We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded rooms are a necessity” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Santana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Santana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Ahmed El Melhy St. Dokki, Cairo, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 131 hotels in Cairo
Northport, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Upgraded rooms are a necessity”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I did a tour with G adventures and good thing they gave us the upgraded room. Felt clean and didnt have to use sandals in the shower which is always a plus! I did a post night when we arrived back into Cairo and I got to see what the original rooms looked like. Outdated, old, and dirty. We had one of the old school locks and we were locked out of our room multiple times. Dont book anything thru the front desk because they always overcharge for any taxi ride or excursion. We booked the step pyramid and luxor excursion thru the front desk but what they failed to tell us is that we paid them for only the trasnportation and not the entrance fees which was [--]. Luxor was closed and we received nothing back. The last day I had to take a cab to the airport and asked a cab driver how much it was. He told me 60 pounds. Later on I asked the front desk to get me a cab and this clown who had a nameless job came out of the back closet trying to negotiate with me. He told $110 and i told him we would do it for no less than $60 so he had to agree. I dont know who he was but he lost the Santana another star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    20
    9
    11
See reviews for
7
10
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here as part of a tour with G Adventures. Staff was nice, rooms were decent, good breakfast. Wifi in lobby that you paid for or got for free by buying something in the cafe. Can't comment too much on the location though as I had no idea where I was.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel provided good accommodation at a handy location; walking distance to metro station (El Doki) and some restaurants, convenience stores and coffee shops a plenty in the area. (If you get time, the KFC around the corner only employs the hearing impaired so help out this worthy cause). The staff here were average, upon arriving, one staff tried to push on us a tour (way overpriced), and upon departing, another insisted that we pay for Internet that we had not purchased, despite us telling him that we had not bought any. However great rooms, and best hot shower I had in Egypt!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here as the starting hotel for our tour through Egypt. The hotel was clean and tidy, rooms were of a good size. We arrived very early in the morning and they were able to check us in early which was great. The breakfast was good, but I recommend getting threre early as they did run out of some things. Also, be warned that a large numbrr of tour groups seemed to stay here. This meant a busy lobby or breakfast area art some times of the day. Beds were comfy and shower was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Santana is as close to average as they can get. Spacious lobby with plenty of places to relax. Free wifi with a purchase from the coffee shop; connection was average speed and reliable, but was lobby-only. Rooms are faded but clean, ample hot water. Location is several blocks from the Nile but is a little hard to find on foot. Average Egyptian breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed 4 nights here in two different rooms and we loved it. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. The rooms have been one of the nicest we've had in egypt. The showers are nice and clean, blow dryer and the beds are soft! The location is great, lots of banks/ATMs, restaurants and stores all less then 10min walk. The only bad thing would be the hotel restaurant isn't the best!! Also getting to the hotel from the airport could be crazy depending on what time your flight gets in since traffic in Cairo is insane and 24hrs it seems like. Would stay here again though anytime and the hotel set us up with tours and a amazing driver.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem good, but the top floors are always the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here with a group on a pilgrimage that was meant to give us an experience that included cultural contact. Our room was nice, beds comfortable. The food was average. We did experience some noise from the street below during the night, but we are sound sleepers so it was not a big issue. The shops in the lobby were very interesting. I took several different perfume oils home as souvenirs. The location seemed to be pretty close to the points we visited like the Museum of Cairo and a restaurant on the Nile. A minibus drove our group from place to place. No westerner should ever plan to drive in Cairo. It is crazy! I mean REALLY insane. It was definately the most excitement I've ever experienced simply driving around town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santana Hotel

Address: 7 Ahmed El Melhy St. Dokki, Cairo, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 131 hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santana Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Santana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.