We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location , clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cairo Khan Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cairo Khan Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cairo Khan Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Sitta-W Ashrin Yulyu, Cairo 1244, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 131 Hotels in Cairo
Daytona beach
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great location , clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location , it is in the middle of everything in Egypt , The rooms are spacious and clean , the furniture is a bit tired though , but overall decent room , location is great but you would have a hard time finding parking there if you have your own car , i stayed for two nights while in business trip , the suite got a bedroom with 2 beds , living area , big bathroom with a tub , and a smaller bathroom , fridge , A/C , all in all very convenient hotel

Room Tip: try to get your room in the upper floors as it could get noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
4
6
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This hotel was in quite an all right location - walking distance to shops, restaurants, etc. Staff are generally friendly, food served at breakfast on the top floor was average. The cafe on the first floor offers drinks and shisha - the turkish coffee was quite good and they whip up a guava milkshake which is really tasty - no one speaks much English, so if you're ordering one, it's "guava belaben" in Arabic.
We were not impressed with the "help" we received from front end staff. After saying we wanted to go to the pyramids, we were told they would organise a car for us as the taxis are "unsafe". (Later, we took taxis and didn't feel unsafe). The driver took us to a dodgy operation at the pyramids - he refused to take us to the entrance and we were forced to go through a "tour agency" which charged us an arm and a leg for a "guide" and camels and horses. This fee didn't include entrance to any of the pyramids or anything, merely a wander around and a look at them from the distance. We were completely stitched up.
The hotel also organised a cruise on a boat on the Nile complete with dinner which also was a total rip off.
When they said they had more things planned for us the following day we declined. We also declined having the driver take us to the airport and paid less than a quarter of their quoted price by taking a taxi off the street.
Bedrooms were old fashioned and a bit crummy but very spacious. Fine for somewhere to put your head down for the night, but only if you're really tired as it's pretty noisy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is my first trip to Cairo with a group tour and my first stay in Cairo Khan Hotel. I will stick to this hotel should I made another trip to Cairo. This hotel is rather old, with old style furnitures in its room, its lift is old fashioned and a little slow. But in terms of size, its rooms are rather spacious, especially we had a 2 room suite. I have no complains there. But I must say its breakfast is 1 of the worst I've had. It has no toasters to toast bread, its bread is cold, stale and breakfast is cold. Still I am not complaining because the attraction of this hotel is that it is right smack in the middle of hundreds of shops - shoes shops, clothes, children's clothing, men's clothing, ladies clothing, muslimah clothing, sundry shops, pharmacies, street hawkers selling lots of variety of products llke sunglasses, socks, jackets, table cloths, towels , you name it they have it. Being an avid shopper myself, I am very very please with the hotel's location because I can shop and shop til I drop! So please ladies, if you like shopping when you are overseas, just ignore the hotel's shortcoming and its busy traffic and concentrate on your shopping because the products sold there are cheap, yes cheap and affordable. For example, I bought an overcoat for 240 egyptian pounds, when convert to my currency, it cost only about SGD42, isn't it great? And I bought a whole set of table cloths with 2 set of cushions for only 250 pounds from a street hawker! isn't that wonderful ladies? So , this hotel is excellent for serious shoppers, if you don't mind staying in a 3 or 2 star hotel. Its great location is the attraction for me to come back to Cairo, what else but to do my shopping. It is also quite near the crystal factory to buy affordable and beautiful crystal accessories and of course it is not far from Eygpt's heritage of the pyramids of giza. So this hotel is great for everything, just don't mind the cold breakfast!

Room Tip: Choose higher floors so you won't get bothered by the noise of heavy traffic downstairs on the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Ok so this is a 3 star hotel I was told but seriously, I have been to better 3 star hotels.I would rate this more like 1.5-2 stars.

If you want peace and quiet, this is not it! We were in room 301, a 2- bedroom apartment but we were facing the main road and this was downtown Cairo. The incessant honking of the cars were enough to drive one crazy and in the end , just to get some sleep, I had to put on ear -plugs!

The rooms were dark and reeked of cigarette smoke mixed with a musty smell.The tables and the windows were very dusty. It was December, so it was a bit chilly at night but the heater was not working.The bathroom was easily flooded after turning on the showers for 2 minutes, which spilled over to the rest of the bathroom making it rather unpleasant to visit the toilet. When we complained, nobody came to the room- we were just ignored.

The elevators were old and rickety and took ages to come up or down and we found it quicker taking the stairs.Breakfast was also terrible with horrendous service and stale cold food and absolutely poor choice.

The tour agent put it succinctly when I complained to her about the poor standards of the hotel- This is Egypt and a 4 star hotel is probably more accurately described
as 3 stars whereas expect 2 stars if it is accredited 3 stars!

Room Tip: If you have a car at your disposal, there is really no need to stay in downtown Cairo where everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I have been back and fourth to cairo for a few years now and the ONLY place I wil stay is Cairo Khan! Ok so not all the staff speak english but they understand enough english that everything is fine. The staff are nice and protective and make sure that you are happy and comfortable. The building is old so not everything is prestine but come on its CAIRO EGYPT the most historical site in history! Do we seriously need a hair dryer when your just mear miles from GIZA! Yes the rooms are a bit smoky but they dont have a smoking policy... im telling you its a "lil" home away from home... The staff are now my friends! Its WORTH IT !

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

I've stayed at this hotel a few times over the years. While its nothing special, it is clean and comfortable. The rooms are large and have private bathrooms.

The Pros:
Good food
Good location to see the sites in Cairo
Friendly service
Clean and large rooms with AC that works
Walking distance to stores, restaurants, and coffee shops

Cons:
Cairo traffic can make it hard for some to sleep (same at all 3 star hotels)
Dated furniture, but its still serviceable and the beds are comfortable
No hairdryers

Cairo is not known for having a wide selection of good quality 3 star hotels. Most are horrible. The Cairo Khan is one of my favorite if you are traveling on a budget and still want a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Good for a couple of days stay not more. Make sure to learn some egyptian words cos you won't understand what some of the staff will say in English.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairo Khan Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Khan Suites Hotel

Address: 12 Sitta-W Ashrin Yulyu, Cairo 1244, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 131 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairo Khan Suites Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Cairo Khan Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Khan Hotel Cairo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairo Khan Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.