We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Cairo, Nile City

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Cairo, Nile City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nile City Towers - 2005 B, Corniche El Nil | Ramlet Beaulac, Cairo 2466, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fairmont Family Offer
Ranked #3 of 131 hotels in Cairo
Las Cruces, NM
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not what expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

After hearing favorable reviews, I decided to book a Signature room. The room size was okay, but several things were not adequate. The items one would expect in a desk were scattered throughout the room. The chair in the room was uncomfortable. The balcony chairs were too deep to sit naturally. When I checked into the room I saw someone elses name on the tv welcoming screen. Thought it was no big thing, but mentioned it to the people at the reception area. Later in the day I was looking for messages on the tv screen and saw that it was listing messages for another room number. The name on the welcoming screen and room number listed for messages went together. Not mine. Told that to reception and they said they would fix it. Nothing was done. Later that night I spoke to another person who saw that it was fixed.
The sink in the bathroom did not drain. Mentioned it to the reception and they said they would send someone to fix it. No one came.

In the lounge the same food that was served for tea was served during happy hour. The only alcoholic beverages served were beer and wine. If you wanted a mixed drink you had to pay for it. For the amount one pays for a room it should be included. The drinks were served without a napkin and placed on a bare glass table.

Overall I was very disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maie K, E-Commerce Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Mr. Chuck,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your current stay at Fairmont Nile City.

We can appreciate your disappointment with the problems you experienced during your stay. We are equally disturbed that we failed to provide you with the degree of service expected at a Fairmont hotel. What you have described is certainly not in keeping with the standards of professional and attentive service we are known for at The Fairmont Nile City

Please rest assures that we take your comments constructively and that we will take necessary steps to reduce any inconvenience in the future & enhance our offerings to our valuable guests.

We do hope to have the opportunity to regain your confidence in Fairmont Nile City once again.

Please accept our sincerest concern and apology for having failed to meet your expectations and we hope that these incidents will not mar your impression of Fairmont Hotels & Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    482
    96
    26
    17
    12
See reviews for
113
204
50
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had the most amazing stay at the Fairmont in Cairo.

After completing a tour throughout Egypt we needed a few days to just relax and recharge, the Fairmont was the perfect place.

When we arrived to our room we were just blown away, it was the nicest place that I have ever stayed at. The bell man gave us a tour around our room and was very nice.

We ate both in the restaurant, which was stunning and the service was impeccable as well as the odd room service which was very easy & quick. The food was as good as a 5 star restaurant.

The pool was amazing, placed on the top of the building with a spectacular view of Cairo. The staff were very friendly, with the bar man even giving us a free smoothie to test out that he was hoping to put on the menu.

It was the most pleasant experience I have had at a hotel. I would definitely stay here again if I was to return to Egypt. Egypt is an amazing place and definitely an experience that needs to be had :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maie K, E-Commerce Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear P.,

Greetings from the Jewel on the Nile!

We thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence. Your generous comments have been conveyed to the Sky Pool team which have greatly motivated them.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the Land of the Pharaohs and at Fairmont Nile City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Would give it 7 stars if possible!
Excellent service, very clean and comfortable rooms with amazing Nile view, very helpful professional staff, amazing spa, great food, small swimming pool but really nice one.

In one of my stays I complained to the manager that I urgently need a hairdresser and I made my plans that there is one at the hotel as written on their website And that I'm in a hurry and it's not my fault that it's not opened yet, they should've written this on their website. In exactly 3 mins they got me a car to drive me to a beauty salon at conrad hotel which is 3 mins away from Fairmont! It was really nice of them.

I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone

Room Tip: Before you reserve your room apply for Fairmont's president club membership on their website, gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maie K, E-Commerce Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Ms. May,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City!

We are really delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Please note that we will share your kind comments with the hotel team as it is a tremendous sources of motivation for us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Fairmont Nile City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I had a great stay at the Fairmont Nile City for two nights. The service was great, food was good and the room splendid. Efficient check in by the hotel's front desk and their concierge was useful in assisting with getting cabs and directing me around Cairo's attraction. Service was always with a smile and hotel staff could speak English pretty well. Was also impressed with the bar/club in the hotel which is a rarity in Cairo given the cultural background of the country. The rooms were spacious, bed was luxurious and toilet was superb. My room had a fantastic tub and there was glass wall so you could look into the room while in the tub.

Had no complains though it is a distance away from downtown. Would take a 10min ride to get there in good traffic. Twice, if the roads are bad. But since I take a cab everywhere, I had no problem with this.

Definitely recoomended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maie K, E-Commerce Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Ms. Hannah,

Greetings from Cairo, Egypt!

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Fairmont Nile City.

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in your hotel for three days with the group out of Canada.like I said before the service was exellent if you needed help from the reception the help you right away.The room was nice and clean I had a view to the Nile I will never forget my trip to Cairo,Egypt and I would recommend to all my friends to stay at your hotel.
Guenther Boeth,Canada

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maie K, E-Commerce Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guenther,

Greetings from the Jewel on the Nile!

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for your amazing feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us. Your generous comments have been conveyed to the hotel team which have greatly motivated them.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to the Land of the Pharaohs and to Fairmont Nile City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I am a frequent user for the hotel GYM&SPA and the hotel restaurants and the quality is remarkable. The Gym & SPA has an excellent view over the river nile. there is a wider variety of restaurants which can serve different tastes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maie K, E-Commerce Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Mr. Hatem,

Your generous comments have been conveyed to our GYM & Spa team which has greatly motivated them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

New property, nice rooms with excellent roof top swimming pool. Access to the mall from the hotel itself is very handy, however the mall is very small and without any worthfile stores. There is no disco in the hotel and location wrt buzz of the town is not so good. If you want to choose a downown hotel to be close to nightlife, this is not good choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maie K, E-Commerce Manager at Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Mr. R.G.,

Greetings from Fairmont Nile City!

Please accept our sincerest apology for having failed to meet your expectations. We are equally disturbed that you were not guided to the Lower Lobby level where there is O Bar, which is our disco.

Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience and hope that this incident will not mar your impression of Fairmont Hotels & Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Cairo, Nile City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Cairo, Nile City

Address: Nile City Towers - 2005 B, Corniche El Nil | Ramlet Beaulac, Cairo 2466, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#8 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Cairo, Nile City 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairmont Nile City. Modern luxury. Ancient Wonders.On the banks of the famed Nile River, the city of Cairo—“The Triumphant” in Arabic—is the center of Egyptian culture and commerce. Here, civilizations have met for centuries, and Cairo today offers a rich diversity of contrasts. Modern architecture and ancient mosques. Urban sparkle and restful natural beauty. Business and leisure. And there’s no better way to experience the majesty of the city and its history than through the gracious hospitality of Fairmont Nile City, Cairo hotel. Like the city itself, Fairmont Nile City offers a delightful series of contrasts. Equipped with the most advanced design and technology to serve the needs of the discerning traveler, this luxury Cairo hotel is also intimately attuned to its surroundings.With sweeping panoramas of the Nile River, and views of the Pyramids in the distance, Cairo’s natural beauty and ancient history are always in sight. Added to this panoply of wonders are special features such as culinary adventures at the city’s finest restaurants, a chance to bask in the sunshine or under the stars at our unique rooftop poolside sky bar, and truly indulgent, full-service treatments at our Willow Stream Spa—all ensuring that each and every visit to Fairmont Nile City, Cairo is certain to be an experience that is memorable and utterly magnificent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Fairmont Cairo, Nile City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City Hotel Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Cairo, Nile City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.