We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to the standards” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Cairo, Nile City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairmont Cairo, Nile City to your Saves list
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nile City Towers - 2005 B, Corniche El Nil | Ramlet Beaulac, Cairo 2466, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fairmont Family Offer
Ranked #6 of 131 Hotels in Cairo
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Up to the standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed at the Fairmont Hotel while on short business trip to Cairo, a city in which I used to live and work for a long period of time.
Security:
the security situation in Cairo is not at it is best, taking into consideration the last heated couple of weeks/months. Nevertheless staying at the Fairmont Nile City (Even though it is not located in Zamalek- what is considered as the safe haven in Cairo) will make you feel secure due the security measures that are being taken at the entrance of the hotel. Nobody likes the security measures, but when it is done with a smile, that will give you a sense of relaxation.
Service:
i guess, i can easily say that, i had one of my quickest check ins and check outs in any given hotel that i stayed in. the staff are quite supportive, responsive and helpful.
I used the concierge services for a pick up from the airport, and the service was extraordinary, i urge any potential guest to use it, as it comes with a minimal extra, but totally worth it.
Rooms:
the decoration of the rooms are not usual for a hotel, but will not make you feel uncomfortable. The bathroom is spacious and well equipped, and the most important is the room service, I was entering my room everyday, as if i am entering it the day i checked in, everything is in the right place, nothing missing, and your stuff are neat and well placed.
Location:
its location will allow you to have a perfect view of the Nile, but the down side is that there nothing around the hotel on walking distance. but at the same time all of Cairo attractions (except the pyramids) can be reached in a 5 minutes taxi ride (traffic congestion included) and for a tariff not exceeding couple of dollars.
overall, it was an enjoyable stay, and i will definitely reconsider Fairmont for my future visits to Cairo.
N.B. this was my first time i stay in a hotel outside the Zamalek, and i can confirm that i don't regret it.

Room Tip: aim for a mid to high floors room facing the Nile, that will make your stay more enjoyable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamSalem, Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Mr. Said,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City!

Thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we would like to thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Egypt and Fairmont Nile City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    107
    32
    20
    16
See reviews for
125
219
57
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is amazing. Beautiful and clean. Staff is very friendly. Very good restaurants. Nice location with the view of the Nile river. We changed the reservation twice due to the political situation in the country. We were upgraded due to change of the price. We had unlimited access to golden lounge. You won't see on the streets what you see in the news. I did not feel that it was dangerous. You will see tanks on the streets but you don't see any protesters or demonstrates.
Be careful with all kind of tour guides, always agree on the price beforehand and negotiate the price.
Make sure to try all the local food like koshary, foul and basterma. Last but not least, try baklava! Amazing!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamSalem, Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City!

Thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we would like to thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence.

We truly value your support and look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Fairmont Nile City Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was a delightful bit of pampering on our arrival in Egypt, while recovering from jet lag.

My room overlooked the Nile, and could actually see it while enjoying a bubble bath from my giant soaker tub.

My favourite part of staying here though was breakfast in the Fairmont Gold Lounge, where the chef and breakfast staff would teach me about the traditional Egyptian foods and make me special breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamSalem, Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Ms. Erica,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City!

Thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we would like to thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence.

We truly value your support and look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Fairmont Nile City Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Excellent 5 star hotel with very nice room & exterior. We had the deluxe room and it was still spacious even with the extra bed. The room also had spacious bathroom with separate shower & toilet, and the window open towards a balcony with view to the Nile. My only discomfort was that there's no free wifi anywhere in the hotel.
The fitness centre was excellent and the attendant there was nice to help us with the equipments. There's a shopping mall with movie theatre beside the hotel but does not have many shops.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamSalem, Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent
stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we would like to thank you for your
feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher
standards of hospitality excellence.

Please be sure that we take all the comments of our guests constructively and that we
will take necessary steps to reduce any inconvenience in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Egypt and Fairmont Nile City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and rooms...good live music in the hall... Spent here a week. My friends advised me this hotel and no regrets. Good location and district...close to airport and to most shopping malls.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamSalem, Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Camsuya,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City!



Thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we would like to thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence.



We truly value your support and look forward to welcoming you back soon at the Fairmont Nile City Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

A great hotel facility and clean stay; suffering poor management and stuff. Disappointing experience; despite at such critical period hotels should be thriving for customer satisfaction and encourage tourism. The attitude and behavior I witnessed is complete opposite, I would definitely not repeat it as Cairo still offers better 5 Star alternatives.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights on a vacation. For a 5-star, it is lacking somewhat in service and facilities. Upon check-in, we were not able to get rooms on the same floor (we had 5 rooms in a group). Even though the hotel was below 30% occupancy, they were not able to arrange alternate rooms. Admittedly, we were checking in late (past midnight), but instead of offering to accommodate us, the agent blamed our tour company for not informing them in advance! They "forgot" to offer us a welcome drink.

Once in the rooms, we found they had a fancy setup where the bathroom has a closet-style door that opens it wide to the entire bedroom -- interesting feature for honeymooning couples perhaps, but for our family, we needed more privacy, but unfortunately, those doors would not close properly! In the bathroom, the hot water was not consistent, and alternated with blasts of cold water (especially when filling up the bath). There was no iron or ironing board either. Wi-Fi was not complimentary, rather was exorbitantly priced (at $7/hour) -- this was the norm in all Egypt hotels, though.

Breakfast buffet was a nice spread, with a lot of local cuisine, plus an omelet/pancake station. For dinner, we sought out their Terrace restaurant, but it was closed without notice. So we ate at the Champagne Bar, and that was no good. Food was dry, unappetizing, and somewhat over-salted. We ordered some local wine (Jardin du Nil) but were sorely disappointed -- it was overbearingly pungent and acidic.

The location on the Nile is ok, but there is nothing around the hotel that you can walk to (except the neighboring Nile City Mall). I would give this hotel a pass, and look at the Marriott instead.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Cairo, Nile City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Cairo, Nile City

Address: Nile City Towers - 2005 B, Corniche El Nil | Ramlet Beaulac, Cairo 2466, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#3 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#8 Business Hotel in Cairo
#15 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Cairo, Nile City 5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairmont Nile City. Modern luxury. Ancient Wonders.On the banks of the famed Nile River, the city of Cairo—“The Triumphant” in Arabic—is the center of Egyptian culture and commerce. Here, civilizations have met for centuries, and Cairo today offers a rich diversity of contrasts. Modern architecture and ancient mosques. Urban sparkle and restful natural beauty. Business and leisure. And there’s no better way to experience the majesty of the city and its history than through the gracious hospitality of Fairmont Nile City, Cairo hotel. Like the city itself, Fairmont Nile City offers a delightful series of contrasts. Equipped with the most advanced design and technology to serve the needs of the discerning traveler, this luxury Cairo hotel is also intimately attuned to its surroundings.With sweeping panoramas of the Nile River, and views of the Pyramids in the distance, Cairo’s natural beauty and ancient history are always in sight. Added to this panoply of wonders are special features such as culinary adventures at the city’s finest restaurants, a chance to bask in the sunshine or under the stars at our unique rooftop poolside sky bar, and truly indulgent, full-service treatments at our Willow Stream Spa—all ensuring that each and every visit to Fairmont Nile City, Cairo is certain to be an experience that is memorable and utterly magnificent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Cairo, Nile City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City Hotel Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.