about the traditional Egyptian foods and make me special breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EricaHargreave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamSalem, Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Ms. Erica,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City!

Thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we would like to thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence.

We truly value your support and look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Fairmont Nile City Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Excellent 5 star hotel with very nice room & exterior. We had the deluxe room and it was still spacious even with the extra bed. The room also had spacious bathroom with separate shower & toilet, and the window open towards a balcony with view to the Nile. My only discomfort was that there's no free wifi anywhere in the hotel.
The fitness centre was excellent and the attendant there was nice to help us with the equipments. There's a shopping mall with movie theatre beside the hotel but does not have many shops.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Radius W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamSalem, Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent
stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we would like to thank you for your
feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher
standards of hospitality excellence.

Please be sure that we take all the comments of our guests constructively and that we
will take necessary steps to reduce any inconvenience in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Egypt and Fairmont Nile City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Beautiful hotel and rooms...good live music in the hall... Spent here a week. My friends advised me this hotel and no regrets. Good location and district...close to airport and to most shopping malls.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camusya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamSalem, Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Camsuya,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City!



Thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we would like to thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence.



We truly value your support and look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Fairmont Nile City Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

A great hotel facility and clean stay; suffering poor management and stuff. Disappointing experience; despite at such critical period hotels should be thriving for customer satisfaction and encourage tourism. The attitude and behavior I witnessed is complete opposite, I would definitely not repeat it as Cairo still offers better 5 Star alternatives.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights on a vacation. For a 5-star, it is lacking somewhat in service and facilities. Upon check-in, we were not able to get rooms on the same floor (we had 5 rooms in a group). Even though the hotel was below 30% occupancy, they were not able to arrange alternate rooms. Admittedly, we were checking in late (past midnight), but instead of offering to accommodate us, the agent blamed our tour company for not informing them in advance! They "forgot" to offer us a welcome drink.

Once in the rooms, we found they had a fancy setup where the bathroom has a closet-style door that opens it wide to the entire bedroom -- interesting feature for honeymooning couples perhaps, but for our family, we needed more privacy, but unfortunately, those doors would not close properly! In the bathroom, the hot water was not consistent, and alternated with blasts of cold water (especially when filling up the bath). There was no iron or ironing board either. Wi-Fi was not complimentary, rather was exorbitantly priced (at $7/hour) -- this was the norm in all Egypt hotels, though.

Breakfast buffet was a nice spread, with a lot of local cuisine, plus an omelet/pancake station. For dinner, we sought out their Terrace restaurant, but it was closed without notice. So we ate at the Champagne Bar, and that was no good. Food was dry, unappetizing, and somewhat over-salted. We ordered some local wine (Jardin du Nil) but were sorely disappointed -- it was overbearingly pungent and acidic.

The location on the Nile is ok, but there is nothing around the hotel that you can walk to (except the neighboring Nile City Mall). I would give this hotel a pass, and look at the Marriott instead.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajeevfromca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.5 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 138 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#12 of 138 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,665 reviews
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Cairo, Nile City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Cairo, Nile City

Address: Nile City Towers - 2005 B, Corniche El Nil | Ramlet Beaulac, Cairo 2466, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#3 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#11 Family Hotel in Cairo
#12 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Cairo, Nile City 5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairmont Nile City. Modern luxury. Ancient Wonders.On the banks of the famed Nile River, the city of Cairo—“The Triumphant” in Arabic—is the center of Egyptian culture and commerce. Here, civilizations have met for centuries, and Cairo today offers a rich diversity of contrasts. Modern architecture and ancient mosques. Urban sparkle and restful natural beauty. Business and leisure. And there’s no better way to experience the majesty of the city and its history than through the gracious hospitality of Fairmont Nile City, Cairo hotel. Like the city itself, Fairmont Nile City offers a delightful series of contrasts. Equipped with the most advanced design and technology to serve the needs of the discerning traveler, this luxury Cairo hotel is also intimately attuned to its surroundings.With sweeping panoramas of the Nile River, and views of the Pyramids in the distance, Cairo’s natural beauty and ancient history are always in sight. Added to this panoply of wonders are special features such as culinary adventures at the city’s finest restaurants, a chance to bask in the sunshine or under the stars at our unique rooftop poolside sky bar, and truly indulgent, full-service treatments at our Willow Stream Spa—all ensuring that each and every visit to Fairmont Nile City, Cairo is certain to be an experience that is memorable and utterly magnificent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Cairo, Nile City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing