We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hor Moheb Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hor Moheb Hotel to your Saves list
Hor Moheb Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   429 Pyramids Road, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 134 Hotels in Cairo
Bristol
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

As expected, traffic noise was a problem, but the hotel was not up to expectation, the room was dirty, the roof terrace was filthy, empty pool had broken glass in the bottom, disco literally all night kept us awake (and we were 5 floors up). Staff tried hard and the food was just OK. By Egyptian standards it is probably fine, but by western standards it is sadly lacking. The only plus point is that it is about 5 miles from pyramids. Won't be going back.

Room Tip: Another hotel would be a wise move, there aren't any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
2
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

i stayed in this hotel september 2011 it was great we arrived 3am, some one got out suitcase and took it to the room we had another guy meet and greet us . everyday when we went out the cleaner came in and made our beds and genral tidy. the only problem was the traffic but if you stay in cairo expect that if you stayed in the best hotel you would still get this problem. i will be back in cairo and staying in this hotel again :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

The room had old, poor quality furniture. It was reasonably quiet (I had a room at the rear side of the hotel). Only cash was accepted. Staff was continuously trying to get more money out of me. Breakfast was OK, but nothing special. The corridors were nice. I had to stay one night only, but I would have changed hotels if would have been more.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel twice....once three years ago and then once again this month. They are in the process of remodeling it and the fifth floor is finished, so they are trying to clean it up. On both occasions I stayed there in a pinch when other arrangements fell through. The price was reasonable without a reservation...about 45 US dollars for two.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

My Mother and I have travelled in Asia, Europe, USA and Canada but this is the dirtiest hotel I have ever spent a night in!! Yuk! How can it be classified as a 4 Star Hotel? It does not even deserve 1 star!

My mother and I checked into this hotel with a group of 18 - as part of a group tour. The poor travel coordinator who travelled with us never heard the end of our complaints about this hotel.
We checked in around 20:00 hours after a long day of travel and sight-seeing and were looking forward to a comfortable 4 Star luxury only to to find that the sheets, the blanket, the carpet and the toilets were dirty. There was pubic hair in the bathtub and even in the toilet accessories tray! The hotel smelt of smoke from the lobby to the rooms. The toilet doorknob was just a stump and there were exposed electrical wires (refrigerator and tv) in our room. The table and all furniture were covered with a layer of dust. The corridors were dark and dingy. The chairs in the restaurant (for our buffet breakfast in the morning) were stained and dirty and the plates weren't too clean.

Music blared on the streets (could have been in the hotel too) all night long right into the morning and even though we were located on the 6th floor, we heard the din throughout.

We were really happy to board our coach for our next destination next morning and shake the dust off Hormoheb Hotel off our feet. I even felt like giving my suitcases a disinfectant scrub!!

All travel/hotel reservation sites should stop selling room nights for this hotel until they clean up their act. Horrible, Horrendous are words which are just too mild to describe this filthy hotel.

I will shortly post photographs in support of this review.

  • Liked — Liked Nothing
  • Disliked — An experience which must never be repeated!
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hor Moheb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hor Moheb Hotel

Address: 429 Pyramids Road, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 134 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hor Moheb Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
our hotel published since 1996 it is near from pyramids and giza square we have 110 room , swimming pool, bar , restaurant , discotic , Night Club ,Wedding Hall and the meetings , health club ( sauna , masseage ) room service and what all you need you will find in our hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hor Moheb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hor Moheb Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.